Updated: 07/18/2017
By Summer Banks Jul 03, 2017
162comments

This review is what happened after I obsessed for weeks over Contrave. We decided to take an in-depth look at the prescription diet pill, side effects, ease of acquiring and clinical research. Additionally, we examined hundreds of dieter comments and testimonials. Then, we summarized and refined to give you the info you need.

Contrave Readers: Click here to find out why we're giving away samples of our product, Dietspotlight Burn.

What is Contrave?

To start, Contrave is a prescription weight-loss medication for individuals who have a BMI [1] of 30 or greater or a BMI of 27 or greater with medical condition related to their weight [2]. The ingredients are bupropion hydrochloride and naltrexone hydrochloride. You’ll take one tablet each morning for the first week. The second week you’ll use one in the morning and another in the evening. By the third week, it’s two tablets, twice per day. Dosage depends on the prescription received from your physician. [3]

Contrave [4], approved by the FDA and hit the market in 2014. Orexigen Therapeutics makes the medicine; which affects the appetite and reward center of the brain. We like that we found some positive dieter comments and that a healthy lifestyle is encouraged, but read on…

Contrave High Cost – “Too Expensive?”

The first concern relating to Contrave ingredients is the high price tag. “The cost of this medication varies, depending on your insurance coverage,” said our Research Editor. “Some dieters have reported spending upwards of $200 for a 30-day supply.” [5]

One dieter stated, “Without insurance, my scrip would be $299 per month.”

According to another user, “It was $142 without insurance.” [6]

We found some Contrave reviews that didn’t mention the cost.

“Yes, it’s pricey, but I notice results,” said a consumer.

Contrave Side Effects – “Not Good!”

There is a list of Contrave side effects [7] available on the official website. One user commented, “I started two days ago and have felt very dizzy and throwing up to the point that I’m in tears.”

“I have started 10 days ago and I’m still fighting side effects (nausea, diarrhea, dizziness mainly),” said another.

According to some Contrave reviews, side effects are rare.

“I did have some of the side effects initially. I had dry mouth, dizziness, hot flashes and headaches. They all went away in the first two weeks,” stated a user.

“I have been on this Medicine for exactly 7 days. None of the side effects everyone talks about,” reported another. [8]

According to our research, if there is a small issue or problem with a weight-loss product, like side effects, that can negatively affect result and long-term dedication to a program. The official website openly published the potential risks of taking Contrave. As is the case with all prescription medications, the risks need to be weighed against the rewards.

The Science – “Clinically-Proven?”

There’s clinical studies conducted with the two key ingredients in Contrave. They’re proven effective in the medical treatment of depression [9], smoking cessation [10], weight-loss and other conditions. However, there are a couple roadblocks. You have to have a prescription and there are strict guidelines doctor’s have to follow before prescribing. Taking everything into consideration, we believe Contrave could be beneficial for some patients who are overweight or obese. Regular medical visits will be necessary during treatment.

The Bottom Line – Does Contrave Work?

Well now, what about this prescription medication for weight-loss? We like that Contrave is regulated by the FDA and that we found some favorable customer comments. We are concerned about customer comments relating to the high cost and negative side effects.

If you’re looking to slim down, we always suggest a supplement made with clinically tested ingredients shown to have the effect you’re looking for. It’s also nice if you don’t need a prescription or a loan from the bank.

Among the best products we’ve seen this year is one called Dietspotlight Burn. This supplement contains four clinically-tested ingredients, which have been shown to help accelerate fat loss and increase metabolism. Also, there’s no talk of harmful side effects and dieter reviews around the web show people are seeing solid results.

Plus, the makers of Dietspotlight Burn are so confident in their supplement, that they’re offering a Special Trial Offer.

Previous Contrave Review (Updated August 12, 2014):

Contrave: What You Should Know

2/2/2011 UPDATE: Today, the FDA rejected Orexigen Therapeutics Inc.'s Contrave pill, citing fears that the pill may increase heart risk. The FDA has not approved a new weight loss medication in ten years. The agency says it will evaluate Contrave again after Orexigen undertakes a costly new study examining possible links to heart risk. A spokesman for Contrave said that the company is evaluating next steps and deciding whether they will go through with the expensive study. Sorry, bad news for everyone who was looking to try this promising new drug.

-------------------------------

12/9/2010 UPDATE: Today, the Endocrine and Metabolic Drugs Advisory Committee, a division of the FDA, has voted to recommend Contrave as a weight loss aid. However, the FDA still has to give the drug final approval before it can be distributed by physicians. The FDA takes sub-panel decisions such as this into consideration before approving any pharmaceutical drug. Like, the FDA will decide on approving Contrave for weight loss in January, 2011. However, the panel also recommends additional cardiovascular studies of patients prior to beginning sales based on case study findings, indicating that this product still may not be suitable for those with heart conditions. We will continue to update our review as more information becomes available.

-------------------------------

Contrave is still in the testing stages, but it seems to offer great promise as a medication that will actually reduce the risk factors associated with obesity. Currently, this drug is in its third stage of clinical trials to assess the "safety, tolerability and efficacy", according to the company website. The company that is responsible for Contrave is Orexigen Therapeuticals, a biopharmaceutical company that is focused on creating drugs that treat central nervous system disorders, including obesity. Current studies are showing that Contrave can effectively reduce metabolic syndrome in many patients. Metabolic syndrome is a combination of risk factors that may increase the incidence of obesity, which can also increase the risk of heart disease and diabetes. This medication takes a whole new approach to weight loss, by focusing on neurological causes of obesity rather thansuppressing appetite or altering metabolic function. Opposite to the focusing on the mind, Phentermine suppresses the appetite, tricking the mind that the body isn't hungry.

List of Ingredients in Contrave

The two main ingredients that are being studied in the Contrave formula include Naltrexone and Bupropion. On the other hand an alternate product, Jadera Diet Pills concentrates on a bitter orange, cassia seed and mulberry leaf said to boost the metabolism and burn fat. Naltrexone has been used in the United States to treat opioid addiction since 1984, and in 1995 it began to be used to treat alcoholism as well. This drug inhibits the reinforcement of addictive substances by blocking opioid receptors to the brain, according to the Orexigen website. Naltrexone has also been shown to alter the taste of foods in numerous clinical studies. Aside from Contrave, IdealShape is a weight-loss system consisting of meal replacement shakes, snacks and supplements, and when paired with exercise there’s a good chance for weight-loss. Aside from this product, Neon Sport Thermo Rev is a thermogenic metabolism booster used to increase energy and promote weight loss.

Bupropion has been used to treat depression since 1985, and in 1997 trials were begun that experimented with the use of Bupropion as an aid to help quit smoking. This drug appears to be effective at suppressing appetite and increasing energy levels, and is the most prescribed antidepressant in the United States at the time of this review. One side effect that has been noted with Bupropion is weight loss; an attractive side effect for many indeed.

Product Features

Since this medication is still in the clinical trial stage, there are few product features to report. It is suspected that this medication will only be available by prescription, since it contains potent ingredients with potentially dangerous side effects. There is no pricing or customer testimonials at this time; however, ample clinical data is provided on the Orexigen website, and this info is comprehensive and professionally displayed. Aside from Contrave, some clinical research found with BiphedAdrene show rapid weight loss results from increased energy endurance.

Advantages of Contrave

  • The ingredients in Contrave may be effective in suppressing appetite and promoting weight loss.
  • Many clinical studies have been done on this product and are continuing at this time.
  • The company website contains ample information on the developmental progress of this product.

Disadvantages of Contrave

  • This product is not yet available to the general public at the time of this review.
  • The ingredients in Contrave may have potentially serious side effects for some. (See Contrave Side Effects).
  • May interact badly with other prescription medications.

Conclusion About Contrave

Contrave is worth keeping an eye out for, since the initial clinical studies have been promising and plenty of research is being conducted on the product. However, Contrave will not be the right choice for everyone, due to the possible side effects and medication interactions that may occur. Also, it definitely appears that Contrave will be prescription only, and will most likely be used to treat clinical obesity. It is important to talk to your doctor about whether Contrave would be a good choice for you.

Contrave is a prescription weight-loss medication that contains an anti-depressant. It is not unheardof for these drugs to be used for a variety of reasons like weight-loss and smoking cessation. You cannot purchase this formula in stores or online without a prescription.

Contrave Ingredients and Supplement Facts

Serving Size: Varies
Serving Per Container: Varies
Amount per Serving% DV
Buproprion Hydrochloride**
Naltrexone Hydrochloride**

Other Ingredients: None

We dug deep into the Contrave ingredients to give you the details you need.

Bupropion Hydrochloride

Bupropion hydrochloride is a prescription medication that goes by the names of Aplenzin and Wellbutrin XL.

What is it Supposed to Do?

It is used to treat depression and prevent seasonal affective disorder. There are other uses, including the treatment of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder[1] (ADHD), and smoking cessation. It may also be used with other mood stabilizers to treat bipolar disorder, and may be used to treat anxiety in people with depression. [2]

Clinical Research

There are a number of clinical studies available on this medicine, because it has been tested for FDA approval. One of the main side effects associated with Bupropion is weight-loss.

Naltrexone Hydrochloride

This medication is available by prescription only, and may also be marketed under the name Revia. It’s designed to treat opiate addiction, and used as part of a more comprehensive treatment program. The medication may also be used to treat alcohol abuse.

What is it Supposed to Do?

It works in the brain to prevent the affects of opiates – pain relief and feelings of well-being from taking place. It also works to decrease the desire to use opiates.

Clinical Research

There are a number of studies on this medication, though none are directly tied to weight-loss. According to a study published in Journal of Clinical Pyschopharmacology, “Although both groups showed decreases in smoking urge scores through treatment, the reductions were larger in the naltrexone group, with an average Brief Questionnaire of Smoking Urge scale score decrease of 13.6 ± 1.17 points in the naltrexone group compared with 9.58 ± 1.39 points in the placebo group (β [SE] = −4.37 [2.05], P < 0.05).”

Clinical research is an important part of the equation when it comes to choosing a diet supplement. You may want to take a look at a product like Dietspotlight Burn, which is formulated with clinically tested ingredients, and available without a prescription. Click above to learn more.

Contrave Side Effects:

As us true with all diet supplements, there is a chance of adverse side effects. In the case of Contrave, users have reported several troubling effects that should be considered prior to usage.

Nausea

Nausea is a sensation of uneasiness that is triggered by the brain and centered in the stomach or abdomen Nausea is not itself a an illness but is a sensation that is felt. It occurs when the brain sends a message to the abdominal region that something may be awry. Nausea is nearly always linked to vomiting. [1]

What causes nausea?

Nausea can be caused by both slight and serious conditions. Nausea can occur due to motion sickness or from stress or anxiety. It can be brought about by medications, supplements or alcohol. It can also be a result of a problem within the brain or the circulatory system.

Diarrhea

Every person has diarrhea from time to time. Diarrhea is watery, loose and frequent bowel movements. Diarrhea is often associated with nausea and vomiting. Diarrhea is when the intestines empty themselves in a defensive manner over concern for its contents. Excessive diarrhea leads to dehydration and can become life-threatening. [2]

What causes diarrhea?

Diarrhea can be caused by food poisoning, alcohol, medications, supplements, food allergies and lactose intolerance. Stress and anxiety can also be contributors. More serious causes include ulcers, cancer, obstructed bowel and IBS.

Dizziness

Dizziness is the sensation that you cannot steady yourself. It’s the feeling that either you or your surroundings are spinning or in motion. Dizziness comes from the brain and is a message that all is not right. The brain is crying foul and telling the body to shut down immediately. Typically, dizziness occurs in conjunction with nausea and vomiting.

What causes dizziness?

There can be many causes of dizziness including head injuries, brain tumors, or other debilitating diseases. Less severe causes can be the flu, food poisoning, alcohol, or adverse reactions to medications or supplements.

As always, consult your physician before taking any weight-loss product. In the case of Contrave, there are many side-effects that should be considered.

In the weight-loss market there are some prescription medications that require a deeper look, like Contrave. We took this opportunity to pore through Contrave side effects via ingredients and clinical research. We also found hundreds of comments and reviews to take into consideration. Then, we condensed and refined to give you the bottom line.

What You Need to Know

First off, Contrave is a prescription weight-loss medication comprised of naltrexone and bupropion. You start with one tablet in the morning and eventually move to two, twice a day. The formula is supposed to help dieters lose more weight. The pills are relatively small as is the bottle so you can take it with you during the day.

The medication, approved by the FDA in September 2014, is proven to help dieters lose weight, a good thing. You need a prescription to buy it at a pharmacy or online. We like that some users have seen positive results, but read on…

“Holy Warning Label!”

The first issue we have with Contrave side effects is the warning label. Common issues include nausea, dizziness, constipation, trouble sleeping, dry mouth, headache, diarrhea and vomiting. “When you choose a prescription medication for weight-loss there is a trade off,” says our Research Editor. “You have to work closely with your physician to decide whether or not the pros outweigh the cons.”

“Feeling tired, some nausea and dizziness. hope this will go away soon,” says a user.

“I have been on Contrave for over two months, I’m sick everyday. I can’t eat anything,” explains a dieter.

Some reported side effects were severe, “Second day made me seriously ill. Nauseous,twilight zone, dizzy and suicidal thoughts. NEVER will I take this again!!!!”

Contraindications -“We’ll Be Here a While!”

One of the scariest parts of Contrave side effects is that there are so many potential interactions and contraindications. When working through the positives and negatives of the medication you have to take these into consideration.

According to the Contrave prescribing information the medication “is contraindicated in people with hypertension…seizure disorder…alcohol or opiate addiction.” There’s also concern in patients with mental illness, suicidal thoughts, diabetes, high blood pressure, coronary issues of any kind and glaucoma.

Specific medications that interact with Contrave are lorcaserin, bupropion, phentermine, tramadol, trazodone and lisdexamfetamine. It is important to check with your physician if you are on anything before starting this treatment.

We’ve found through research, a connection between seemingly small issues, like contraindications, and a lesser chance of long-term success. If Contrave side effects and negative interactions make taking the pill worrisome for the dieter, it may not be the best option.

The Science

The FDA makes sure medications are tested on animals and humans before being approved for sale. Contrave side effects are also clinically proven. Though this drug is relatively new on the market, bupropion (one ingredient in the formula) has been around since 1989 so the potential reactions are well documented.

The Bottom Line

If you’re ready to shed those extra pounds, we recommend trying a product that offers clinically proven results without the side effects.

Among the best supplements we’ve encountered this year is Dietspotlight Burn. The formula is made up of a four-ingredient proprietary blend that’s clinically proven to help spark metabolism and accelerate fat loss. There are no reports of negative side effects, but we found numerous dieters speaking of excellent results.

The company behind Dietspotlight Burn is confident enough in the formula to be offering a Special Trial Offer, which is impressive.

  • References
  • 1. Nausea (2005). WebMD. November 1, 2016.
  • 2. Diarrhea (2016). Mayo Clinic. November 1, 2016.

Contrave Questions & Answers:

We picked apart hundreds of user comments about Contrave and condensed into this helpful FAQ.

What are the side effects of Contrave?

Some Contrave side effects may include diarrhea, dry mouth, sleeplessness, dizziness, vomiting, headache, constipation and nausea.

What are the ingredients in Contrave?

Contrave are ingredients bupropion hcl[1], naltrexone hcl, microcrystalline cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, lactose anhydrous, L-cysteine hydrochloride, crospovidone, magnesium stearate[2], hypromellose, edetate disodium, lactose monohydrate, colloidal silicon dioxide, opadry II blue and fd&c blue #2 and aluminum lake.

Does Contrave work?

There is scientific research into the effectiveness of Contrave as the medication has been FDA-approved, but there are also clinically proven side effects.

How much does Contrave cost?

Contrave costs about $300. The price could change after insurance is factored into the equation.

How should I take Contrave?

You should take one Contrave capsule in the morning the first week, one pill in the morning and another in the evening the second week. On the third week, you will consume two in the morning and one in the evening. The fourth week and beyond, you will take two in the morning and two in the evening. The company recommends not crushing, chewing or cutting the product, as well as not taking the pill with high-fat meals.

 

What do users like about Contrave?

Some users liked that Contrave has been approved by the FDA and that they lost weight.

What do users NOT like about Contrave?

We found that some users didn’t like the high price tag of Contrave and the side effects.

 

Who uses Contrave?

Individuals that are considered overweight or obese use Contrave. Your BMI has to be more than 27.

Can I stop Contrave on my own?

No, you can’t stop Contrave on your own. You will need to contact your healthcare provider prior to stopping this medication because of the potential for withdraw symptoms.

What should I tell my healthcare provider before taking Contrave?

You should tell your healthcare provider if you have a medical condition, if you are taking prescription medication or if you are pregnant or nursing.

What should I avoid while taking Contrave?

You should avoid using alcohol on Contrave.

Does Contrave come with a guarantee?

There’s no mention of a guarantee with Contrave.

Do you know of any special deals or discounts on Contrave?

There are special deals or discounts on Contrave, if you sign up for the savings card. However, our readers have been going crazy over the past few months taking advantage of Dietspotlight Burn’s Sample Trial Offer. Click above to learn about the sample offer.

Contrave Scientific Abstracts:

Bupropion Hydrochloride

Regarding both conduct issues as well as hyperactivity, there was a significant effect visible in the Conners 10 and 39-item teacher’s checklist as early as the third day. On day 28, there were significant visible effects on both conduct issues as well as restless-impulsive behavior (93-item parent’s questionnaire).  The results were found to be smaller regarding the parent ratings compared to teacher ratings. There had been substantial effects with treatment on both Continuous Performance Test as well as memory retrieval test. The magnitude of the consequences of bupropion and placebo were smaller within parent and teacher ratings than in standard drugs used in the treatment of ADDH. Bupropion had been found to be well tolerated in children, for the most part. Bupropion could be a helpful addition to treatments for ADDH, with an urge for further comparative trials using methylphenidate to solidify bupropion’s clinical merit. [1]

Bupropion blocks the re-uptake of dopamine and norepinephrine neurotransmission minus significant direct activities on serotonin neurotransmission. Bupropion has proven its effects as an antidepressant with comparable efficacy to other antidepressants. It is considered to be well tolerated for both short and long-term treatments with a headache, nausea, dry mouth, constipation, dizziness, and insomnia being the most common negative reactions. Some allergic reactions and seizures were reported, but rare. Bupropion has shown to have the lowest reports of sexual dysfunction, somnolence and weight gain in comparison to newer antidepressants on the market in the US. Bupropion is and will be a crucial part of major depressive disorder treatment in adults, among other related disorders. [2]

Naltrexone Hydrochloride

Any clinical data which backs up its use is extremely preliminary, suggesting further research before treatment can be recommended on a broad scale. Analysis from a plethora of basic and clinical research indicates that LDN has promising potential for being a treatment for chronic pain involving inflammatory activities. Dosing and other relevant parameters still require refinement. LDN could find itself emerging as the first glial cell modulators used in the treatment of chronic conditions, with the development of more certain medications in the future. [3]

Learn More About Dietspotlight Burn »
Summer Banks Dietspotlight Author
About the Author:

Summer Banks, a content strategist at Dietspotlight, has researched over 5000 products in the past 10 years. She has years of nursing training, experience as a manager responsible for 15 supplement brands, and completed coursework on Food and Nutrition from Stanford University. full bio.

Rating: 3.0. From 111 votes.
Please wait...

Contrave Customers Also Bought:

Product Star Rating Patented Ingredients Less Than $5 Shipping Testimonials Money-Back Guarantee
Explanation of Chart
Dietspotlight Burn
(4.4)  
Garcinia Cambogia
(3.9)  
   
Raspberry Ketones
(3.4)  
   
Forskolin
(3.1)  
   
Apple Cider Vinegar
(2.9)  
   
Yohimbe
(2.6)  
   

Leave a comment or review

  
kim (Verified User)

I just started week three of contrave. I’ve lost 5 lbs. so far. I’m not really exercising (I know I should) and the only real side effects for me has been a little nausea when I take the morning dose, head aches if I don’t drink a lot of water and constipation. It does do wonders for appetite control. Maybe a little too good, because I have to remind myself to eat.

  
Soulmaiden (Verified User)

I have been on Contrave for 3 weeks now, and have lost 15 pounds. The sides effects were a bit hard to handle at first, but I got used to them and really don’t have them now. My only concern is how this medicine with with the kidneys. I have stage 3 kidney disease and worry it will cause a serious problem.

Montana (Editor)

Hi Soulmaiden. Contrave is a prescription medication. Your doctor would have to know about the stage 3 kidney disease before it was prescribed. If you didn’t tell the doctor, please call the office immediately and talk with the physician about any possible medical problems taking Contrave could cause.

  When should pill be taken
Jennifer

Should the pill be taken with food? When I take the pill at night what time should I take it? How early can I take it before bed?

Marsha

I take my evening pill no later than 5 pm. I took it once at 8 pm and was up all night. My morning pill I take on an empty stomach at 6 am. I don’t have breakfast until around 7:15 am. Hope this helps.

Gegee

I have been off of Contrave for about 2 weeks because I was under the weather, can I start back up do I have to start my doses over

Richard (Editor)

Hi Gegee. If you started at a lower dose and worked up to the dose you were taking before you were ill, give your doctor a call to see where you should start this time.

Ani

anyone try just one pill a day at lunch? It makes me spacey and dizzy in the am.

Karen

Ani, I felt spacey and dizzy in the am as well. I have been eating before I take it, and I have felt 10x better! Hope this helps!

Shelly

Can I take contrave while doing Chemotheropy?

DONALD SNEED

I HAVE LOST 27lbs IN 6 WEEK USE CONTRAVE MY PLAN IS TO LOSE 50lbs IN 3 MONTHS I WANT TO SHARE MY STORE THIS IS A REMARKABLE PRODUCT. I AM TOTALLY PLEASED

Victoria (Editor)

Shelly, chemotherapy can wreak havoc on the body and, often, medications are given in addition to the treatment. I’d ask at your next appointment if Contrave is something that’s safe for you.

Lillian Ramsey

I have diabetes and high blood pressure and eye problems will contrive be a problem for me to take?

Victoria (Editor)

Hi Lillian! The list of contraindications for Contrave is long and detailed. The only person who can discuss possible issues with current medical conditions is your doctor. Sorry we couldn’t help more.

Kim Dekenipp

I’ve been taking contracts for 2 weeks, not really seeing results yet. My question is can I take HCG with it? Also recommend a diet please . Thank you

Richard (Editor)

Hi Kim. HCG is only available by prescription and it is not prescribed for weight loss. Any HCG supplement that claims to contain real HCG is not telling the truth.

If you’re looking for diet recommendations, we work with people all the time to create personalized meal plans. Customer service can help you with that.

  
Joenesha

I am getting ready to start Contrave next week. I am nervous about side effects. I am wondering if anyone has suggestions on meal plan.

Maribel (Editor)

Hello Joenesha. To reduce the risk of side effects, Contrave is prescribed on a step-up program. You start out low and work up to the full dose.

Give us a call so we can work with you on your meal plans.

Kacey

Patients should find out what their basal metabolic rate is and eat at least that many calories in a day. Eating less is not always the answer in many cases eating more may be the answer. Talking to a nutritionist or dietitian about caloric intake would be the best option.

Lorraine

I don’t count calories. I will only eat when my body signals me to eat. So I disagree with forcing food just to get the right amount of cslories

  I think it works wonderfully.
jonathan bowen (Verified User)

my dr. prescribed contrave for me and I have been taking it for one month with no adverse side affects. and I am losing weight while on the meds. it does cut your appetite. I don’t even think of eating my wife has to remind me to eat. I think it works wonderfully.

Sony

How are you doing now? I just got prescription and afraid of having seizures and side effects.

  If stopped this, will I again gain weight ?
Idalia (Verified User)

I’ve been taking it for quite some time. Maybe 5 or 6 months and I’ve lost weight but that’s because I workout as well. My question is, once I get to my goal weight and I stop taking it, will I gain the weight back if I stop working out? I enjoy working out anyway, so I will continue but Im afraid of gaining all I lost back…does anyone know if this will happen? Thanks

Paula

I have been on contrive for about 2 months, the first month I took it on and off not so good but then in the last 7 weeks I have lost 17.6lbs also doing weight watchers to keep me in control. I don’t think I have any side affects except If I eat a greasy meal I get bad stomach pains and in the bathroom Has this happen to anyone else?? Today I ate out with my nephew and I had an egg scramble with veggies and I think bacon was in it not sure what else. I had whole wheat toast.
ever since I have eaten that I have been sick.

Tammy

HI Paula,
I’ve been on Contrave for about 6 weeks and I’ve lost 17.6 pounds. I had the opposite problem; it keeps me constipated to the point that I have to take a laxative every other day. Other than that, I haven’t experienced any of the other side effects that I’ve read about. Has anyone else had a problem with constipation, and if so, how are you combating the problem?

Kim

I had problems with constipation but I started eating prunes and that resolved my issue.

  Antideprssant
Sandee J (Verified User)

I was on the 52 week trail. I went from 190 to 129 & was advised to gain at least 6 back. shoud be 135 to 140. I am now 180 after being on an antideprssant. I can’t wait until it is approved so I can go back on it. IT WAS GREAT.

Sarah

How long did it take to lose the bulk of your weight

cindy

What was the name of the diet pill you used and how did you get ahold of it?

  Contrave
Claudia (Verified User)

i am on week one and no side effects. Wondering if I’m going to be able to sleep when I take it at night? Has anyone changed the dose to 2 in the am and none at night?

Holliep

It does not keep me awake, it actually makes me sleepy.

I would like to try Contrave when it becomes available.
Judy

I would like to try Contrave when it becomes available.

Amy

Has anyone noticed while taking Contrave their hair thinning?

Paula

ME BUT I THOUGHT IT WAS FROM MY THYROID GOING UP AND DOWN.

Victoria (Editor)

We checked the Contrave prescribing information and hair thinning wasn’t listed. If youy’re having this and believe it is a side effect of Contrave, call 1-877-298-8340 to report this side effect.

Leslie Doty

I have lost 30 pounds in a year and have kept it off. I have Fibromyalgia and it has lessoned and I do not have to take the prescription medicine prescribed for it as Contrave has helped with it (you could say two for the price of one). On the downside, the cost of Contrave is high even and after the trial period, I was paying about $60.00 and now I am paying $92.05 a month and my Insurance doesn’t cover Weight Loss. I am very Please with Contrave, but I haven’t lost anymore for several months.

Tina

My Dr. advised me that I will not lose any weight the first month. I did. That may have been in part that I told her I would walk at least two miles a day. I average five pounds lost per month. I have a waist line I haven’t seen in years. I had mild nausea the first few weeks on only a few occasions. I took a tums or nauzene. I have not had any side effects past that.

With my Rx, my Dr. gave me a card for Contrave. The card gave me a discount each month. I paid 99/one month or 291/three months. They asked if I wanted to join a program called scaledown, which they pay for. I received a very nicer digital scale, weigh myself daily, and then I receive encouraging text messages. Once a week I receive an email with my weekly and overall results.

I now find myself walking 4 miles a day on average. I walk during my one hour lunch and in the evenings. You can’t just take a pill, you have to commit to helping it work.

annette

I would like to try it but don’t know how much and is it worth it

Tab

I have been taking contrave for almost 3 weeks. When I increased from 1 to 2 pills in the AM I started having bouts of itching. On my hands and feet mostly, now it’s the back of my neck. The itching isn’t constant but it is bothersome nonetheless. Anyone have this issue and if so what to do?

Chris

Yes, when I started the two pills I started itching after about 3 hrs later. After that my bottom lip started swelling. I took a Benadryl,didn’t work. I ended up seeing the doctor for a steroid shot .

M Love

Leave a comment…Sounds like an allergic reaction, stop taking the med and see your doctor immediately

Cosmo

I also had problems with the insurance company not accepting it at first; they wanted my doctor to call a special phone number so I was reimbursed the 98$ dollars for a supply of 120 tabs. The approval for the medication is good until April, but my doctor will have to request the refill.

Cosmo

I began Contrave last week. By the third day, I decided to take one in the a.m. and one by 2 p.m. I’m on day 7 and I’m up to three (mind you I’ve had to balance my Wellbutrin dosage to make what I was taking). Here’s what I’ve found- the first two days I had nausea, but only mildly and felt like I was “less” hungry. I’m also on the “Lose It” app as suggested by the doctor (the basic app is free). She’s not worried about my calories as much as my carb. intake, but the holidays were tough. I have no excuses now, today I’m ravenous and craving carbs. I don’t think I’ve lost any weight at all in the first week, but I’ve ramped up my intake from 1-3 in that short time. It’s very frustrating because my doctor says Zyrtec makes me gain weight and Klonopin doesn’t help my situation either. The Klonopin will be harder to wean off of, but I feel like I need it or I’ll never sleep. So everything is relative. I’d like to have success with this medication as I’m the one who researched it to match my Wellbutrin intake. I will give it two more weeks before I see her again to determine if this is right for me, but I just don’t know after one week and no results.

ANN EIFERT

I WOULD LIKE TO TRY LOSING CONTRAVE TO HELP ME LOSE WEGHT. HOWEVER I TAKE 30 mg of antidepressant CYMBALTA. IS THIS A PROBLEM?

Tracey

Ann my DR prescribed Contrave for me and I take 60 mg Cymbalta. Everyone’s different tho.

Lynn

If your Dr. prescribes it at 2 different prescriptions….Wellbutrin/naltrexone, It doesn’t look like it is being used for weight loss, since my insurance doesn’t pay for anything weight loss related this works for me. I actually pay nothing for it 🙂

deb

I was wondering if I continued with the Wellbutrin I am currently taking if I could just add the naltrexone. What amount of naltrexone did your dr. add for you?

Charlene

Leave a comment… did this work the same as Contrave for you?

Dorothy

This is my second day of taking this drug, I was really worried about taking it because I don’t like taking any drug. The first day was fine but I did feel a little out of it, today I had no appetite at all I had to make myself eat something so I could take my morning drugs, so this evening I made myself something to eat because I haven’t eaten all day, well that was a mistake, I started feeling sick and so full like I hadn’t eaten a meal in a week. Because it’s the holidays I won’t be able to contact my doctor so I’m going to wait until the holiday’s are over before I take any more. Also the cost is really high my insurance will not cover it so I only brought 21 tablets and it was $45. At this point I’m going to see how it goes after the holidays and talk to my doctor about the side effects I don’t need any more problems.

Anonymous

I have been taking Contrave for 6 months and have lost 25 lbs. I paid 70. per month Now I am told I have to re enroll. I emailed the company and was told I could not register because I have Medicare. The cost with Commercial Insurance is 30.00 per month, the cash price if no insurance is 90.00 per month– but since I have Medicare I have to pay 228.05 per month and was told I can’t pay cash and get that cash price.. I am being penalized because being over 65 I have to have Medicare. Has any one else heard of this and what has happened to our free country?

BRIDGET MOZELESKI

Leave a comment…I just paid for my 1st prescription and it cost me $349.00 with private ins.
i am looking into ways to lower this cost.

Libby

today is Oct 6, i started taking Contrave May 12 weighing 200 lbs, 66 yrs old, female. I have lost 30 lbs with no ill side effects. All of a sudden, i want to snack. I want potato chips! I have never been a chip eater! I am up now at 2:00 am wanting and craving chips. Im fighting the urge, but it is hard! Im loosing sleep over this. I thought maybe it was my body telling me i needed salt! But i dont think so now! I have not lost any weight in 2 weeks (since ive started this potato chip craving). I didnt have any cravings since ive been on contrave–why now after ive been doing so well?

Susanne

This is in response to “Libby” who suddenly had potato chip cravings…I had to laugh. I too have never been a ‘chip’ eater and for reasons unknown to me…suddenly crave potato chips.

Lisa

Libby , Had to reply to this. I to have been having bad craving for potato chips. Never had I craved chips before. Before. Contrave, I was a big on sweets (chocolate). No more.

Your NameYEAH

I have been on contrive since mar 2015, lost from size 16 to 8 in about 6 mnts. the 1st 3 weeks I lost 11 lbs, but I did walk every day or every other day and watched my eating (no craving sweets at all, so I did not try, because this is a good thing), weight just started falling off fast. I started with the high mg and was not feeling well, contacted dr and he put me on their other lower mg 8/90 mg.. and I take 2 pills am and 1 pm ( I do not do the 2 and 2)No side effects at all. I have been able to stay at my weight gaining 4 lbs loosing them back, so my body plays with 5 lbs.. but the price in 2015 until sep 2016 was $70, then down to $58.00 a month, now it’s $93.00 (their new prices I was told) and this do not go down, it stays at $93.00 a month.. a little to expensive.. so after this month I will be going off the product, my question is if I keep up doing my exercise and eating as I know do, will the weight stay off or will it come back like other weight controls ..

Keegan

Proud of you – amazing. Hope you keep up walking and I need to do the same. You guys have really got me thinking….

Jonelle

I’ve only been taking Contrave for four days and I’ve gained two pounds. No side effects just a little dry mouth. I will continue taking the correct dose. If I gain any more or at least don’t lose some weight then I will stop taking it.

Marie

I started Contrave in February, as of today I have lost 51 pounds. I would have lost more but a bad accident got in the way. I stopped taking it and I did not gain any weight back. I am very thankful for Contrave.

Lisa

February of 2016?

Luz

I would like to pick your brain about your experience. Would you mind emailing me at lplasencia1@aol.com? Thanks so much!

Laura

I have been on contrave for 33 days and I have lost 20 lbs. I have no craving for snacks, sweets, or anything fried. I am now so motivated to exercise that I walk 2 miles a day. I had no side effects. I still have about 20 I’d like to lose. Contrave has changed my life.

julie

What dosage were you taking when you lost the 20lbs in 33 days?

Terri

I am taking contrave and i am taking it once around seven in the morning and the other at one or two in evening so by time i go to bed i sleep fine and it is working for me no side effects

  It does its job of reducing apetite!
Rosalind (Verified User)

I’ve been on Contrave for a little over a month now. I have never had any of the side effects that are reported. It definitely does its job, which is to reduce your appetite. Within a week, I noticed that my eyes were definitely bigger than my stomach, and I’ve had to learn how to adjust my ordering out. I’ve lost about 10 lbs with not necessarily a healthy diet and working out about 3 times a week. I saw lots of up and down results, until the past 2 weeks, which was a steady loss. You definitely have to ride it out and see if it works for you. Listen to your body and stop when it’s full. This isn’t a fat burner pill, that just magically helps you lose weight, so when you do stop taking it, you won’t necessarily gain all of that back.

  8 days feeling horrible !
Rachel (Verified User)

i started taking Contrave 8 days ago and I just can’t get passed the side effects. I have felt horrible. Between the headaches, excessive tiredness, dizziness, and Nausea I have decided to stop taking this medication. I was trying to see if I just stop since I only took it for 8 days or if I have to do something else. I just can’t feel like this all the time.

Barb Rall

I just took 1 week and to start on 2nd. I need to stop how do I do that?

  Will start again soon !
Heidi (Verified User)

I started using Contrave last September, but stopped taking it after I got up to the recommended dosage of 4 per day. I lost weight, but once I was up to 4X’s per day, I started having horrible nightmares and quit taking it. I’ve since talked to my doctor about it and he recommended that I just take 1 per day. I will hopefully be able to start again soon.

Kim W

I started taking Contrave yesterday and in the early evening I felt nauseated and had an upset stomach.
Is this normal?
Thanks

Victoria (Editor)

Hello Kim. These are two of the most common Contrave side effects.

  It did not worked !
M.T (Verified User)

I have been taking contrave every since the first part of Jan.I have not lose a pound.I notices I have gain

Diane Patton

I am on my 3rd week of Contrave and did not experience any side effects but have actually gained weight. I am going to stop taking Contrave. Now I have to work harder to lose the extra weight. Very disappointed!

C.P.

I have been taking contrave for 4 weeks and I too have gained weight. Fortunately, I have not had any of the side effects I’ve read about. I do find that I am extremely sleepy sometimes.

  Just started, feel nausiatic !
Brianna (Verified User)

I just started today April 28,2016 I feel a little difference right away my head kind of hurts, feel a little nausea , don’t feel hungry at all, I’ll post any updates on my journey taking this medication

  Week 3 - no major results !
Brenda

Starting my 3rd week – first week I lost 2 lbs along with eating proper along little exercise. The second week I gained it back with no exercise and my old eating habits. Im beginning to think week one was proper diet and exercise, not the pills. I wll see what week 3 brings. If no major results, I will stop taking it.

Kris

I just wrote s big reply that ddnt go through for some reason, so I will keep this short. It is not an appetite suppressant or a stimulate. It’s designed to help you make better choices. Some people will be affected by the drug and some people. Some it will take longer to work and for some it starts working the first day no matter what, though, the math is still the same for us all, to achieve weight loss we must burn more calories than we consume, and we must be honest with ourselves about our exercise and our diet.

Judy porter

Hello I’ve been on contravene almost 3 months , started out 184 now I’m 168 , but I’ve now started not being able to eat 1/2 my food , diarrhea , stomach cramps , feeling sick every time I eat , anyone else having these problems ?
Now nothing taste good , I’ll order 4 different things just because my taste is off , and it was working so good .
Also I’m on wellbrutin, does anyone know if that’s to much of what’s in contrave , did not want to tell my family dr. I was on contrave that was prescribe by another dr., Just trying to figure out if that’s to much of what’s in contrave & wellbrutin? And what would be the side effects ? Thank you judy

Victoria (Editor)

Judy, you must tell the doctor prescribing Wellbutrin that you’re on Contrave. Contrave contains bupropion, the generic name for Wellbutrin.

Too much Wellbutrin can cause seizures. It can be very dangerous to take the two together unless carefully being watched by a doctor.

  
Theresa (Verified User)

I will be starting week 5 tomorrow & while I really don’t have any side effects I have only lost about 1 lb. Does it take longer in some people? I am trying to stay within a 1200 calorie intake per day. I am getting a bit discouraged.

Kacey

Theresa, I would definitely talk to your doctor about your daily intake. 1200 seems extremely low and may be the reason why you are not losing any weight. You should figure out what your basal metabolic rate is (the calories you burn sleeping or not moving just breathing). You need to eat at least this many calories for your body to survive and not going into survival mode or (hang onto every calorie mode). Hope this helps 🙂

Adam

Im on day 5 of Contrave, and combined with my nutritionists recommended diet, and exercise I have lost 12.5 pounds!!!! I feel great. I do have a bit of the nausea side effects but it’s worth it to me!

  I have noticed difference in my cravings.
natnurse (Verified User)

2 week weigh in. I’m down 12 lbs. I just increased to 3 pills a day. I noticed some foginess but that subsided. I have definitely noticed a difference in my cravings. I was notorious for binge eating. I simply don’t have the cravings.

  I AM NOT FULLY SATISFIED USING THIS PRODUCT.
Roberta (Verified User)

I just began my second week on Contrave and am hungrier than ever. My stomach growls and no matter what I eat I am not satisfied. I wasn’t this hungry before taking the medication. Does anyone have any suggestions?

  GOOD PRODUCT BUT WITH SIDE EFFECTS
Nichole (Verified User)

I’ve been on Contrave for a month and a half. My side effects have been i get irriatable very easily. I’ve lost 18.9 pounds.

linda Mushen

Linda
I have been taking contrave since late Jan 2016 I started out fine, no issues but now I have nausea all day and feel sick. What can I take for the Nausea its horrible, I have lost 13 pounds but and going to stop taking pill if I cant get relief , I do sometimes feel sick too when eating something in healthy or greasy or any sugar.

Sara

I started my first pill today. About two hours in a started to feel very hot and sick to my stomach , my pupils are very small and alittle light headed

Dana Lee

I don’t like Contrave first it cost to much and it is not helping me at All I am gain weight instead of loosing , I did have hot flashes and trouble with my bowels it don’t t work at I would like to get my money back, I am not satisfied the this product and dry mouth, I have been on it for 3 weeks

Bev

For the first few weeks in taking this medicine I had some side effects like agitation and strange dreams and almost stopped taking it, but stuck with it and the bad side effects subsided and was replaced with a good side effect which was “lack of appetite”. In 4 months I lost 40 lbs., but took a month off and gained 5 back. I just went back on it again this past week and lost 1.5 of those pounds.

  I take my pills and I get dizzy
Cecilia (Verified User)

My hands shake when I take my pills and I get dizzy. Is this normal?

  the worse thing ever that happens
Ricado (Verified User)

first week terrible headache and waking up many times during the night with weird dreams, then headache went away the second week my mood went down the toilet I couldn’t Perform at work and really irritable with little things , got hungry and craving sweets , constipation , the 3rd week at 2 pills in the morning and 1 in the afternoon at the 3rd day I had enough , became a different person and had to stop in other words I got depressed that never happens to me ever , this med work totally the opposite with me , the worse thing ever that happens to me

Your gail homer

Tell us your thoughts about Contrave.it seems very expensive an has a lot of side effect

  Helped me a lot !
Laura (Verified User)

I started Contrave 3/14/16. I had slight nausea but I would eat a cracker and it would go away. I had headaches but would take Excedrin and it would go away. Contrave has helped me a lot. I have lost 15 pounds, I have gained 2-3 pounds but I believe it was due to monthly female issues. I was craving sweets that week but today I do not have the sweets craving. I am looking forward to continuing this medication and losing weight.

  pretty awesome i feel great
Remy (Verified User)

Started using contrave on 1/8/2016 i was 259 pounds as of today 1/20/16 i weigh 239, which is pretty awesome i feel great first day side effects was throwing up but that went away quick

Savannah

I started taking Contrave on April 26th of this year. As of today(7/13), I have lost a total of 33lbs! I exercise moderately and eat a healthy diet, which I did before starting Contrave. I also paired the use of Contrave with the ScaleDown program that is made available for those taking Contrave. In addition to my weight loss, I have also been able to quit smoking in the process! The worst side effect I have experienced was severe stomach cramps. They weren’t constant, and usually happened in the middle of the night. After speaking to my doctor about it, we concluded that the cramps were mostly present when I didn’t eat as much as I should for that day. I must admit, before I began taking Contrave, I was incredibly nervous because all of the potential side effects were terrifying! The key here is to know that you have a doctor who knows you and your medical history well and who is also familiar with Contrave and how it’s side effects could potentially apply to you.

  Product was not good for me
Michelle (Verified User)

Was on it for 3 mo. Im in my mid forties, go to the gym 4 days a week. 5 ft 5 190. Healthy ithet than needing to lose some weight. The fatigue on this drug wqs incredible. I almost fell asleep at the wheel twice. The last few weeks I was irritable, slightly depressed, a little manic and became almost hostile. Ive never had a history of depression. The nausea and dizziness came and went here and there but the neurological side effects were too much for me. If it works for you great for me it couod have been deadly

  Anyone having the same eye effect?
Cheryl (Verified User)

I am giving this 3 stars because I only started Contrave a week ago. I think I lost about 3 lbs. I’m definitely less hungry. Hasn’t yet curbed the cravings. I woke up this weekend with a subconjunctival hemorrhage (bloody spot on my eye). Has this happened to anyone else. I have never had one in my 48 years

  So far feels great
Carol Bailey (Verified User)

I just started Conrtave on September 5,2015 no side effects, eating less food, no sweets and feeling great.

  Wants to have a free sample
Anonymous

Me too! I would like free samples as well. My doctor had me on phentermine for a month, and I lost 12 lbs! I loved it, but now I may have to switch to contrave & I’m a little weary.

  Working good so far
Greg (Verified User)

Took contrave for 3 months lost 80 pounds, almost 1 pound a day. Had to stop for a month to ck elevated liver enzyme, also stopped Lipitor had an ultrasound everything good. Started back 6 days ago with 2 pills a day, not the 4 I was taking. I was off contrave for a month during that time I fluctuated between 243 and 248 still walking 3 to 5 miles aday but kept falling off the wagon, gain some weight lose it gain it back. After July 4 went to 250 then July 6 252.2 called doctor for ultrasound results. After the good news asked to start contrave again he said yes but 2 pills a day not 4. This morning 237, 91 pounds lost” working for me. I had more reaction to the drug starting back than when starting contrave the first time. The first 2 days starting again had 2 very sleepless nights 1 headache day but everything good last few days. Have more work to do another 50 pounds but in so much better shape now blood pressure very good.

Carmen

Oh Greg! I know how you feel!! I started Contrave the first week in May 2015 and had very little side effects. Started week two with 1 at night, 1 in morning and the nausea was awful!!! I honestly felt that the reason I was losing weight was because of the insane nausea. It did come and go in waves but was awful when it hit!! So instead of increasing to three the next week after, I took two pills for 2 weeks then started my 3 pills a day without trouble. Was very happy about that! Then I began week four….OMG! The ringing in my ears….the dizziness….felt terrible!!!! Vertigo was unreal. For nausea I was taking Dramamine which became a daily med for me to combat the nausea so I tried Bonine to combat the vertigo without any relief. I immediately went back to 3 pills and was doing great! My weight went from 211 to 176.00 by November 2015. I was eating a very low-fat diet and walking daily for 30-45 min. I was feeling great! Then Dec.10th I tore my left hamstring. Massive pain! That day I had to stop Contrave immediately because I was put on a codeine based med which you cannot take with It. My weight ballooned up to 198 but by March my hamstring healed and began my regimen of pills in April after the necessary two week break from pain meds. My Lord, this second time has been HORRIBLE!!!! I had no idea just how sick to my stomach this med makes me but quickly remembered when attempting my two pills a day. Now not only did I get shaky but very, very nauseous with just two!!! The break from this medication what’s necessary for me but I just wish I didn’t have to have stopped then begin again. It’s really not a good feeling… However, I did lose weight, did adjust after the first go-round and used Dramamine for nausea because phone regain is contraindicated with this medication. The hard time I’m having now may be that I’m not following a completely low-fat diet right now and it is May 2016 and I haven’t walked regularly since December 2015. I’m going to give it another go because I backed down to only 1 pill a day now. So I may want to ease back into it. My recommendation is to exercise by walking at least 30 minutes a day, eat a low fat diet and use Dramamine if nauseated. It helps so much. Oh! And keep those liver enzymes in check…no alcohol! I pray I can continue on with this medicine!!! One HUGE benefit was that it totally took away my cravings for food….many a day I had to force myself to eat!! But there again, the nausea played a role in that as well….*sigh. Good Luck!!!

  Should I increase the dosage?
New2Contrave (Verified User)

I just started taking Contrave 1 week ago today. My DR prescribed me to start 2/day, but in fear of the side effects, I started out only taking 1/day. I have not noticed ANY benefit. It hasn’t helped curb my appetite at all and I find myself even over-eating more than normal. Will the medicine work better when I increase my dosage to 2/day?! I hope so!! I was on Phentermine for 4 months and lost 30 lbs. I wish you could take that long term. It worked wonderfully.

Anonymous

$60+

jackie

I went to the web site and printed the paper! No discount for me …has to be 70 pills Dr will only give 30
Day supply??! Where is the discount card please!

Ckew

There is a prescription discount card that comes with your Rx. It is from Contrave. If your insurance does not cover. Your first 2 refills are $70. The 3rd on, it is $60.

Anonymous

Depends on what insurance you have i didnt qualify for the discount card i had to pay $220.00

Ashley

Everyone gets the discount. You have to go to the contrive website and register/download your contrive card. it will bring the medication down to either $70, or $55 for the first 2 months. Then it drops $10 after the 3rd month.

Lisa

I went to website I registered n got my discount card but still was charged $90.

Mary Lou

I paid $90 dollars also. Been on for two days and I am never hungry so make myself eat. I am being very careful about fatty foods. Protein, veggies and fruit. Also potatoes even though I know it would be better to stay away from them. I have lost a couple of pounds but I attribute that to water. Hoping for good results.

Krystal

I just bought it yesterday and paid $90

Linda Lee

I had the card and downloaded it, too. But I still had to pay $90. That’s expensive.

  Have lost 12 lbs.
Jeff (Verified User)

Have been on Contrave for 3 weeks. Have lost 12 lbs. Cravings are gone for food and alcohol. Eating is becoming something that takes up my time and would rather not do.

  eat really healthy and no fast foods
Rina

I’ve only lost 10 lbs in 2 and half months is that normal? I eat really healthy and no fast foods or pops I walk 3 to 4 miles a day and do yoga

Victoria (Editor)

Hello Rina. All dieters have different weight loss results. Some users lose weight faster/slower than others.

  had to force myself to eat something
Dana

I just started today 1pill week1 2-wk2 i was afraid to start because I had been on an opiate.but day 1 went fine.No side affects and no appetite.had to force myself to eat something.

  ramping up the dose
BeachGirlNC (Verified User)

I have been ramping up the dose from 1/day to 4/day over the last 4 weeks. I have been nauseous with a headache for at least 5 days following each added pill. I want to stop nearly every day but have hopes that now that I am on the full dose that my body will adjust and I will feel better. As I read these reviews I want to know how many people started with the full dose and who ramped up like me. I have not lost any weight nor have I had any added energy. My only appetite suppression is due to my nausea. I feel positive in seeing other reviews and hope the next week brings some improvements.

Marcia Hartgrove

I have been on for 3 months & have lost 18 lbs. I talked to my Dr. yesterday about the nausea which seems to have gotten worse with the increase in dosage. She told me it was ok to cut back to only 3 a day to see if that helps. I noticed others have stayed on a lower dosaage. If it does not work on the lower dosage, I can add another one.

Sara

I just started today and the nausea was horrible. I told my dr she said to stay with the 1 pill until that side effect is gone.

  Highly recommended product
Doris (Verified User)

Hello, I’m on week 2 of Contrave and it really does work I don’t crave for sweets I focus better I felt dizzy only one day, all because I had no appetite and did not eat but after I consumed food I felt find. You really get full faster….. I recommend this pill

  contrave for two weeks
natalina (Verified User)

I’ve been on contrave for two weeks still taking 1+1. the dizziness still hasn’t gone away. I’ve lost 8 lbs. in the two weeks with diet and exercise. im kind of scared to take the recommended dose of 2+2. any advice?

Nicole

Hello~ I was doing very well on the 1&1 dose, lost 11 pounds since march 14th. The day after I increased my dose per the dosing schedule to 2 & 1 I woke up with an allergic reaction. Red bumps on my arms, legs, stomach and red around the eyes. I went back to the 1:1.

Victoria (Editor)

Hello Natalina. If you continue to have these side effects, please consult with your physician before continuing this diet.

  no side effects except for some days
Melyssa (Verified User)

I’ve been taking contrave for almost 5 weeks now and have lost 17 pounds, I have no side effects except for some days I’m a little tireder then others. but other then that this pill has been my wonder blue pill and I have been very pleased with the results. Oh yeah I do spin classes 6 days a week and watch my food intake, although I’m not very hungry with the pill. Hope my experience helps.. 🙂

  This product did not work for me.
Kathy VonSeggern (Verified User)

I’ve been on Contrave over 2 moths I still weigh same
I drink 2 was water minumim a day
Ever size every day 20 min cardio
30 min weights

  having problems with light headed
PaULA

I have been on it for almost a month, I was having problems with light headed and dizzy increased my water intake and it seems to have subsided. Good luck

Cyn

I started taking it since easter 2016, I weighted 150lbs, 5″6, it’s been 1.5 months and lost about 12 lbs (138lbs now). I stoped for a week since I went to Vegas.

  So far, so good.
Amy G (Verified User)

So far, so good. I am just finishing up week 2, 1 + 1… No side effects and I am beginning to notice a decrease in appetite and cravings, I think!

  absolutely sickened me
Irene Hecht (Verified User)

I have been on Contrave two weeks. I have had to stop taking it because it absolutely sickened me. The most foul metallic taste in the mouth coupled with constant nausea was more than I could bear. It reminded me of my bout with chemotherapy. In fact the side effects were so similar. I am truly sorry and disappointed since I truly had high hopes of being successful with the help of this medication.

  Just picked, excited start !
Ann

Just picked up my prescription yesterday. My co-pay was only $15 for 120 pills. I’m excited to start these.

  How long it take to lose weight?
Sarah

Lisa, how long did it take to lose the bulk of your weight

  Lisa, how long did you lose 40lbs?
besa

Hi Lisa for hw long did you lose 40 pound

  Product work but quite expensive
M R (Verified User)

I have been for five weeks now I have not experienced any side effects and I have lost 23 pounds. Of course diet and exercise Is very important. Contrave helped curb the appetite and took the cravings away I can very easily choose to say no thank you to A piece of cake. And yes without insurance it is quite expensive . I wish insurance companies would understand people losing weight and less money will go into keeping them healthy.

  I hope it works for me.
Tanya (Verified User)

Mines is 57 a month ..just got it today …I hope it works

Patti

Where did you get contrave for 57 a month? How are you doing on it?

Anonymous

My cost is $30/month as my insurance covers it.

CHRISTINE

Ask your Dr. for the coupon I paid $55

Sarah

Hi I just sent off for mine 2 days ago, how are you doing on yours?

VTobar

I started two days ago and have felt very Dizzy!!! and throwing up to the point that im in tears…just wondering if your side effects have gone away?

Jamie

I am relieved to hear that I am not the only one who has had the dizziness and feel g very shaky and nauseated. I am on week three and have lost 12 pounds. It is very important to remember to eat, I also do not feel hungry most of the time and when mealtimes come along I eat way less than I used too. 12 pounds down so far!

valsab

I have started 10 days ago and I’m still fighting side effects (nausea, diarrhea, dizziness mainly). No effect I can see yet but I’m only taking 1+1 right now. How are y’all doing?

laurie

How is it going so far my Dr just prescribed this for me but have not received it yet

   i am not on medications
lis

i would like to try concave .wold like to loose some weight i am not on medications i dont have high blood pressure dont have heart disorders .I do exercise and my thyroid is great dont know y i cannot loose i eat healty and small portions

   before it hits the market.
Cindy Johnson

Please keep me in mind if you are looking for volunteers to try Contrave before it hits the market.

  high blood pressure,
Kathy Schwab

I would like to know about Warfarin and this product, along with medication for diabetics, high blood pressure, pain meds for chronic lower back pain, Effexor RX, acid reflux med., and about 180 LBS. needed to lose

  new chack with your Dr,
joyce

it s on today but can t find much more still new chack with your Dr, asap

  side effects vs my psychological state
Barbara (Verified User)

I began Contrave a week before I had a traumatic experience and suffered from severe depression and PTSD — so I’m not quit sure what to consider side effects vs my psychological state. I vomited once a day for the first 2 weeks (likely contrave). I was hungry, but just didn’t feel like eating (could be either – likely both). I had some irrational behavior that was very much out of character. But now it’s been 10 months, my mood is better and stable, I still vomit once every few weeks. My appetite is back (more cravings than hunger), I lost 25 pounds and the first few months, and a total of 38 pounds over the 10 months (24% of my body weight). My weight has been stable for months +/- a pound. For me it was worth whatever side effects could be contributed to the med. My self-esteem is so much improved. Not only was I dieting and exercising before the med and not losing weight — I was continuing to gain. This was my salvation.

  I too was in the study
Renee (Verified User)

I too was in the study. It was wonderful. I could look at something temping (like cookies, candy ect. and say no thank you.) Trust me, that has never happened in my life! I lost 30 lbs and never gained it back. I still can’t wait for it to come out. I still have a lot of weight to loose.

Julie Byrd

I owuld be interested in being a part of the clinical trial also.

   I think it's too late
alice

I am very interested in being part of the clinical trial too but I think it’s too late. So I just want to know when it will be available on the market. Thanx 🙂

  Trial study
Fred Reeves

interested in being part of trial study

connie

Great so far!! Yeah i hope they do put me in study…when my scales.get.here

  Had work
mari

let me know when it come out cuz i try everything and nothing had work…thank you

  I am hoping this product will work
estela

Great news ! I would also like to be part of the clinical trial. I used Phen-Phen and lost the weight but gained back when stopped. I am really hoping this product will work for me and be also safe, I am so very tired of being overweight, I am trapped in this big body when inside I’m thin, healthy and happy…

When will Contrave be available?
Lori Groleau

When will Contrave be available? I am very interested n finding out if it is right for me.

Glenn (Editor)

Feel free to use our Q&A section for more product information as well as contact info. However, one that you can learn about now is one called Dietspotlight Burn. It contains clinically-tested ingredients and has been shown to help accelerate metabolism and boost fat loss. Click above to learn about the sample offer.

wpDiscuz