Updated: 07/11/2017 - Site sponsored by Dietspotlight Burn
By Summer Banks Jun 19, 2017
106comments

You may be surprised by what I say in this Prevagen review. We at DietSpotlight dug deep into the ingredients, side effects, and scientific studies. Plus, we took a close look at hundreds of customer comments. Then, we summarized the facts to give you the info you need.

Prevagen Readers: Click here to find out why we're giving away samples of our product, Dietspotlight Burn.

What is Prevagen?

First off, Prevagen is an over-the-counter dietary supplement containing the active ingredient Apoaequorin. [1] Take one each morning and it supposedly improves memory, promotes clearer thinking and a sharper mind. [2] The product doesn’t contain synthetics – impressive.

Prevagen was first introduced in 2007 by Quincy Bioscience.[3] Although it’s not sold on the official website, several trusted retailers have it on the shelves. We like the longevity of the company and that we located some favorable customer comments, but read on…

Prevagen Side Effects – “Concerning?”

The first thing that concerned us were reports of Prevagen side effects. [4] “We read one review after another with claims of negative reactions,” says our Research Editor. “That’s not what the customer is looking for.”

One user complained, “Developed heart flutter about 75 days after I started taking this.”

“Upon taking my first Prevagen, within a half hour I became light headed and dizzy and my focus was worse than ever the rest of the day,” commented one user.

Another person said, “I don’t have high blood pressure and it made my blood pressure go up.”

Prevagen Customer Testimonials

User Complaints – “Another Concern”

Numerous customer complaints are posted online concerning Prevagen. One user stated, “I had a reversal of memory while taking this product. Many instances where I forgot peoples’ names in public situations.” [5]

Another customer said, “I took the Prevagen 10mg pills for 30 days and I honestly don’t notice any difference. Don’t waste your money on this.”

There are some users who saw positive results. [6]

“The change was subtle to begin with but has suddenly became more noticeable by the 4th month,” said one person.

Some felt the results were good, but the price was a little over the top. [7]

I have taken this product with positive results but I think it is too expensive,” offered up one user.

The extensive research we’ve done has revealed if there is a particular facet of a dietary supplement that’s concerning, such as too many user complaint, the probability of long-term success is low. If Prevagen does cause reactions in users, this could be a serious problem.

The Science – “Is it Legit?”

There are some studies presented on the official website that pertain to Apoaequorin, the active ingredient in Prevagen. While this is good to see, there’s no proof this product relates to weight-loss. Also, the FDA had to issue a warning about this product because it can lead to side effects. [8] At DietSpotlight, research is imperative. If the science doesn’t back the claims or support you losing weight, we raise the red flag.

Also: read our Dietspotlight Burn Weight-Loss Kit review »Prevagen Ingredients

The Bottom Line – Does Prevagen Work?

So, should you race out to buy Prevagen? Well, we like that Prevagen is easy to find and that we found, but the research not pointing toward weight-loss leaves us concerned. Furthermore, we have some issues with the numerous customer complaints, especially relating to adverse effects. [9]

Do you want to lose weight and improve wellness? Consider combining Prevagen with a supplement containing clinically-tested ingredients shown to help with weight-loss.

Among the best products we’ve seen this year is one called Dietspotlight Burn. This supplement contains clinically-tested ingredients, which have been shown to help boost metabolism and accelerate fat loss. We have not found any talk of harmful side effects and user comments indicate people are seeing substantial results.

The makers of Dietspotlight Burn are so confident in their product they’re offering a Special Trial Offer, which is a good sign.

Previous Prevagen Review (Updated June 16, 2014):

What You Should Know about Prevagen

The brain protects its cells from degradation by generating a protein that regulates cellular calcium. If calcium increases in cells, they will be destroyed. With the natural aging process, the body generates that protein in lesser amounts. Prevagen is a supplement that promotes the better health of the brain and its functions, in much the same way Focus Factor does. The product focuses on improving memory loss and protecting the brain by supplying it with a protein called apoaequorin. This protein belongs to a family of molecules that binds calcium. Prevagen can easily be bought from health food stores as well Rite Aid stores. However, the website’s online shopping page allows interested clientele to purchase the amount they want.

List of Prevagen Ingredients

The only ingredient that is mentioned on the website is the apoaequorin protein, which is extracted from jellyfish. Even the concentration of that protein isn’t mentioned in the Prevagen material.

Product Features

Prevagen claims to bind calcium in cells, thus reducing the damage which occurs when the body doesn’t produce many calcium binding proteins as it ages. Prevagen, like Vibra Slim, is designed for people 40 and older. The apoaequorin protein, which was discovered in the early sixties, is apparently responsible for the whole calcium binding process. Prevagen, along with Ambislim PM, also promotes restful sleep. This effect is a double-sided coin, as we discuss on our Prevagen Side Effects review The research conducted by the supplement’s developers supposedly demonstrated that the apoaequorin protein mainly benefits consumers by enhancing their mental clarity, honing their decision-making skills, improving their memory and helping them focus. This affect on the brain is similar to how the leptin in Leptinal impedes the hunger signals in your brain. However, these claims haven’t been confirmed by the FDA. Still, the website promises consumers positive results between periods of use from 30 and 90 days. Aside from that, the product has been approved to be kosher by two of the four main production facilities in the United States.

Advantages of Prevagen

  • The website does offer supporting evidence regarding Prevagen’s effects on memory and sleep.
  • An informative video explains how the supplements will enhance the brain’s functionalities.
  • The website directly states that it hasn’t been FDA approved, thus spares consumers the time and effort of trying to locate the FDA approval stamp.

Disadvantages of Prevagen

  • The product isn’t FDA approved. Although the website was truthful enough to mention this fact, it still isn’t a favorable factor.
  • There are no indications regarding Prevagen being free from side effects.
  • The supporting studies were limited studies, not full-scale ones.
  • The evidence supporting the product is mainly anecdotal and not quantitative.

Conclusion

Age does affect the body in various ways, and the brain is no exception. Age has a very taxing affect on the body and mind; numerous products including Nature's Pearl try to tackle this. If Prevagen is really as good as it claims to be, people will really benefit immensely. However, with the supplement’s shortcomings, caution should be taken prior to its consumption.

Prevagen is a supplement formulated to improve or support memory. There is science behind the ingredient they've chosen and while there is no connection to weight-loss, if this is an issue you're dealing with it may be a good option.

Prevagen Ingredients and Supplement Facts

Serving Size: 1 Capsule
Serving Per Container: 30
Amount per Serving% DV
Prevagen Regular Strength**
- Apoaequorin10mg*
Prevagen Extra Strength**
- Apoaequorin20mg*

Other Ingredients: Microcrystalline cellulose, vegetable capsule, salt, vegetable sourced magnesium stearate

We examined the Prevagen ingredients in order to give you the facts you want.

Apoaequorin

Apoaequorin is a protein derived from glowing jellyfish [1]. It has become a popular ingredient in some dietary supplements for weight-loss.

What Is It Supposed To Do?

Apoaequorin is consumed to treat memory, mental function, and sleep quality.

Clinical Research

When the safety of apoaequorin [2] was tested, researchers concluded, “Based on the results of this study, the No Observed-Adverse-Effect Level (NOAEL) for Apoaequorin was determined as 666.7 mg/kg bw/day, the highest dose tested.” This study was published in Food And Chemical Toxicology : An International Journal Published For The British Industrial Biological Research Association. Nothing was noted for its ability to induce weight-loss.

White Rice Flour

White rice flour is made from milled rice. It is sometimes used as a replacement for wheat flour for those who are gluten intolerant.

What Is It Supposed To Do?

White rice flour contains dietary fiber and protein, which can be beneficial to general organ health. It also contains vitamins and nutrients like calcium and zinc.

Clinical Research

According to Arya Atherosclerosis, “Although there was no significant association between white rice intake and obesity factors in our study, more studies are necessary with larger population and better design.” Nothing was stated about white rice flour.

Acetic Acid

Acetic acid is the main chemical found in vinegar. It is typically manufactured in the United States, Europe, and Japan. It is sometimes used in physical therapy.

What Is It Supposed To Do?

Acetic acid is sometimes used to treat ear infections, head lice, nail fungus, and impetigo.

Clinical Research

According to a study published in Bioscience, Biotechnology, and Biochemistry, “In conclusion, daily intake of vinegar [the source of acetic acid] might be useful in the prevention of metabolic syndrome by reducing obesity.” No studies were available concerning its individual connection to weight-loss.

One that’s on our radar is one called Dietspotlight Burn. It contains clinically-tested ingredients shown to help boost metabolism and ignite fat loss.

Prevagen Side Effects:

While natural weight-loss supplements may seem like the safer option, they still come with risk. With every formula, there is the potential for a negative reaction. Though Prevagen side effects are rather uncommon, that doesn’t mean they don’t exist for some users.

Fainting

Syncope or fainting is a sudden loss of consciousness for a brief amount of time. It may come from a sick feeling and often nausea is associated with fainting. Some injuries may be caused by fainting, since the person usually falls to the ground suddenly.

What causes fainting?

Fainting may be caused by a number of different conditions. It may be caused by heart issues, low blood sugar, anemia, seizures, irregular heartbeats, nervous system issues, genetic issues and certain medications. [1] Usually, fainting only lasts a few minutes.

Chest Pains

Any pain felt in the chest may be described as a chest pain. Not all chest pains are heart related. A momentary chest discomfort may be felt or the discomfort may only be associated with breathing. Some types of chest pain actually get better with exercise, as well.

What causes chest pains?

While a heart attack is the most common cause of chest pains, it’s not the only cause. Chest pain may also be caused by angina, aortic dissection, pericarditis, heartburn, gallbladder issues, sore muscles, injured ribs, a panic attack, shingles, pulmonary embolism, collapsed lung or pleurisy. [2] Even some medications and supplements may cause chest pain.

Tremors

An involuntary quivering movement is known as tremors. This movement may be rhythmic and may feel like a to-and-fro type of movement. Often, tremors affect the arms, hands, face, voice, legs and head. Most commonly, tremors occur in the hands.

What causes tremors?

Tremors may be caused by many different health issues including Parkinson’s disease, liver failure or alcoholism. You may also experience tremors if you suffer from arsenic poisoning or mercury poisoning. Tremors are a common side effect of antidepressants, other medications and some supplements.

Heart Arrhythmia

Any problem with your heart rhythm is known as heart arrhythmia. This happens when the electrical impulses coordinating your heartbeats are not working correctly. It may feel like a racing heart beat or like your heart is fluttering.

What causes heart arrhythmia?

While some of the causes of heart arrhythmia are harmless, some are very serious. An electrolyte imbalance in the blood may cause an arrhythmia, while a more serious cause is coronary artery disease. Changes in blood pressure may also cause heart arrhythmia, along with some medications and supplements.

Prevagen side effects are rare, but reports of fainting, chest pains, tremors, heart arrhythmia and other reactions have surfaced from some users. To ensure your protection, always speak with a doctor before starting a new supplement, especially if you’re already taking medication, suffer from a medical condition, you’re pregnant, nursing or you’re under the age of 18.

One that’s caught our eye is Dietspotlight Burn. There’s no talk of harmful side effects and it’s backed by positive customer reviews.

There comes a time when we come across a product needing more attention, like Prevagen. This time we decided to concentrate on Prevagen side effects. We delved into ingredients, clinical research and customer comments. We then refined that info to give you the bottom line.

What You Need to Know

Prevagen is dietary supplement containing the protein apoaequorin. The recommended serving size is one capsule per day, which supposedly improves brain functionality. There is limited information linking it to weight-loss. One of the benefits of the product is that it’s easy to use.

Prevagen was first introduced by Quincy Bioscience in 2007. The website states the key ingredient was discovered and developed in 1962. The supplement doesn’t appear to include synthetics, a good decision. You can purchase the product directly from the company and through other online stores. We do like that the business has a history in the industry and the favorable BBB rating, but read on…

Drowsy

The first concern we had with Prevagen side effects was that dieters felt drowsy. “When a company claims a supplement is supposed to improve brain functionality, no one expects to feel off after taking it,” offers our Research Editor. “It looks like this one may affect the user a little too much.”

“I felt like I was drugged. It made me so lethargic and foggy, I had to lie down, where I then slept for 3 hours. Even after getting up, I was still very, very brain-foggy. Very scary feeling. It’s now a week later and although the druggy feeling is subsiding a little, it is still very much present” reported a user.

“I tried taking it now for three days and have been depressed, foggy, irritable, and fatigued,” said a customer.

“I too, have had to lay down and have slept for a couple of hours, but still feel drugged and foggy. I am also getting a headache,” commented a dieter.

FDA Warnings

In October of 2012, Quincy Bioscience was contacted by the Food and Drug Administration about Prevagen. The company was cited for marketing the supplement as a drug and multiple customers had experienced severe side effects. Plus, the FDA reported that,” Prevagen, Prevagen Extra Strength, and Prevagen Professional products are not generally recognized as safe and effective.”

Heart Rate Increases

Customers commenting on Prevagen side effects said the product increased their heart rate. Several stated that they didn’t add anything to their diet except the supplement. “I could only take it for 7days because it gave me heart palpitations starting on the second day. I continued to take it as instructed because I thought maybe the palpitations would subside, but they didn’t,” said a user.

“Two months ago my blood pressure all of a sudden sky rocket to 172/100. I had made no changes whatsoever, I do not take any medication except vitamins,” reports a consumer.

“I was at work and had stroke like symptoms. The only change I had in my routine was that I started taking Prevagen a few weeks earlier,” commented another.

Our research has shown that if any part of a dietary supplement causes concern, like adverse side effects, it could inhibit chances of long-term success. If the reports about Prevagen side effects are true, this could be a problem.

The Science

The official website says the supplement is “scientifically proven,” but we couldn’t locate published clinical research supporting the claims. Even the FDA couldn’t locate science to back the company up. At DietSpotlight, locating research linking a formula to the benefits is critical. If there’s no proof it works, why bother?

The Bottom Line

After taking a close look as Prevagen side effects, we’ve come to a solid conclusion. We noticed some positives, like the length of time the company has been in business and the favorable BBB rating, but we can’t recommend it because of the lack of scientific research linking the formula to weight-loss. Plus, we’re concerned about the FDA warning letters and the noted adverse reactions.

If you’d like to transform your body, we recommend a supplement without negative side effects that’s backed by published clinical research.

One of the best supplements we’ve seen this year is one called Dietspotlight Burn. The product consists of a formula containing a four-ingredient proprietary blend, which has been shown in published scientific studies to accelerate metabolism and ignite fat loss. There’s no mention of negative side effects and consumer comments show people are seeing excellent results.

Also, the company that makes Dietspotlight Burn are so confident in the product, they’re providing a Special Trial Offer, a good choice.

Prevagen Questions & Answers:

We summarized hundreds of user comments about Prevagen into this helpful FAQ.

What are the side effects of Prevagen?

Some potential side effects of Prevagen include heart arrhythmia [1], fainting, tremors and chest pains; based on customer reviews.

What is in Prevagen?

Prevagen ingredients are apoaequorin, white rice flour, sodium chloride, magnesium stearate and acetic acid.

What is the active ingredient in Prevagen?

The active ingredient in Prevagen is apoaequorin.

Does Prevagen work?

There is scientific research proving Prevagen is effective for improving memory. Unfortunately, there’s no studies linking the ingredients to weight-loss.

How much does a bottle of Prevagen cost?

A bottle of Prevagen costs $59.95. If you buy two bottles, the price increases to $119.90. Three runs $239.80 and eight is $479.60. You receive a discount on multiple bottle purchases.

How do you take Prevagen?

You take one Prevagen capsule in the morning with or without food. One bottle lasts 30 days.

 

What do users like about Prevagen?

Some users like the affordability of Prevagen and that they receive a discount on multiple bottle purchases.

What do users NOT like about Prevagen?

We found that some Prevagen users don’t like the side effects associated with the supplement.

Who makes Prevagen?

Quincy Bioscience makes Prevagen.

 

What is the main ingredient in Prevagen?

The main ingredient in Prevagen is apoaequorin. This is found in certain species of jellyfish. [2]

Do I have to diet and exercise on Prevagen?

No, you don’t have to diet or exercise on Prevagen, but the company recommends adding healthy eating and fitness to any supplementation.

Can I purchase Prevagen at local stores?

Yes, you can purchase Prevagen at local retailers. You may not receive the multiple bottle discounts.

Has the Food and Drug Administration contacted the makers of Prevagen?

Yes, the FDA sent letters to Quincy Bioscience Manufacturing relating to mislabeling of the supplement and claims made by the company.

Is there a guarantee with Prevagen?

Yes, there’s a guarantee with Prevagen. You can return any portion of the supplement for a complete refund of your money within 30 days.

Do you know of any special deals or discounts on Prevagen?

The only discounts and special deals on Prevagen include savings if you order multiple bottles. However, our readers have been going wild over the past few months taking advantage of the Special Trial Offer from Dietspotlight Burn. Click above to learn more.

Prevagen Scientific Abstracts:

Apoaequorin

Neurons from OGD were dose-dependently shielded by apoaequorin. At doses of 1% and 4%, there was a significant reduction in number of trypan blue-labeled neurons. This time dependent effect lasted 48 hours. This effect had been mirrored by alterations in chemokine and cytokine expression, suggesting that apoaequorin could shield neurons through a neuroimmunomodulatory mechanism. This data reveals that pretreatments with apoaequorin will indeed protect neurons from ischemic cell death, and could be an effective neurotherapeutic. [1]

The study was put into place to discover if there had been adverse effects to apoaequorin in rats, after subchronic administration. The results had shown NOAEL (No Observed-Adverse-Effect Level) for apoaequorin was at 666.7 mg/kg bw/day tested at the highest dose. There had not been any mortality resulting from administration of apoaequorin. There had been no signs of body weight gain, food efficiency, food consumption, histopathological, or clinical pathology differences which could point toward apoaequorin administration. [2]

White Rice

Data was compiled from perspective and cohort studies showing the Asian populations having much higher rice ingestion levels than the West (average intake was three to four servings per day vs. one to two servings per week). Pooled relative risk was at 1.55 (95% CI 1.20 to 2.01) when weighing the highest and the lowest white rice consumption in Asian populations, and the comparable relative risk was at 1.12 (0.94 to 1.33) in the West (P for interaction=0.038). Dose response meta-analysis suggested for each serving of white rice per day the risk of type-2 diabetes was at 1.11 (1.08 to 1.14) (P for linear trend<0.001). It had been concluded that the higher intakes of white rice was accompanied with a higher risk of type-2 diabetes. [3]

Acetic Acid

There were 10 participants, all with type-1 diabetes and diabetic gastroparesis, included in the double blind trial. GER (gastric emptying rate) was measured with real time ultrasonography. The gastric emptying rate was then calculated as percentage differences in the antral cross-sectional area 15 and 90 minutes following consumption of 200ml of water and 300g rice pudding, or 200ml of water along with 30ml apple cider vinegar. The participants had ingested 200ml of water per day (GER1) prior to breakfast. The same participants had then ingested 200ml of water with 30ml of vinegar per day (GER2) prior to breakfast for a length of two week prior to measurements. In conclusion, the median values of GER 1 and 2 were both at 27% and 17% respectively. The activities of vinegar on GER were extremely significant (p < 0.05). [4]

Learn More About Dietspotlight Burn »
Summer Banks Dietspotlight Author
About the Author:

Summer Banks, a content strategist at Dietspotlight, has researched over 5000 products in the past 10 years. She has years of nursing training, experience as a manager responsible for 15 supplement brands, and completed coursework on Food and Nutrition from Stanford University. full bio.

Rating: 3.9. From 309 votes.
Please wait...

Prevagen Customers Also Bought:

Product Star Rating Patented Ingredients Less Than $5 Shipping Testimonials Money-Back Guarantee
Explanation of Chart
Dietspotlight Burn
(4.4)  
Garcinia Cambogia
(3.9)  
   
Raspberry Ketones
(3.4)  
   
Forskolin
(3.1)  
   
Apple Cider Vinegar
(2.9)  
   
Yohimbe
(2.6)  
   

Leave a comment or review

  prevagent induce seizure on an epileptic person
Jose lopez

Can prevagent induce seizure on an epileptic person

Victoria (Editor)

Hello, Jose. For questions on effects with epilepsy and seizures, please ask your physician.

Kay

I’m getting mixed messages, is Prevagen for memory or diet?

Victoria (Editor)

Hi! For detailed product and usage information, please refer to the Prevagen official website for more details.

Johnny EvangelistaYour Name

No I havn’t taking Prevagen yet. I have learning disability. since from the first grade. can it help me in a way.

Victoria (Editor)

Hello. All users are different and can experience different results, but please make sure to consult with your physician before taking this product.

Sherry young

Just started 3 days ago. Hoping it works.

Charlie

Where I can buy it in the Philippines?

Victoria (Editor)

Hi Charlie! For more information on where to purchase this product, please refer to the Prevagen official website.

i forgot my name...

i bought it..i take exams and fail due to the fact that I as I get older (I’m 37 now) I cant even remember where the grocery store is anymore let alone names from books for exams. I have been diagnosed by a neurological doctor to have pseudo dementia cusing impaired memory and speech issues remembering the right word to use ( I say “thing or thingy” ALOT instead or just plainly a different word and substitute the missing word for a different word like look at the bike “tire” and instead I say look at the …(pause)… “door”) I have taken one pill. I felt dizzy when riding my bike uphill and almost passed out..this could be due to the fact that I have an upper respiratory infection at this time however, but my jumbled words I have due to memory loss issues and memory itself has not improved by just one pill starting I took yesterday 3/23/2017 yet..will try to keep this place informed of my personal studies.

Scott A

One hundred, fifty-five peered reviewed scientific papers dating back to 1981 have been published about Apoaequorin, the claimed active ingredient in Prevagen. Most of the scientific publications describe studies involving the biochemical analysis and in vitro experimental use of apoaequorin as a basic research tool. Two publications, conducted by Quincy Bioscience, examine the safety profile of Prevagen in Sprague-Dawley rats following oral dosing. The same scientific group also treated 218 adults aged 40-91 years old for 90 days and reported apoaequorin was well-tolerated. (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26878676). The results provided in all three studies do not demonstrate that any apoaequorin is absorbed by the intestine and nor is it detected in the bloodstream. The lack of circulating apoaequorin comes as no surprise as nearly all ingested proteins are degraded into their 20 amino acid constituents prior to absorption. Allergic reactions to orally ingested proteins and their formulations is quite common as one probably knows someone with food allergies. Dietary supplements like Prevagen should not be confused with ethically developed and FDA approved medications. One can spend their money on products such as this but the reality is that there has been no demonstration of effective treatment for anything.

John

my wife has been taking Prevagen for about two months and now has had a red rash on her face and swelling on both eyes,with a burning and itching sensation

Victoria (Editor)

Hi. Please make sure she consults with her physician before continuing to take this product and let them know about the side effects she was experiencing.

MONA LEVESQUE

AT SEVENTY EIGHT I DECIDED TO INCREASE TAKING EXTRA STRENGTH PREVAGEN AND IT HAS BEEN A COMPLETE DISASTER. MY BLOOD PRESSURE HAS GONE UP AND UP , BECOMING VERY DIZZY AND NOT BALANCED. SEEING A DOCTOR SOON. MY HEALTH WAS EXCELLENT UNTIL TAKING PREVAGEN WITH THE SIDE EFFECTS.

Jonathan Singer

If your health was excellent…why did you start taking Prevagen?

Jane Patrick

I have been taking prevagen for over a year. I heard it recommended highly by a doctor who has a radio show. I did not hear anything about weight loss–and that was not my goal. Memory loss is my problem. I had no side effects. I honestly can’t say if it worked or not, because memory loss can increase with time–so I have kept taking it in case my memory would be worse without it. The last two months I took the double dose. Still no side effects or noticeable results. So I have decided to stop prevagen and see what happens. If my memory become suddenly worse, I will start again! But the price really is prohibitive. And there are other ways to help the brain . . . exercise the brain and the body, and eat a healthy diet (no sugar–lots of fish and greens) Get plenty of oxygen. I am 82 years old now, and my memory is failing, and that is normal, I guess. But if I want to live a rich and active life into old age, I will keep working at it.

Jimb

I tried it for two weeks and noticed improved speed of memory, however it was more like taking extra caffeine.. I stopped taking for two weeks as I was experiencing dizzy spells.and didn’t notice any changes with memory. Today I tried again and had dizzy spell so I will not be taking again.

Yes

Your explanation obviously flawed. Prevagen is supposed to be for memory not weight loss.

Ted Richardson

I think prevagen worked really well. I had immediate sharpness. However after 4 months of use I noticed an issue with erectile disfunction. I got off of it and everything went back to normal.

Connie

I took it for awhile and noticed a difference right away. However, I developed a rash all over my stomach and thighs. After some research I found that the ingredient from jellyfish causes rashes in some people. I stopped the prevagen and the rash disappeared within a few weeks. It got a little better everyday starting from the first full day without the prevagen.

Victoria

57 year old female, good health, heart disease in family background – both sides. Been taking extra strength Prevagen for about 18 weeks. Memory, flow of sentences, focus, (without doubt) noticeably better. Sometimes I even remember what I’d dreamt overnight…in detail ! (Something I’ve not been able to do at all for at least the last 5 years!) Blood pressure, which has always hovered around 60-70 over 110, raised to 90 over 120 this last month.. Left foot has been swollen (edema) last 6 weeks, and (embarrassed to say) incontinence – a slight issue now and then, had become far from ‘slight’.

I went off of Prevagen 6 days ago. Swelling down, blood pressure back to normal, and yes….incontinence issues waning. Go figure?! Damned if I take it, damned if I don’t. Will try cutting back to normal strength, or cutting back on dosages over next few months to see if I can reach a good midpoint between heart & bladder negatives vs. big mind positives.

Debanjan Das

This is thw worst product i have ever consumed. I took prevagen for a month and ended up havind symptoms of multiple sclerosis with fatigued leg and . My memory declined and faced visual problems. My advice is to stop production of this product to prevent further damage to people .

Katy Williams

I had a head injury that left me with memory issues and heard about prevagen helping with this type of thing so I looked up all the info I could find on it and it sounded legit so I bought some and started taking it. The first dose I got a severe headache and stomach cramps but I wasn’t sure if it was all due to prevagen so I waited two days and tried again. More headaches and stomach cramps. I read where there side effects might subside with continued use and I really needed help with memory so I tried it for a whole week straight. The bad side effects never got better. I will have to keep looking for something else. If I can remember.

Anthony

My wife suffers from dementia.When I heard about Prevagen, I began giving it to her for memory loss. About 4 months later, she fell in the bathroom and broke her pelvis. Still, I didn’t associate her fall to the drug. But in the last week, I have noticed that she is irritable and somewhat more confused about where she is. I tried taking the Prevagen myself to see what near-term effect it may have. I suffer from 75% disability with combat-related PTSD. Last night, I began reliving bad war experiences and awakened in a cold sweat. I feel anxious and paranoid. Perhaps Prevagen is contributing to her confusion and anxiety as well. Sitting here typing this, I feel dizzy and somewhat confused. One thing for sure, I’m not giving her further doses of Prevagen and I am not taking it myself.

Chris

It gave me stomach cramps and diarrhea and nausea after 2 hours.

Chris

I took one extra strength Prevagen and about 2 hours later I got stomach cramps and nausea. I had diarrhea and almost vomited at the same time. I’m very careful of what I eat. This condition was definitely caused by the Prevagen. Never again.

Luis

It gave me a really bad headache, i was feeling my heart beats literally in my head. And I dont normally get headaches

Your NameJohnny Evagelista

Tell us your thoughts about Prevagen.I’ve learning disability. my IQ is 67 can this drug help me in some way!

Victoria (Editor)

Hi! Please make sure to consult with your physician before starting a new weight-loss program or product.

RMcAninch

My vertigo increased almost immediately and my brain felt like I was swimming under water. Waste of money.
.

Your ortencia

I,ve been reading the reviews . this is my expierience with “Prevegan” I,ve read alot of positive and negative feedback my expierence was that I also purshade the product hoping to relieve or improve my memory loss. i’ve been taking this prouduct for the past two weeks and decided to stop. The first few days I did see a change on my facial expession. I kept tking it I’ve been expierencing numbness in my legs sluggish and dizziness when walking, still fforgetting the usual daily tasks, I’ve also developed a sense of paranoia, ive never felt this before. . this is what I’ve expierenced within 3 weeks usage. and you know what i not taking this prouduct anymore. Its a shame we’re all trying to feel better and taking a risk with our health our lives . For those of you who have benefitted thumbs up!! As for me Thanks but No thanks. Id like a full refund!!!. Goodluck Everyone

Peter

Me and my wife have been taking Prevagen off and on when wee can afford it for about 6 years. Not taking more than 2 months brake.We both take 30 mg in the morning.We both onw separate businesses and notice when we not taking it.We search for words in conversation and also challenge each other if we cant remember something whom can think of it first. I really don’t know about all these negative replies. Possibly the people with negative replies are to sick to take it.We both take on average between 30 and 50 pills per day and have been doing it for over 20 years. We’re in late 60’s. We only purchase it if we can buy it on line lot cheaper then in your local health store.Thanks

Polly Logan

I am 70 years young and I too take many vitamin supplements a day. Maybe with you taking a break from Prevagen it dies afford your body to have a break before any negative problems. Just my opinion. Best of continued good health.
I am a healthy female with HBP on a single water pill. No memory problems. I just thought I’d take it to avert any memory problems in the future.

Victoria (Editor)

Hello. All users are different and can experience different results; please make sure to consult with your physician before continuing this product to make sure its safe and effective for you to use.

Inge

I have been taking prevagen for four weeks the only thing I got out of it is very bad heardaches

Leisa

I started taking it 3 months ago and now have daily headaches and very high blood pressure. If it did any good, I can’t tell because my headaches are so bad!

  Don't waste your money !
Carroll (Verified User)

I have used one bottle and since I am able to trace my memory improvement via Lumosity, my memory has not increased but has decreased considerably. It was a bust and a loss of over $50.00.

Fisher

Why don’t you just be straightforward and say that there is ZERO independent scientific research to support the claims that prevagen improves memory. Research conducted by the manufacturer is obviously biased and anecdotal evidence by fisherman Bob and homemaker Gladys is simply ludicrous– whether such reports are positive OR negative. Though I believe you mean well, your analysis is simply inadequate and does not convey any useful information.

  
Mary

Scary since I had a massive heart attack. 2 years ago. My blood pressure is also slightly elevated so I would be wary of taking this esp. Since it is so expensive. Would be wonderful if it worked since I am having some short term memory problems.

  heart arrhythmia
Henry Rangel (Verified User)

I am 53,i started prevagen on march 8,I ended on ER on march 12th with heart arrhythmia

  Prevagen
Lee scerr

Made my memory much worse

  I am not interested in Previgen
Anonymous (Verified User)

Andrew: I also have Multiple Sclerosis. I am not interested in Previgen due to side effects. But why do you say MS precludes Previjin?

  Need information about possible side effects
Jean Avanzato

I would like to know the side effects from prevagen. Thank you.

Victoria (Editor)

Hello, Jean. Some dieters experienced side effects like high blood pressure, fast heartbeat, fainting, chest pains, dizziness, headache and tremors.

  Questions on how this works
Norman

Prevagen appears to be a protein (apoaequorin). Usually proteins cannot pass thru the intestinal tract and get into the body without first being broken down to the constituent amino acids. How does Prevagen avoid this problem ? If it really enters the body as an intact protein, I would be concerned about allergic reactions ?

Anonymous

basic science…people are dumb!

Victoria (Editor)

Hi, Norman. In regards to side effects perhaps leading to allergic reactions and intestinal problems, please ask your physician.

  Very Good Product
Anonymous (Verified User)

You are so wrong! I am telling you after 35 days my mind is clearer, I am more focused, I can remember things my kids can’t with no effort. This stuff is priceless!!! I feel 25 again and I am 60. Do unless you have tried it yourself you should shut up and let the rest of us help our brains.

The Princess

I’m with you it is wonderful I am more focused than ever but there is one draw back the Jelly Fish, I’m having some issues I get a rash on my arm just my right one. I hate to have to give this up. This is my second month taking Prevalent. I was taking 10mg but I moved it up. I thank I’m going to go back to 10mg and see if I have the same results. Wish me luck!!!

  I never experienced any side effects !
Tim (Verified User)

Interesting how many comments here are based solely on bashing a product that they never tried. I am a mid 40’s some guy, athletic and eat healthy, and NO I am not being paid or compensated by anyone for my views here. I have been taking this product for quite some time and can say without question that I NEVER experienced any of the so-called “side effects” listed here. Those of you critics that haven’t taken it for an extended period of time, let alone taken it at all, have no say in the matter. In fact, I have noticed that since I STOPPED taking it I have a more difficult time with simple words or names, as well as thinking straight and my ability to focus. Personally I think the side affects from many other prescription drugs are far more harmful. You people really need to settle down and try it for real, and for more than just a few days or even weeks before you have any room to criticize this product.

  Any Side Effects of This Product
Tommy Turner (Verified User)

I have been taking Prevagen for several years…almost since it first came out. I do believe it is helping but I was wondering if it could cause side effect of eye hemorrhages?

Victoria (Editor)

Hello, Tommy. Some dieters experienced side effects like high blood pressure, fast heartbeat, fainting, chest pains, dizziness, headache and tremors. In regards to eye hemorrhages, please ask your doctor.

  Garl in the Product
Anonymous

Does prevegen contain garl I c onions chives or shallots

Victoria (Editor)

Hello, please refer to the prevagen official website to obtain all of the product’s ingredients.

  Thanks for a Great Post
Peggie Zahm

Thanks for a great post

  Leg is swelling
Margie Seaux (Verified User)

I have been having swelling in one of my legs, i would like to know if Prevagen can cause this. I have found that my memory is better since taking Prevagen.

Victoria (Editor)

Hi, Margie. Some Prevagen users experienced side effects like high blood pressure, fast heartbeat, fainting, chest pains, dizziness, headache and tremors. In regards to swelling, please ask your doctor.

  trun your stool green
annie (Verified User)

does it trun your stool green?

Victoria (Editor)

Hello, Annie. Some dieters experienced other side effects other than the one you stated. Please refer to the official Prevagen website for all side effects.

  Previgin over the counter, or perscription
Ernie Jeffrey

is Previgin over the counter, or perscription ?

Anonymous

Over the counter. Should find it in the vitamin section.

  Thanks for your input
Victoria (Editor) (Verified User)

Hi Jack. Thanks for your input!

  Can my husband take this?
JoAnna

I read some one took prevagen and had a stroke My husband has high blood pressure tell me the truth should he take this??

Victoria (Editor)

Hello, Joanna. Some dieters experienced side effects like high blood pressure, fast heartbeat, fainting, chest pains, dizziness, headache and tremors. Prevagen might not be recommended for someone with a history of those symptoms. Please consult your physician for more information.

Marshall Van Meter

Prevagen is reportedly a protein extracted from jellyfish that improves brainpower. If you swallow one of these pills, the gastrointestinal tract will take this protein, break it up into its constituent amino acids, then absorb them, then the body will use the amino acids to build whatever proteins it feels it needs, not the original protein. If you are buying these pills at approximately $1.33 for 10 mg, you are paying approximately $6000 a pound for a protein supplement. Whey protein purchased at Wal-Mart or the general nutrition store is a much better buy!

Jesse

Marshal, while I was initially enthused about Prevagen I was becoming less so between the review article and the comments. Like the others said, they wondered if you were a Walmart employee. Laying that aside, you did give an option for comparison. Whey. I’ve been using that for some time because protein is supposed to help with type 2 diabetes, as I understand it. I think everyone who visits this page could help each other by researching this more and sharing their thoughts. That’s what I’m going to do.

Brian Lawliss

Is this person a Doctor? Or a Walmart Sales Assoc?

Anonymous

That’s kinda what I wanna know lml

  How to get this?
howard brinton

how do i order

Victoria (Editor)

Hi Howard. For ordering information, please refer to the Prevagen official website.

  Any suggestions where I can request
Bertha Podwys (Verified User)

I am 92 and my problem was my short memory about dates, or remembering things going from one room to another. I decided to try Prevagen Feb 1,2015. I feel that it does help my short memory. I will know more after I have my regular Dr. check up this year, who should notice a difference in my vision or when I get my regular blood check up. Do you have any suggestions that I could request on my blood check up, like calcium or etc.???Appreciate your response.

Victoria (Editor)

Hello Bertha. Please take the product with you to your appointment and advise your physician that you are taking it. They should be able to provide you with what you should request at your check up.

  suffer from ADHD
robbin rfrazier

I would like to know if this product has been tested on children that suffer from ADHD? Is it safe for children; would you recommend this product for children?

  Stroke and Heart Attack Warnings
Deb (Verified User)

I started taking Prevagen 35 days ago. My 83 year old mom has Dementia, I’m 60 and have been experiencing memory loss myself. I decided to try it after seeing your commercial and reading about it on the web. The first week I noticed a few changes. The second week I could recall dates and info more rapidly. The third week I remembered a phone number 6 days after hearing it only once in my life. The fourth week I felt younger, more focused, on task, I felt like this 60 year old was 25 again. It is a great feeling. I am worried about the stroke and heart attack warnings. I would like yo know how many people have experienced adverse effects in any way but especially stroke, seizures, heart attacks. My family doesn’t want me taking it because of the warnings. I don’t want to stop feeling like i’m 25 again. Please advise.

Victoria (Editor)

Hello Deb. Some dieters claimed to have experienced the effects of high blood pressure, fast heartbeat, fainting, chest pains, dizziness, headache and tremors. Please consult your physician if Prevagen is something you want to keep taking.

  How long it took for me to notice a change?
Todd (Verified User)

By the second month of taking it I noticed Prevagen having some effect. It wasn’t like a lightning bolt and suddenly I rememebered everything better but there has been a definite increase in sharpness with my ability to pull up words when I was taking to someone. I was hoping it would work faster and I was hestitating on a second bottle but that’s how long it took for me to notice a change.

Victoria (Editor)

Hi Todd, thanks for the feedback!

  Prevagen has helped my memory tremendously.
Glenn (Verified User)

Prevagen has helped my memory tremendously. I had to take the stronger dosage and it helped me remember names, facts at work, etc. I am 74 years old.

Victoria (Editor)

Hello Glenn, thanks for the feedback!

  This product doesn't work for me.
Bill Case (Verified User)

I am 87 year old man that is physically and mentally degraded to some extent. I have been taking Prevagen Extra Strength for many months. I have continued to lose my memory! Has Prevagen helped? Who knows? Actually, I now think it is a VERY expensive product with really no actual proof of effectiveness. My wife is three years younger, and has very similar memory problems. She DOES NOT take the Prevagen and seems to have about the same memory problems that I have. Of course that is not proof of anything, but it does NOT verify that Pregagen is so very effective!

Mark

It is likely that you have a fungus outbreak that is causing your mental decline, thereby over-riding the benefits of Prevagen. I recommend that you treat for fungus by implementing the Phase-one diet (search “Know the cause” by Doug Kaufman) then attack the fungus with anti-fungal foods and supplements.

  Loved the product.
Laurue (Verified User)

After seeing the amazing results in a friend, I asked her what she was taking and she told me about Prevagen. I had not seen her that Sharp in years! I have been taking it for about two months and have noticed a BIG difference in my cognitive ability and my memory. And, it didn’t take but one week to notice the difference. My recommendation is to buy one bottle and see for yourself – my guess is you will continue to take it. I’ve tried Omega 3’s and various fish oils and never noticed a difference. But, this product really works! My job performance has increase tremendously. Can’t say enough…even have my husband taking it now.

Helen

I am interested in this product and was wondering what age Laurue is as i noticed the more negative responses were those who were older. i am in my 50’s. That may make a difference at what point u start using this. the younger the better result? just wondering.

Phil

Hi Helen! I’m 63 and when I started trying Prevegen, I noticed a quicker recall in three days. My wife is 48 and she noticed a difference after 1 week. My favorite Aunt, who is 78 tried it and after 3 weeks, noticed the same effect that I had. It is absolutely worth a try. The the only thing you have to lose is a bad memory!

  Loved the product.
Patricia (Verified User)

My good friend started taking Prevagen a few months ago and has had a small miracle happen. She had a poor memory, and some learning disabilities that became embarrassing at her fast-paced job, but since taking it, she has noticed a huge difference. She feels so amazed by the results, she gave me a bottle. it is helping me with my post ‘chemo-brain’ fog. So much so that I splurged on a 3 month supply! I don’t go in easily for these sort of things, and sincerely don’t believe my success is the result of some placebo effect. I feel clearer in my thinking, my memory has improved, and you can’t make this stuff up!

Anonymous

This comment seemed helpful

  Will it be harmful for health?
Anne Wyckoff

Al,

While I’ve had the same concerns as you (+17 years of medical study involving pathology), there IS something odd happening to some consumers. I, for one, am very immune to the “placebo effect,” yet after trying this for 2 weeks, I suddenly woke up with name-recall. My son noticed this, because I had to ask him names constantly in the past. I wouldn’t have tried prevagen if I’d looked into the molecular structure first, however (a rare lapse in judgement)
Do you think there’s a possibility that the EDTA is chelating something harmful with some people? I noticed another positive review from a scientist who used it for a trial but then stopped. It bewildered him as it does me.

  Product is quite expensive for me
Nadine Anderton

I always suspect nutritional supplements that come from exotic (like jellyfish) sources rather than from food-obtained nutrition. This allows the makers and distributors to make big bucks – something like the pharmaceutical companies? It sounds good, but it totally unavailable to someone like me on a very limited income. So I guess I’ll just have to die from my brain problems, which may or may not turn out to be Alzheimers.

  Information about amino acid effects
Alexander

Amino acids cross the blood-brain barrier. Whole proteins do not. Any beneficial effect of apoaequorin is lost as soon as it is digested into amino acids like any other protein. It is simply untrue to claim that apoaequorin taken orally has any effect in the brain whatsoever.

Joyce

Have you actually taken it?

  Questions about amino acids
JK Freeze

Jason says “Disregarding the sketchy clinical trials cited, the active ingredient is a protein compound (Aequorin) that gets broken down upon digestion into its component amino acids. While Aequorin certainly does bind calcium, even if it did survive digestion it is unlikely to pass the blood-brain barrier”

Jason, being a bio-chemist, you DO know that ALL amino acids pass the blood brain barrier, don’t you?

also, Prevagen does NOT contain EDTA.

Ed B

Check the label…it has EDTA

  Feeling worse
sherry oglesby (Verified User)

seem to feel worse on this my thinking isworseand ihave an increasted bp
what do others say

  Prevagen experience
Joy zuer (Verified User)

Thank you for the reviews. Upon taking prevagen, lots of energy, could stay focused, but could not sleep on this product. Independent studies would make it morally sound. Don’t you think?

  Need more information about calcium metabolism
MaryA

How does it affect Calcium metabolism in bones? Jellyfish don’t have bones!

BC

Good point Mary

  anzhaime
Maria Steiselboin

A person with advance diseace like anzhaime this can help, or is too late?

  anzhaimer
Maria Steiselboin

A person with anzhaimer deseace in advance state this can help? because she can’t talk o walk?

emily

could this supplement help migraine headache or headache pain?

  can you lose weight from it ?
RClayborn

Since it is a dietary supplement,can’t you lose weight from it ?

wpDiscuz