Updated: 04/18/2017 - Site operated by Leptigen

CholesLo Review - Does This Cholesterol Reducer Really Work?

  • 56 User Comments
  • Rating: 3.5. From 63 votes.
By Summer Banks Mar 23, 2017
56comments

I did two things this week. I obsessed over every aspect of CholesLo. Then we wrote this in-depth review about it, examining the side effects, ingredients, clinical studies and level of customer care. Furthermore, we looked at hundreds of user reviews and comments posted online. Lastly, we summarized everything we found in order to give you the facts you need.

CholesLo Readers: Click here to find out why we're giving away samples of our product, Leptigen.

What is CholesLo?

First of all, CholesLo is a daily supplement that aims to balance HDL and LDL cholesterol ratios, cleanse the liver, improve homocysteine levels, reduce fatty triglycerides and promote healthy cholesterol levels. [1] This product contains Red Yeast Rice, Artichoke Leaf Extract, Phytosterols Complex, Garlic, Pantesin d-Pantethine, Co-Q10, Guggulsterones, Policosanal, Milk Thistle and NAC (N-Acetyle L-Cysteine). [2] In order to use it, you need to take two capsules, twice a day, along with water.

CholesLo has been around since at least 2010 and it can be purchased directly from the official website. This supplement contains natural ingredients and vitamins, and it is sold with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. You also receive an additional $100 cash back if unsatisfied, but read on…

Mild Side Effects – “A Consideration?”

The first issue we found deals with potential CholesLo side effects. According to our Research Editor, “Some users have complained of mild reactions while taking it. These include stomachache, headache, diarrhea and gastrointestinal discomfort.”

One person said, “Don’t care for CholesLo, it gave me a tummy ache.”

“CholesLo gives me side effects, headache and stomach discomfort,” stated another user.

Some CholesLo User Complaints!

We did notice some user complaints posted on dealer websites like Amazon. One customer mentioned, “I can’t even give it one star since it didn’t do anything for me although I took an extra dosage. Very disappointed. Waste of money.”

“Tried this product for 4 months. It only lowered my levels 2 points. I had high hopes for this. It may work for some but not me,” said another user.

Our research has proven that if there is some specific aspect of a dietary supplement or health product that is very troublesome (mild adverse effects, some user complaints, fat price tag) the probability of long-term success is rather low. Therefore, if CholesLo does lead to a lot of unhappy customers, this could be a serious dilemma.

What About Solid Science?

There are some clinical studies and scientific research presented on the official website to support the claims made about CholesLo. This is very reassuring because we at DietSpotlight prefer to see documented clinical research that supports the product we’re investigating. However, there is no connection with weight-loss. It is important to note that some overweight people have higher cholesterol levels, so this supplement could support overall health. On the flip side, losing may help lower it.

The Bottom Line – Does CholesLo Work?

So, should you run out and buy CholesLo? Well, we like that it is backed by a solid satisfaction guarantee, and customers are even given $100 extra if unsatisfied. But we have some reservations about CholesLo because it can lead to mild side effects and some users have not experienced the results they’re after. Then again, it’s nice to see that this product contains natural ingredients and some solid clinical studies are presented on the website to support CholesLo.

If you’re interested in dropping excess pounds of fat to promote healthy cholesterol levels, then we suggest you go with a product that contains clinically tested ingredients for weight-loss, sells at a reasonable price and is backed by plenty of positive user reviews.

Among the best products we’ve seen this year is one called Leptigen. This supplement uses a blend of four potent ingredients that have been shown in published scientific tests to help speed up fat loss and kick-start metabolism. Furthermore, we can’t locate much talk of harmful adverse effects and user reviews found online indicate people are seeing substantial results.

The makers of Leptigen are so satisfied with their product they’re offering a Special Trial Offer, which is a good sign.

Previous CholesLo Review (Updated July 19, 2012):

CholesLo: What You Should Know

CholesLo is a nutritional supplement for lowering cholesterol. CholesLo is manufactured by HFL Solutions, based in Las Vegas, NV. HFL Solutions was founded in 1992 by Dr. Sam Robbins. HFL Solutions’ mission is to stop, slow down and reverse the aging process with their products. CholesLo was originally created to treat Dr. Robbin’s aging parents elevated cholesterol. CholesLo is available in pill form and dosing is one to six pills daily.

CholesLo: Ingredients

CholesLo contains Lipid Optimizing System: Sytrinol®, Co-Q10 (Ubidecarenone), Red Rice Yeast (10:1 Lovastatin Extract - citrinin removed), Policosanal, Garlic Deoderized (Extract 1.3% alliin), Pantesin® d-Pantethine, Guggulsterones (10% Pure Extract; E and Z), Artichoke Leaf Extract (15% Chlorogenic Acid, 5% Cynarin), Phytosterols Complex, Liver Cleansing Formula: Milk Thistle (80% Extract), NAC (N-Acetyl L-Cysteine), Turmeric (95% curcuminoids Extract), Alpha Lipoic Acid (ALA), Homocysteine Reducing Formula: Folic Acid (Vitamin B9) 200 mcgs, Vitamin B6 20 mgs, Vitamin B12 100 mcgs.

CholesLo: Product Features

CholesLo is manufactured to lower cholesterol levels of its consumers. Sytrinol is HFL Solution’s own compound that contains natural citrus and palm fruit extracts. Co-Q10 is a naturally occurring enzyme in the body required for heart function. Policosanal lowers LDL cholesterol and raises HDL cholesterol. Garlic has been shown to lower overall cholesterol levels. Pantesin is proven to lower LDL cholesterol and raise HDL cholesterol. Guggulsterones has been used for thousands of years in India to alleviate problems associated with obesity, acne, and viral infections. Artichoke leaf extract is also shown to lower overall cholesterol. The homocysteine reducing formula is used to control overall cholesterol as well.

HFL Solutions states that this is a patent pending formula and cautions against using the individual products by themselves. HFL Solutions state that they have modified the ingredients to be safest and most effective for lowering cholesterol. They state they have not had any incidents of side effects with this product.

Advantages

  • CholesLo is offered with a cash back offer if the consumer’s cholesterol does not drop thirty points in thirty days.
  • CholesLo has a dedicated website with clinical trial information available.

Disadvantages

  • CholesLo dosing requirements are one to six pills per day.
  • CholesLo may reduce overall cholesterol, but does not prevent the risk of heart attack or stroke.

CholesLo Conclusion

CholesLo is manufactured to reduce overall cholesterol. The product website contains clinical information proving the effectiveness of the product and the individual formulas. CholesLo is offered with a full refund if the consumer’s total cholesterol does not lower by 30 points in 30 days. Consumers considering taking a cholesterol lowering medication should consult with their physician prior to use, especially if other medications are prescribed for high cholesterol. Drug interactions can occur. CholesLo does not have any documented side effects. CholesLo is not a weight loss supplement, only a nutritional supplement for cholesterol lowering. Consumers looking to lose weight should look for a product that contains a fat burner and appetite suppressant for best results. The product should have a dedicated website with clinical trials proving the effectiveness of the product.

CholesLo Questions & Answers:

We examined hundreds of user reviews about Choleslo to make this helpful FAQ.

What are the side effects of Choleslo?

Choleslo side effects could include headache, nausea, diarrhea, and cramping.

What are the ingredients in Choleslo?

Choleslo ingredients include red yeast rice, artichoke leaf extract, phytosterols complex, garlic, pantesin d-pantethine, Co-Q10, guggulsterones, policosanal, milk thistle, and NAC.

Does Choleslo work?

There is some evidence that Choleslo can lower cholesterol levels, but the evidence that it can promote weight-loss is less convincing.

If you want a weight-loss supplement that contains clinically tested ingredients, you may want to take a closer look at Leptigen

How much does Choleslo cost?

A one month supply of Choleslo is about $50.

What is Choleslo’s BBB rating?

We were unable to find a BBB rating for the makers of Choleslo.

How should I take Choleslo?

The manufacturer recommends taking two capsules twice a day with water.

Can I take Choles if I have a health condition?

As is the case with any supplement, you should always speak you’re your physician if you have questions about whether or not Choleslo is safe. This is especially true if you are pregnant, nursing, under the age of 18, have a medical condition or are taking prescription medications.

What do users like about Choleslo?

Users like that Choleslo is all natural, offers a money back guarantee, and has some clinical studies supporting the claims.

What do users NOT like about Choleslo?

Users who expected to lose weight with Choleslo were disappointed.

How do I contact the Choleslo customer service department?

The customer service department of Choleslo can be reached by calling 1-775-473-0702.

Can I contact Choleslo through social media?

Yes, you can contact them on their Facebook.

Where can Choleslo be purchased?

Choleslo can be purchased from the official website and through some affiliates.

Can I take my other medications with this?

Your personal healthcare professional would need to determine if your medications and this supplement would work well together.

Does Choleslo come with a guarantee?

The makers of Choleslo provide one of the best money back guarantees we have seen. However, it is only provided for people who want to lower their cholesterol not for those who want to lose weight.

Do you know of any special deals or discounts on Choleslo?

We couldn’t find any deals or discounts on the Choleslo official website. But right now, customers can get a Special Trial Offer of Leptigen, a weight-loss supplement made with clinically tested ingredients. Click here to try it for yourself.

  • References
  • 1. (). . .

Choleslo is a supplement that just contains herbs, vitamins, minerals and amino acids.

CholesLo Ingredients and Supplement Facts

Serving Size: 1 Capsule
Serving Per Container: 80
Amount per Serving % DV
Co-Q10 * *
Red Yeast Rice * *
Policosanal * *
Garlic * *
Pantesin d-Pantethine * *
Guggulsterones * *
Artichoke Leaf Extract * *
Phytosterols Complex * *
Milk Thistle * *
N-Acetyl L-Cysteine * *
R+ Alpha Lipoic Acid * *
Turmeric * *
Mixed Tocotrienols * *
Vitamin B6 12.5mgs *
Vitamin B12 125mgs *
Folate 200mgs *
Vitamin B5 100mgs *

Other Ingredients: plant-derived cellulose gelatin (Vegetarian capsule), Rice Flour, Magnesium Stearate, Silicon, Dioxide, Water

We examined the Choleslo ingredients to give you the details you need.

Red Yeast Rice

Red Yeast Rice is a red fermented rice that is cultivated with the mold Monascus purpureus. It is called “koji” in Japan and it started being used in 300 B.C.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Red Yeast is used to lower high cholesterol and high blood pressure, and reduce the risk of heart disease.

Clinical Research

Multiple studies have been done that prove Red Yeast Rice does help boost metabolism and promote weight-loss. One study in the Journal of Medical Food said, “The HFD (high fat diet) feeding resulted in obesity, which was associated with increases in body weight, liver weight, fat pad weight, liver enzymes, and plasma leptin levels with the development of hyperlipidemia. RYR (red yeast rice) prevented weight gain and fat pad weight in mice fed a HFD.” Then, the PeerJ journal said, “All types of rice koji significantly decreased weight gain…”

Finding relevant research is important in your search for a clinically-supported supplement. You may want to take a closer look at Leptigen – it fits the bill.

Artichoke Leaf Extract

An Artichoke is a large unbloomed flower head that is native to the Mediterranean area.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Artichoke is used to help indigestion and lower high cholesterol.

Clinical Research

We were unable to find any research relating Artichoke Leaf Extract to weight-loss.

Guggulsterones

Guggulsterones is a steroid found in guggul plants in the area called the resin.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Guggulsterones is used to treat acne, to help promote weight-loss, and lower high cholesterol.

Clinical Research

There has been research done to prove that Guggulsterones does help you lose weight. A study in the Journal of Dietary Supplements said, “Guggulsterones at the dose of 400 mg/kg body weight was able to significantly reduce food intake and limit body weight gain over a period of 15 days.”

Garlic

Garlic is a plant that is in the genus Allium, along with the vegetable, the onion. It is native to eastern Asia and is also used in the Mediterranian area, Africa, and Europe.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Garlic is used to lower blood pressure, will help treat athletics’ foot, help with cold symptoms, and may help promote weight-loss.

Pantesin D-Pantethine

Pantesin D-Pantethine is a version of pantethenine, a stronger form of vitamin B5.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Pantethine is used to lower cholesterol and triglyceride levels, increase athletic performance, and help prevent allergy symptoms.

Is There Anything Out There We Think TRULY Work?

So far this year, the supplement that’s caught our attention is Leptigen. It’s made with four, clinically tested ingredients and reviews are amazing. Right now, readers can take advantage of a Special Trial Offer. To learn more, click here.

  • References
  • 1. (). . .
Get Your Sample Today »
Dietspotlight Author
About the Author:

Summer Banks, a content strategist at Leptigen, has researched over 5000 products in the past 10 years. She has years of nursing training, experience as a manager responsible for 15 supplement brands, and completed coursework on Food and Nutrition from Stanford University. full bio.

Rating: 3.5. From 63 votes.
Please wait...
CholesLo Review

How Does CholesLo Compare?

User Comments (56)

 
smilegrinwinkmrgreenneutraltwistedarrowshockunamusedcooleviloopsrazzrollcryeeklolmadsadexclamationquestionideahmmbegwhewchucklesillyenvyshutmouth

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Maurice

Hello Everyone, best way to drop your cholesterol levels, is to make sure your liver is clean. and the best way to clean your liver and optimize your health, is by consuming cruciferous vegetables up to 9 cups daily.. I been on consuming 7 to 9 cups daily, and my cholesterol levels dropped by 60 points… mine is super high and it’s a bit scary.. but been working on it, and within 2 month dropped that much… Cheers..

Jeanne

My question is, after reaching my goal. How many pill do I take to maintain ??

Hello. All users are different and can experience different weight-loss results. For more detailed product and usage instructions, please refer to the Choleslo official website for more information.

Harold Otterlei

12.04.12 my LDL was 162 before starting Choleslo
02.08.13 my LDL was 120 after Choleslo
74% decrease over 2 mo. period! I’m pleased and look forward to my next LDL test.

Wendy

I love choleslo, it lowered my cholesterol numbers by 34 pts total in just 6 months. I took one with each meal during the day & cut back a tad on fast food outtings. However, my liver enzymes were slightly more elevated but they were also elevated before I began the product, so a fatty liver could be a separate issue for me. The doctor was very curious about the choleslo I was taking, he was concerned about the red rice yeast used in the product and the cheaper ways that is made… He told me to lower my dosage of choleslo to be safe… You just don’t really know about herbal products so always use with caution. I’ve lowered my dosage and I’m looking to get my grandma on the product because she can’t take lipitor/statins. It’s only been a little over a year of taking the product for me, so I would say overall I’m happy with it! One pill a day though just won’t work if you need to cut your cholesterol fast. So keep it on you to take with each meal or as recommended by the product or your doctor.

Darby

I began taking CholesLo in early 2012. I had blood tests with total cholesterol of 229, LDL-103, HDL-49 and Triglycerides-387. I took CholesLo for 6 months and retested blood. Total cholesterol-163, LDL-64, HDL-63, Triglycerides-179. My doc said “I don’t know what you are doing but keep it up, your numbers haven’t been this low in 20 years.” IT WORKS PEOPLE! I had no side effects and I am going back on it now along with my husband. Totally worth the price!

Your NameCarol Moran

My husband has been on the product for about 3 months. His cholesterol was 202 and now it is 179. It has really worked for him.

Vince

I am considering starting CholesLo but was wiry about the guarantee. Seems too good, I contacted the manufacturer asking what documentation was needed to qualify for the refund and $100,00 bonus. This is what they replied.
“To qualify for the CholesLo® “$100 cash back guarantee”, you must (A) have a cholesterol level in the “high” range of over 240 mg/dL, (B) have conducted a cholesterol blood test no more than 2 weeks (14 days) prior to the start of taking CholesLo® (without changes in medications) and (C) take a second – POST blood test on day 30 of using CholesLo®, at daily dose of 3 pills, 2x daily (6 total pills).”
I will still try CholesLo even though my total number is 229, I’ll report back how it goes.

Sharon

Have been on cholesLo for six months my A1C if fine but my blood sugar has gone up 30+ points. What can I do to lower my blood sugar??

Hi. Please make sure to consult with your physician before continuing to take this product and let them know about the side effects you were experiencing.

Smili

I have been on CholesLo for almost 4 months and I go for blood work Tuesday. I am having muscle pain all over which is why I Googled side effects and found these comments. I take 2 pills with water and meal twice a day. My total cholesterol was 230 last blood test, so I will find out tuesday. I also diet and exercise and have gained a little weight. I was wondering if this pill is affecting my thyroid because it feels like a frog is in my throat. Is this all a coincidence, but I didn’t feel this way 4 months ago.

Ryan CRNA

Muscle pain can be an indication of rhabdomyolysis which causes muscle breakdown and proteins can accumulate in the kidneys leading to renal failure. Rhabdomyolysis is an adverse effect of statin drugs and is an indication to stop the drug. A frog in your throat might be due to an enlarged thyroid, called goiter, and can be caused by hypo or hyperthyroidism.

Hi Smili. Please make sure to consult with your physician before continuing to take this product and let them know about the side effects you were experiencing.

Patty

i just started taking the product. I take one twice a day with meals. The second day felt dizzy and nauseous. I’m hoping this subsides. .

Your NameEsther

Started on choles lo 5 months ago cholesterol dropped 5 pts only. I am think no b/p problems. Do have family hx of cardiac problems . Will continue taking choles lo maybe 1 more month if my cholesterol doesn’t drop I will no longer take it. Will not take statins.

Tricia T.

My total cholesterol 4 months ago was 240. I am a 49 year old very active female who exercises everyday and follows a vegetarian diet. My recent blood work after taking CholesLo for 4 months is now down to 168 total cholesterol. I did cut most if not all fat out of my diet excluding fish and did lose 10 lbs during my clean up phase on the supplement. I refused to let my numbers get high and run the risk of being on statins. Now that I am at desirable level, I will continue with my clean eating and daily exercise as usual. I will also cut down to two pills per day and see how my blood test results are in 3 months when I am due for b/w. I have to say, I have not experiences any side effect being on CholesLo.

Jeanne

I had the same result that Tricia T did…..I was over 200 for ever and I can’t take Statins. So I thought there would never be hope for me, after 3 months and my regular clean diet. I am 161, my doctor was excited and told me to keep doing what I am doing…..I will have my cholesterol checked in Dec…………..can’t wait to see if it stays down……………

PJ

I was skeptical about CholesLo, but in view of the fact that I cannot take statins, I had to give it a try. After six weeks of taking it as recommended, my cholesterol went from a total of about 280 to about 160! My doctor’s jaw hit the floor. “Whatever you’re doing, keep doing it,” he said. I experienced zero side effects. This product absolutely works!

Maria Radman

Yes this is exactly what happened to me. My triglycerides dropped from 368 to 207! Still on choleslo and working on it.

Your NameAlvin Old

I order my first bottle ad said order 1 get one free the free 1 did not come with shipment,please contact me to let me why.

Stephen (Editor)

Alvin, to settle a dispute, please call the company directly at 1-775-473-0702.

Your Name Cindy

I have been taking choleslo 2 pills in The morning and 2 in The Evening for 6 months My cholestrol numbers originally were total 275. HDL 53. .LDL194.Triglycerides 139. Now my totals after 6 months of choleslo aré: total 277. HDL 49. LDL 189. Triglycerides 195. This did not work well for me.

Sandy

I have been taking this product for about a year and my hair has changed its structure. It is now much straighter and has a very dry appearance. I may have also lost hair, is this a normal side effect? Thanks for getting back to me.

thomas ware

yes i am on a fixed income can i get my choleslo at a cheaper price.can i get a free sample. thank you.

Phyllis Gloeckler

my visit to my doctor last week ,after blood tests showed that my cholesteral is at 270. My doctor has put me on Atorvastatin tabs. will this supplement conflict with my medicine?

Iris

I have been on CholesLo for a year & a half initially it worked. Then my cholesterol went up last fall again even thou I was still on it. I increased dose but my counts are still up. So what now. I always exercise & eat reasonably well. Trying to reach 4 HFL for advise.

jerome ward

how do i find it or order this product

wpDiscuz