Updated: 06/13/2017

Glucerna Review- Does This Meal Replacement Shake Work?

  • 94 User Comments
  • Rating: 3.3. From 54 votes.
By Summer Banks May 22, 2017
94comments

Give me two minutes of your time and I’ll tell you whether Glucerna actually works. We did one of our deep reviews, examining the side effects, ingredients, clinical research and level of customer service. We additionally spent a lot of time reading user comments posted online. At this point we summarized and compressed all of the facts and feedback to give you the bottom line.

Glucerna Readers: Click here to find out why we're giving away samples of our product, Dietspotlight Burn.

What is Glucerna?

First off, Glucerna is a line of products specifically marketed at people with diabetes [1] and individuals that institutionalized for health related concerns. [2] These products include shakes, bars and snacks. The purpose is to help you manage blood sugar levels and watch your weight. The original contains 190 calories, 7 grams of fat, 5 milligrams of cholesterol, 210 milligrams of sodium, 10 grams of protein, 6 grams of sugar, 3 grams of fiber and 23 grams of carbohydrates. [3] It also provides 27 vitamins and minerals.

Glucerna is made by Abbott Global and has been available since at least 2007. This shake can be purchased online for $40 and both chocolate and vanilla flavors are offered. Since these are prepackaged and ready-to-drink, they are easy to take anywhere, but read on…

Glucerna Bad Taste – “Ewww?”

The first thing we noticed when reviewing dieter experiences with Glucerna ingredients is that they don’t exactly sit well in the mouth. According to our Research Editor, “We certainly noticed a lot of negative user reviews concerning the actual taste of the shakes. Unfortunately if a product is unpleasant, people are unlikely to use it regularly. This makes it ineffective.”

One customer complained, “This stuff is nasty! Like it was ran through a hot garden hose nasty. I will be throwing the rest of this stuff out.”

Another user said, “I hated the taste! Not good at all for me.” Yet another person stated, “Awful tasting!”

We found that some users overlooked the taste, as long as they noticed quantifiable health benefits relating to being obese. [4]

“The taste wasn’t the greatest, but I took it to reduce insulin secretion and possibly help with my hypoglycemia,” commented a dieter. [5]

Negative Customer Feedback – “No Support”

If you take a look at dealer websites such as Amazon, you will find numerous user complaints regarding Glucerna shakes. One dieter stated, “I tried the vanilla and chocolate and both gave me diarrhea. The taste was tolerable, not wonderful. I wished it didn’t make me sick.” [6]

“I tried one this morning. After about 20 minutes I felt nauseous and had a severe gastrointestinal reaction [7],” said another person.

The research we have done has proven that if there is some particular facet of a diet shake or weight-loss system that is especially concerning or difficult (bad taste, very high cost, too many customer complaints) the probability of results for the long term is rather low. So, if these leave the dieter wanting for more, that could be a problem.

The Science – “Evidence?”

Fortunately there are some studies that support Glucerna products for regulating blood sugar levels [8], but this is not the same as promoting weight-loss [9].  At DietSpotlight, we prefer to see documented research that proves the formula works for weight management and when that’s not there we’re not sure if the dieter should be willing to stick around.

The Bottom Line – Does Glucerna Work?

So, what’s the real bottom line on this one? We are glad to see that Glucerna shakes and snacks are suitable for people with diabetes. However, we do not feel comfortable recommending these products for people who are trying to slim down and shed excess body fat. The truth is it is not specifically for weight reduction; although this product could be beneficial when used in conjunction with an approved weight-management plan. [10] Also, there are quite a few complaints concerning the taste. Some users even complained about intestinal pains and diarrhea.

For dieters who wish to see more weight-loss results, we encourage you to choose a diet product that contains clinically proven ingredients specifically for boosting metabolism and speeding up fat loss that’s not associated with negative customer reviews.

Among the best products we’ve seen this year is one called Dietspotlight Burn. This supplement uses a blend of four important ingredients, which have been proven in published scientific studies to increase metabolism and encourage fat loss. Moreover, we can’t find any discussion of negative side effects and user comments posted online show people are seeing solid results.

Also, we believe it’s with confidence that the company behind Dietspotlight Burn is offering a Special Trial Offer, which is a good sign.

Below is the chocolate Glucerna Shake ingredients.

Glucerna Ingredients and Supplement Facts

Serving Size: 8fl
Serving Per Container: NL
Amount per Serving% DV
Water**
Corn Maltodextrin**
Milk Protein Concentrate**
Fructose**
Glycerine**
Cocoa Powder**
Soy Protein Isolate**
High Oleic Safflower Oil.**
Short-Chain Fructooligosaccharides**
Canola Oil**
Soy Oil**
Potassium Citrate**
Cellulose Gel**
Magnesium Phosphate**
Salt**
Choline Chloride**
Ascorbic Acid**
Calcium Phosphate**
Cellulose Gum**
Calcium Carbonate**
Natural & Artificial Flavor**
Monoglycerides**
Soy Lecithin**
Sodium Citrate**
Carrageenan**
Potassium Chloride**
Potassium Hydroxide**
Turmeric Concentrate**
Acesulfame Potassium**
Sucralose**
Ferrous Sulfate**
dl-Alpha-Tocopheryl Acetate**
Gellan Gum**
Zinc Sulfate**
Niacinamide**
Manganese Sulfate**
Calcium Pantothenate**
FD&C Red #3**
Cupric Sulfate**
Vitamin A Palmitate**
Thiamine Chloride Hydrochloride**
Pyridoxine Hydrochloride**
Riboflavin**
Chromium Chloride**
Folic Acid**
Biotin**
Sodium Molybdate**
Potassium Iodide**
Sodium Selenate**
Phylloquinone**
Vitamin D3**
Cyanocobalamin**

Other Ingredients: None

We thoroughly examined Glucerna ingredients in order to provide the details and facts you need.

Water

The human body is around 60-65 percent water. Therefore it’s only natural to need plenty daily in order to stay healthy. Many medical professionals recommend eight 8-ounce glasses per day. This helps keep cells hydrated, energizes the muscles and aids the digestive system.

What is it Supposed to Do?

In regards to weight reduction, water is often claimed to melt away pounds. First of all, it helps with satiety so you eat fewer calories. Furthermore, it minimizes fatigue, which allows you to stay more active. Also, it helps boost metabolism so more calories are burned.

Clinical Research

According to a study published in The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, “Drinking 17 ounces of water daily increased the metabolic rate of study participants by 30 percent.”[1]

Clinical research is an imperative part of the equation when it comes to finding the right weight-loss supplement. This is why you may want to take a look at Dietspotlight Burn. This diet product contains ingredients that are backed by documented science.

Corn Maltodextrin

Many sweeteners found in packaged foods, beverages and supplements are artificial. Corn maltodextrin is no exception. Although it comes from a plant, it is highly processed. It is classified as a polysaccharide. Similar products are made from potatoes, rice, tapioca and wheat.

What is it Supposed to Do?

The primary purpose of corn maltodextrin is to sweeten or bind the food, supplement or beverage. It does not really have much flavor. Furthermore, it can be used as a thickener or filler, and it’s not very expensive. This sweetener is approved by the FDA and considered safe.

Clinical Research

There is no documented research that links corn maltodextrin to weight-loss. However, this ingredient has been proven to function as an effective binder, thickener and sweetener. But, you should note that it does contain carbohydrates and can lead to blood sugar spikes, which may not be good for people with diabetes.

Milk Protein Concentrate

First off, milk protein concentrate is derived from milk. It generally contains 40-90 percent protein. It’s used in all sorts of yogurts, recombined cheese, infant formulas, supplements, frozen desserts and cultured products.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Milk protein concentrate is supposed to provide protein to benefit the muscles. It may also reduce appetite. Furthermore, this ingredient is low in lactose, which is easier on the digestive tract.

Clinical Research

According to Karen Giles-Smith, MS, RD, “Milk protein concentrate with higher levels of proteins can be used to enhance a product’s protein content without adding significant levels of lactose and contribute valuable minerals such as calcium, magnesium, and phosphorus.”[2]

Is There Anything Out There That We Think TRULY Works?

Well, one supplement that we have our eye on is Dietspotlight Burn. This diet product is formulated with ingredients that HAVE been clinically tested, which makes it a solid option. Furthermore, all customers can take total advantage of a Special Trial Offer, currently available. Click above to learn more.

Glucerna Side Effects:

Glucerna is a supplement commonly used as a natural support for diabetes. But, when blood glucose levels are stable, hunger may be suppressed. Though there are so few to mention, we found a couple reports of side effects via customer reviews.

 

“Gave me terrible diarrhea. Also, the taste is not great. Leaves a funny taste in my mouth. Won’t buy again.”    Mandy

 

“My elderly father has had diarrhea for 24 hours.”    Liz

 

“I drank 3 servings over two days and broke out in itchy hives all over my body.”    Candy

 

“I was given this Glucerna to try since I can only have liquids. I am all broken out in hives.”    Andrew

 

“After only 1 can I had severe diarrhea. I no longer am taking it.”    Mary

 

He was given a chocolate Glucerna shake to strengthen him. He broke out in hives very shortly after drinking the shake.”    Sally

 

“I took this shake about a month ago, one every other day or one a day with no problems. I started again this week, one a day then 2 a day for 2 days and I have uncontrollable bowel movements with no warning.”    Jill

 

“This product produced extreme gas on an all-day basis, making it difficult to interact with others.”    Pat

 

“I don’t mind the taste but I get severe, there’s no waiting diarrhea.”    Stacy

 

“Glucerna makes me very sick. After having only one this morning I suffered with the worst stomach pains I have ever had, followed by hours of intense diarrhea, and vomiting.”    Dian

 

We believe dieters are looking for a more direct means of supplementing for weight-loss. In that case, we found Dietspotlight Burn to be one of the best this year. It works with clinically tested ingredients shown to help spark metabolism and reviews talk of amazing results.

Click above to read all the details about Dietspotlight Burn today.

  • References
  • 1. (). . .

Glucerna Questions & Answers:

We combined hundreds of user comments about Glucerna into this helpful FAQ.

What are the side effects of Glucerna?

Glucerna side effects may include nausea and diarrhea.

What are the ingredients in Glucerna?

Glucerna ingredients are Water, Corn Maltodextrin, Milk Protein Concentrate, Fructose[1], Glycerine, Soy Protein Isolate, High Oleic Safflower Oil. Short-Chain Fructooligosaccharides, Canola Oil, Soy Oil, Potassium Citrate, Cellulose Gel, Magnesium Phosphate, Salt, Choline Chloride, Ascorbic Acid, Calcium Phosphate, Cellulose Gum, Calcium Carbonate, Natural & Artificial Flavor, Monoglycerides, Soy Lecithin, Sodium Citrate, Carrageenan, Potassium Chloride, Potassium Hydroxide, Acesulfame Potassium, Sucralose, Ferrous Sulfate, dl-Alpha-Tocopheryl Acetate, Gellan Gum, Zinc Sulfate, Niacinamide, Manganese Sulfate, Calcium Pantothenate, Cupric Sulfate, Vitamin A Palmitate, Thiamine Chloride Hydrochloride, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Chromium Chloride, Folic Acid[2], Biotin, Sodium Molybdate, Potassium Iodide, Sodium Selenate, Phylloquinone, Vitamin D3, and Cyanocobalamin.

Does Glucerna work?

Glucerna does not contain any ingredients that are directly associated with weight-loss. There’s a chance it may help reduce appetite, due to the protein content, but that’s not the focus of the formula.

For those looking to lose weight, you may want to change out Glucerna for a clinically tested supplement like Dietspotlight Burn.

How much does Glucerna cost?

Glucerna can cost between $10.00 and $50.00 based on the count of shakes you get.

How should I take Glucerna?

Because it is a meal replacement and designed to possibly help people with diabetes, you can use Glucerna up to two times a day.

Can I take Glucerna if I have a health condition?

You speak with your physician prior to using a dietary supplement of any kind, including Glucerna, if you are pregnant or nursing, have health conditions, taking prescriptions, or under the age of 18.

What do users like about Glucerna?

Users like that Glucerna helps balance sugar level and some users have experienced weight-loss.

What do users NOT like about Glucerna?

Some users did not like the taste of Glucerna.

How do I contact Glucerna customer service?

You can contact Glucerna customer service by calling 1-800-227-5767 or going to their contact us page on their official website.

Does Glucerna contain gluten?

No, Glucerna is gluten-free.

I have type 1 diabetes, can I use Glucerna?

You should be able to use Glucerna if you have type 1 diabetes but you should check with your physician first.

Do you know of any special deals or discounts on Glucerna?

If you sign up on Glucerna’s official website, you will get a coupon to save money the next time you buy it.

The Special Trial Offer from Dietspotlight Burn – which is only the cost of shipping and handling- has users very excited. The supplement is packed with ingredients that are clinically tested. If you want to check it out, click here.

  • References
  • 1. How bad is fructose? (2007). The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. December 13, 2016.
  • 2. FOLIC ACID (2009). WebMD. December 18, 2016.

Previous Glucerna Review (Updated February 11, 2014):

Glucerna: What You Should Know

Glucerna SR is a diet supplement aimed at diabetes sufferers made by Abbott Labs. Glucerna SR comes in several forms including shakes, powders, bars, and chews. These are sold as meal replacements that manage glucose levels and improve lipid levels. Other meal replacements can be found with Isagenix as it comes with shakes to flush out toxins from the body and energy boosters. Glucerna cannot be purchased directly from the manufacturer's website but appears to be widely available in pharmacies and grocery stores. The website does offer a discount coupon to try the product. There does not appear to be any free samples or trial sizes so that consumers can try out the product first. A neat fact about Glucerna is it's safe for diabetic patients to take. In particular, Insulin Resistance Diet has been found useful for following a healthy eating plan. The website is informative and easy to navigate. The company provides details of active ingredients in the Glucerna products and references them to clinical studies supporting their effectiveness. They also provide a full description of the purpose of each of the ingredients in the formulation. A full ingredient list is provided for each product along with the Nutrition Facts label. There is also a page for customer testimonials for all of the products.

Ingredients

According to the Glucerna website, some of the common active ingredients in the Glucerna products are: chromium picolinate, omega-3 fatty acids, sucromalt, DAG oil, phytosterols, whole grains, and Vitamins C & E.

Product Features

The main purpose of Glucerna products is to help those with diabetes eat healthy with better management of blood glucose levels than with regular snacks. A side benefit is that many physicians and nutritionists believe that if blood glucose levels are moderated, the body stores less fat. This feature of Glucerna may help in weight management in those with diabetes and even those without. The ingredients in the Glucerna products are similar to those in many nutritional supplements. The addition of Vitamins C & E provides anti-oxidants which can improve overall health by destroying the free radicals that can cause disease in the body. The whole grains ensure that the products contain fiber and they also regulate blood glucose.

Glucerna Advantages

  • Healthy snacks for those with diabetes.
  • Readily available for purchase.
  • Contains some vitamins.

Glucerna Disadvantages

  • Pre-made food products are more expensive than homemade.
  • Not specifically targeted to weight management in diabetes sufferers.

Glucerna Conclusion

Glucerna SR products are handy ways for those with diabetes to help manage their condition while providing healthy snack alternatives. Another alternative can be found in Natures Balance is it provides a list of healthy solutions for joint health, immune system support and detoxes the body. Glucerna SR products may also help those trying to lose weight, but as the products are not specifically designed for that purpose, they may contain more than the recommended calories for weight loss. There are many weight loss aids on the market today that contain clinically proven ingredients like green tea extract and Citrimax. If weight loss is your primary goal, you may wish to research these products before trying Glucerna.
Learn More About Dietspotlight Burn »
Dietspotlight Author
About the Author:

Summer Banks, a content strategist at Dietspotlight, has researched over 5000 products in the past 10 years. She has years of nursing training, experience as a manager responsible for 15 supplement brands, and completed coursework on Food and Nutrition from Stanford University. full bio.

Rating: 3.3. From 54 votes.
Please wait...
Glucerna Review

How Does Glucerna Compare?

94 User Comments
Average Rating
 3.5
11 Verified Users
5 Star
28.571428571429%
29%
4 Star
33.333333333333%
33%
3 Star
61.538461538462%
62%
2 Star
0%
0%
1 Star
9.0909090909091%
9%

Leave a comment or review

Jully Ghosh

My father had diabetes and liver problem. Doctor suggest to drink this everyday. should we take it warm water or cold water?

Victoria (Editor)

Hi! For detailed product and usage instructions, please refer to the Glucerna official website for more information.

  Glucerna
raman

Glucerna.sr how use it for weight loss

Stephen (Editor)

Blend 2-3 scoops into and 8 oz glass of water and dissolve fully.

Nimra

High creatinine serum with diabetes patient can take this

Victoria (Editor)

Hi Nimra! Because of possible interactions, please make sure to consult with your physician before taking this product.

  
Robelyn

Hi i just want to ask
My mother had a diabetes and we bought a glucerna milk but i dont know how much scoop and how many times in a day would i give to my mother?

I really need an advice. Thanks in advance

Stephen (Editor)

Mix 2 – 4 tablespoons of Glucerna in water until dissolved. Give it to her between regular meals throughout the day.

Susmita Roy

I am not a diabeates patient
my body weight is 83 N height is 5feet
so dr. .suggest me Glucerna SR ror dunner ,,4 Scoop wirh a glass of water.
after dinner ,need to toilet.
Now ,this Glucerna Sr can control my body weight???
i am confuse!!!
so plz tell me

Maribel (Editor)

Hello Susmita. All users are different and can experience different weight-loss results, but exercise in conjunction with a healthy diet and supplements have shown to help with weight-loss.

harry

just started drinking Glucerna in the morning before the gym can I have an apple and small banana with this drink? type 2 non med just diet

Maribel (Editor)

Hi Harry! For detailed product and usage instructions, please refer to the Glucerna official website for more information.

raghu

Exp date 10/12/16 . pl tell me exp on which month DEC or oct?

Maribel (Editor)

Hi Raghu, that would be October. Please remember that it is not recommended to use products after their listed expiration date.

sheree

My mother is high cholesterol and high blood pressure. Can she drink glucerna with milk?

Victoria (Editor)

Hi! Because of possible interactions, please make sure to consult with your physician before taking this product.

Vickie

I love the taste of Glucerna. Especially the chocolate, then strawberry. I don’t care for the butter pecan, and I’ll be trying the vanilla

JLM

My mother is Type 1 diabetic having blood sugar spikes both low and high. How do you use Glucerna to help with these blood sugar problems? Right now her levels are more high than low. She lives at assisted living facility which does not offer a diabetic diet.

Camille

Hi JLM! For detailed product and usage instructions, please refer to the Glucerna official website for more information. As far as blood sugar, please consult with your physician.

Your Linda Bottoms Name

My sister had a mild stroke 3 months ago and cannot swollow, she is on a feeding tube. She has has nsuea , vomitting and diarreha, they hever her on Glucerna and she is a diabetic. Do you think she may have an intolerance or reaction to the product. She throws it up and is not able to keep much down! Needing help and answers. Need her to get well again!

Victoria (Editor)

Hi. Please make sure they consult with their physician before continuing to take this product and let them know about the side effects they were experiencing.

D Singh

I drink Glucerna and doesn’t have any problems but I would prefer if it wasn’t as sweet.

EmEms

My mom’s is a diabetic patient.. Her Dr. advice me, to give her GLucerna so it can add to her diet as a diabetic patient. She consume one can of 900g of Glucerna a week, coz she takes it 3 times a day. Is that ok? One concern that I would like to ask is, The price of the product is too high, and would like to ask for a discout for a senior citizen. If I buy 4 cans of 900g can I get a discout? My Mom is 83 years old now, and she love to drink the vanilla flavor.

  Only drink at home !
Stac (Verified User)

Im type 2 and i drink the 8oz can. I dont mind the taste but i get severe, theres no waiting dirahhea. I mean no squeezing n pinching n running. Its straight get outta the way. .i need the bathroom. It happens 15 min to 30 min after i drink it. The belly pains are that leaving me thinking its a bad war in my belly. It does keep my snacking and appetite low n controlled. That alone has helped me not gain weight. This should come with a disclaimer saying only drink at home or on the pot in prep for the action your stomach will soon feel n wittness!

kumuds

Please we have to look at several products apt for diabetic conational, specialists recommendation plays a major role ,in tried glucerna know my mom since her glucose level was always higher than 200 ,looked at the reviews and administered glucerna as a promising vitamin and mineral supplement unfortunately her blood sugar levels spiked up to 326 which i never expected indeed a shock. Donthe am so disappointed please take specialist advice if know need for your loved ones for the best alternatives if you are targeting for a normal range please it’s indeed sensitive

  I love your products !
teresa (Verified User)

I love your products it keeps my sugar level. It had also helped me lose weight.

  
Clarrissa Thomas (Verified User)

I like the flavor and taste of the strawberry glucerna. I want to know could it be dranked once or twice a day and have weight gain. I know it says 3% weight lose but I am gaining back the metformin took off.Tell us your thoughts about Glucerna.

  No problems with Glucerna !
Carl B. (Verified User)

I well know that not all products are good for all people. I can only say that I have absolutely no problems with Glucerna. It has a pleasant taste with no negative aftertaste. And it does not upset my stomach. I plan to purchase more Glucerna after my present supply runs out. To each his own.

  I LOVE is the Hunger Smart Shakes
Bridget (Verified User)

The only item I LOVE is the Hunger Smart Shakes. The other Glurcerna shakes are too thick and they coat your mouth. The Hunger Smart shakes are light yet filling. If I drink one before bed when I take my insulin I do not drop too low during the night. Unfortunately it is getting very difficult to find.

  I like the taste
Annie (Verified User)

I like the taste od chocolate with the vanilla I add a tsp of coffee extract or grenadine because I want to change the taste of vanilla Glucerna should think of making a coffee taste one, I like the shakes very much no side effects

  hoping glucerna can help me
TeeTee (Verified User)

I have diabetes type 2 and so far I only have take the pills but I found that it has suppressed my appetite to the point of being 160lbs before diagnosis to being 130lbs if that and I just want to put some of my weight back on and I was hoping glucerna can help me with that problem will it help?

  lactose free drinks
victoria padilla

do u have a lactose free drinks

Arnold (Editor)

Hey, Victoria! Because the main site only lists a few ingredients it’s difficult to say whether this product has lactose or if any others do or do not: chromium picolinate, omega-3 fatty acids, sucromalt, DAG oil, phytosterols, whole grains, and Vitamins C & E.

  product just wasn’t for me
Dian Francesca (Verified User)

Glucerna makes me very sick. After having only one this morning I suffered with the worst stomach pains I have ever had, followed by hours of intense diarrhea, and vomiting. It’s happened twice before. Never again for me. So grateful to be feeling better tonight.

Dian Francesca

This is the second time I am posting. Just to make things perfectly clear, I gave it another shot this morning, and immediately had to cancel all my plans for the day, as I got extremely sick with intense gastro pain, diarrhea and chills. I am also Type 2 diabetic. I say never again, and this time I mean it.

Victoria (Editor)

Hello. All users are different and can experience different results; please make sure to consult with your physician before continuing this product to make sure its safe and effective for you to use.

  Best time to take this
Sailesh (Verified User)

I am taking Glucerna SR and feel good. I am type 2 and workout a lot in the gym as well . I need an advice – when should I take my shake little confused I am. I take 3 scoops with my breakfast and then 3 scoops at dinner ( post my gym)
Please advice – I really recommend this to all type 2.

Robert

I started drinking glucerna daily a month a go. I have psoriasis and noticed my psoriasis got much worse after 2-3 weeks of daily consumption. Is this a side effect or coincidence?

Devon (Editor)

Possibly an adverse reaction to this formula. For the moment take a break from this product and have your doctor go over this product’s ingredients in respect to your condition.

   taking Glucerna for long time may cause diarrhea
glady fowler (Verified User)

Is it possible that taking Glucerna for a long time may cause diarrhea? my husband has diabetic#2 and having problems with diarrhea. started to be a problem about 3 weeks ago. We are trying to see what has to be changed in his diet. thanks for any help you can give. Yes we are consulting our doctor.

Anonymous

I found the product seems to have a similar effect on me. After the first day i was not able to tolerate it….L.S.

frank s

I can understand the concern for diarrhea and rightly so . Get in couch with me and I can help this problem ..

  Best drink supplement
Anonymous (Verified User)

Hi love the taste of the vanilla flavor, I had no problem, Glucerna is one of my favorite drink as I diabetic for over 23 years I found the best drink supplement every,

Anonymous

Milk is the cause of diabetis, it ruins the pancreas! Then Why you people drink these stuff?

wpDiscuz