Updated: 06/13/2017
By Summer Banks May 31, 2017
100comments

I’m here to cut through the noise and get you to the bottom line on Smooth Move Tea. We decided to pay a bit more attention to ingredients, side effects, clinical research and quality of customer service. Additionally, we will pick apart hundreds of dieter comments and reviews. Then we’ll summarize and refine to give you the info you need.

Smooth Move Tea Readers: Click here to find out why we're giving away samples of our product, Dietspotlight Burn.

What is Smooth Move Tea?

First off, Smooth Move Tea is an herbal supplement containing senna, [1] licorice root, bitter fennel, sweet orange peel, cinnamon bark, coriander fruit and ginger rhizome. The recommended serving is one cup of tea every 6 to 12 hours, which supposedly relieves occasional constipation. [2] You can drink the beverage cold or hot, one plus.

There’s no information as to when Traditional Medicinals introduced Smooth Move Tea, but the supplement appears to include only natural ingredients, a good sign. The product is available to purchase on the official website and through trusted retailers. We like the favorable BBB rating and that some customers report good results, but read on…

Ineffectiveness – “Losing Weight?”

The first concern about Smooth Move Tea ingredients were that they didn’t work. “The whole purpose of a product like this is to get things moving in the bathroom [3],” said our Research Editor. “Not only is it not worth it to spend money on something that doesn’t work, it can be frustrating.”

“I have drank this tea for 3 days in a row and I have still not gone to the bathroom,” said a consumer.

“Doesn’t work as they advertise,” commented a customer.

On the other hand, we found that some users did notice that the product worked.

“Smooth Move Tea did the job,” commented a customer.

FDA Warnings – “Concerning”

In March of 2001, the Food and Drug Administration contacted Traditional Medicinals about labeling. The FDA stance was that the company used claims that defined the product as a drug used to treat rather than a supplement. The information has since been removed from the website.

Smooth Move Tea Side Effects – “Positive or Negative?”

According to reviews of Smooth Move, there are concerns about side effects. [4] “All I got after taking it was abdominal cramps 8 hours later with no ‘smooth move’,” reported a customer.

“Never again…there is nothing smooth about this tea…Caused a stomach ache,” commented a dieter. [5]

“While some users experienced side effects, there are some users that didn’t notice any adverse reactions.

“I didn’t experience negative side effects from Smooth Move Tea when I drank a glass of water afterward,” stated a dieter.

“Had to go to the bathroom more, but that’s what it’s supposed to do,” mentioned another.

Based on our research and experience, side effects from ingredients such as senna, [6] could restrict long-term success. If users experience Smooth Move Tea cramps, is the product worth it?

The Science – “Clinical Backing?”

There’s a wealth of information relating to the benefits of Smooth Move Tea on the official website, but the company doesn’t provide published clinical research showing a connection with weight-loss, which is what we found with ingredients like senna. [7] This is a concern, especially when dieters are reporting side effects. At DietSpotlight, locating studies to back claims is imperative. If there’s no science, we turn our back.

The Bottom Line – Does Smooth Move Tea Work?

So, is there a rush to buy up all of the Smooth Move Tea? We like that the product contains natural ingredients and that we found some positive consumer reviews, but we have reservations about recommending it because of the lack of scientific research linking the formula to weight-loss. Plus, we’re concerned about comments of ineffectiveness and side effects.

If you want to lose those extra pounds, our recommendation is a supplement that is backed by published scientific research with no reported negative side effects and no interest from the FDA.

Among the best products we’ve seen this year is our product called Dietspotlight Burn. The formula contains four ingredients clinically-tested, with results found in publications such as The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. 

Also, we’re so confident that you’ll love our supplement, we’re offering a Special Trial Offer, which is a great sign.

Smooth Move Tea is marketed as a natural solution for constipation.

Smooth Move Tea Ingredients and Supplement Facts

Serving Size: 1 Cup brewed tea
Serving Per Container: 16
Amount per Serving% DV
Organic senna leaf**
organic licorice root**
Organic fennel fruit**
Organic sweet orange peel**
Organic cinnamon bark**
Organic coriander fruit**
Organic ginger rhizome**
Organic orange peel oil on gum arabic**

Other Ingredients: None

We spent some time researching Smooth Move Tea ingredients to provide you with the important details.

Organic Senna Leaf

Also known as cassia angustifolia, senna leaf is an herb that comes from a fruit plant. Over the centuries, it’s been used to make medicine. It is often used in teas, cleansing supplements and weight-loss products.

What is it Supposed to Do?

To begin, senna leaf contains chemicals called sennosides. These components irritate the lining of the colon, which in turn causes bowel movements. That’s why this herb is often used as a laxative to relieve conditions like constipation. Furthermore, it’s claimed to help with weight-loss by reducing bloating and retained water.

Clinical Research

According to the Food and Drug Administration, “this leaf extract has been shown to be effective at treating constipation.”[1]

Organic Licorice Root

A variety of plant extracts are used in diet supplements and weight-loss products. One of them is licorice root. This herb is also called glycyrrhiza glabra, and it’s been used in herbal medicine for many years.

What is it Supposed to Do?

There are some claims that licorice root helps decrease body fat mass. It is also said to lower stress levels, soothe the stomach and boost immune system health. This herb is found in a number of cleansing supplements and weight-loss pills.

Clinical Research

According to the July 2003 issue of the Therapeutic Advances in Endocrinology and Metabolism, “The effects of licorice on 15 participants of normal weight. These individuals consumed 3.5g per day of a commercial licorice preparation for two months. Body fat mass decreased while body mass index did not change.”[2] Therefore this herb may help reduce body fat mass.

Organic Fennel Fruit

Firstly, fennel fruit is a plant ingredient that has been used for centuries. It’s often found in alternative medicines to relieve flatulence, indigestion and coughing. This component is found in all sorts of teas, weight-loss products and cleansing supplements.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Typically fennel fruit is claimed to aid the digestive tract, promote regularity and relieve bowel problems. It may also help reduce appetite. It contains vitamin B6, which helps with energy metabolism.

Clinical Research

Unfortunately there does not appear to be a direct connection between fennel fruit and weight-loss. On the other hand, PubMed.gov says, “Fennel seed oil has been shown to reduce intestinal spasms and increase motility of the small intestine.” Therefore this herb may improve intestinal health.

Is There Anything Out There That We Think TRULY Works?

One supplement that shows some real promise is Dietspotlight Burn. It offers key ingredients that HAVE been clinically tested. Moreover, every customer can take advantage of a Special Trial Offer, that’s available.

Smooth Move Tea Side Effects:

Weight-loss supplements have become increasingly important in our society. However, natural and herbal products are thought to be safe, even though this is not the case. Every ingredient list comes with the potential for issues. Although everyone does not feel Smooth Move Tea side effects, some have had different experiences.

Abdominal Cramps

Sometimes known as a stomach ache or simply cramps, abdominal cramps are known as pain in the torso region, specifically in the lower abdomen.

What Causes Abdominal Cramps?

Some common causes of abdominal cramps include kidney stones, muscle injury, indigestion, constipation, gas, irritable bowel syndrome, urinary tract infections, menstrual pain, heartburn, and acid reflux. However, it important to seek medical attention if one experiences sudden weight-loss, bloody stools, or vomiting while having abdominal cramps.

Diarrhea

Diarrhea is a condition experienced through loose, watery, and frequent bowel movements. Other signs of this symptom include nausea, bloating, abdominal pain or cramps, dehydration, or discolored stool [1].

What Causes Diarrhea?

There are many underlying reasons for the onset of diarrhea, including bacteria, medication use, lactose, artificial sweeteners, digestive disorders, and surgery. If it lasts for extended periods, it may cause other more severe health problems.

Dehydration

Dehydration is a serious health condition in which there is a lack of water in the body. It is deemed more critical for young children and older adults.

What Causes Dehydration?

Although dehydration is inherently caused by a lack of water, other health issues may lead to its onset, even if the individual drinks a proper amount of liquids. Some of these include intense exercise, hot weather, vomiting, and diarrhea.

Increased Urination

Increased urination, also called an overactive bladder, is characterized by frequent urination. It can disrupt sleeping patterns, work schedules, and school if experienced long-term [2]. Although it can happen to anyone, it usually occurs in older adults.

What Causes Increased Urination?

Common causes of increased urination include medication use, urinary tract infections, alcohol abuse, and issues with the prostate.

Smooth Move Tea side effects don’t always occur, but there have been reports of abdominal cramps, diarrhea, dehydration, and increased urination, just to name a few. It’s always a good idea to consult a medical doctor before taking a supplement to avoid any unexpected issues, especially if you are already taking medications, are under 18, are pregnant or nursing, or have a pre-existing medical condition.

 

Smooth Move Tea is all about helping get the bowel moving, thus the name. Some dieters use a cleansing supplement like this to jump start weight-loss. Though rare, it is important to take the few reported side effects we found into consideration.

 

“I took it before bed and about ten hours later I got horrible gas and cramping which led to me hurrying to the bathroom soon afterwards for a very crampy and unpleasant bowel movement.”    Kelly

 

“At precisely 4.5 hrs after taking this tea, I had sudden severe nausea and cramping. By 5 hours, I was violently vomiting while experiencing the laxative effects.”    Emily

 

“I have been in excruciating pain for 14 hours from drinking one cup of this tea. The worst part is that it did not cause me to have a bowel movement (which is the whole reason I took the tea).”    Barry

 

“It only irritated my stomach and made me a little nauseated.”    Bri

 

“Nothing happens, only this burning and terrible pain in your stomach. Then about 20 minutes later another urged appears.”    Sarena

 

“I had a cup a little after 6 this evening, and near bedtime began getting painful lower abdominal cramps that I’m still awake at 2 am for and gritting my teeth through.”    Lyndsay

 

“I woke up in the middle of the night with incredibly painful abdominal pain and nausea that lasted until almost 1:30pm the next day.”    Christina

 

“I’ll have bowel movements for about an hour or 2, on and off and the rest of the time is just cramping, nausea, etc with no results. I spend a day at minimum recovering from it.”    Skylar

 

“It does make me a bit nauseas.”    Tom

 

“It is not very gentle. It doesn’t simply “get things going,” it can cause uncomfortable cramping (all night long) and diarrhea.”    Madeline

 

Cleansing is supported by some fitness and weight-loss experts, but any results are short-term. If you’re looking for a more long-term solution, we suggest a clinically tested supplement like Dietspotlight Burn. We love the ingredient list and user reviews all over the web talk about losing.

Smooth Move Tea Questions & Answers:

We looked at hundreds of customer comments and user reviews pertaining to Smooth Move Tea and created this helpful FAQ.

What are the side effects of Smooth Tea?

Possible Smooth Move Tea side effects, based on customer comments, include abdominal cramps, diarrhea, nausea, stomachache, dehydration [1] and increased urination.

What is in Smooth Move Tea?

Smooth Move Tea ingredients are organic senna leaf, organic licorice root, organic bitter fennel fruit, organic sweet orange peel, organic cinnamon bark, organic coriander fruit, organic ginger rhizome and organic orange peel.

What is the active ingredient in Smooth Move Tea?

The active ingredient in Smooth Tea is organic senna leaf [2].

Does Smooth Move Tea work?

The key ingredient in Smooth Move Tea is senna leaf, which is considered a natural laxative. There are clinical studies that support it, but only to help with constipation. This could help promote regularity, but it’s not the same as weight-loss.

How much does a bottle of Smooth Move Tea cost?

The cost of a bottle of Smooth Move Tea is $4.99 (16 bags/servings).

How do you take Smooth Move Tea?

You take one Smooth Move Tea bag, place in boiling water, steep for 10-15 minutes and drink prior to sleep.

Who makes Smooth Tea?

Traditional Medicinals makes Smooth Move Tea.

How do I contact the Smooth Move Tea customer service department?

You can contact the Smooth Move Tea customer service department by calling 1-800-543-4372, sending letters to Traditional Medicinals 4515 Ross Rd. Sebastopol, CA 95472 or emailing traditionalmedicinals@worldpantry.com.

Can I contact Smooth Move Tea through social media?

Yes, you can contact Smooth Move Tea through Facebook and Twitter.

Can I use Smooth Move Tea if I have a health condition?

If you have a health condition or are taking a prescription medication, you must speak with your doctor prior to using Smooth Move Tea. You should not use this tea if you are under the age of 18 years old, are pregnant or are nursing a child.

What do users like about Smooth Move Tea?

Some users appreciate that Smooth Tea helps with more regular bowel movements and that it contains USDA organic ingredients.

What do users NOT like about Smooth Move Tea?

Some users do not like the actual taste/flavor of Smooth Move Tea. Also, some people have complained about unpleasant side effects, as well as having difficulty with bowel movements once they stop using the tea.

Does Smooth Move Tea contain caffeine?

No, there is no caffeine in Smooth Move Tea.

What does Smooth Move Tea taste like?

Smooth Move Tea is described as sweet and slightly bitter with spice notes and an orange-citrus flavor.

How long does Smooth Tea take to work?

You should experience results within 6-12 hours after drinking your first cup.

Does Smooth Move Tea come with a guarantee?

Yes, Smooth Move Tea comes with a guarantee. You’ll need to reach out to the customer service team prior to returning the product.

Do you know of any special deals or discounts on Smooth Move Tea?

There are deals and discounts on Smooth Move if you order more than $45 or sign up for recurring shipments. However, the last few months many of our readers have been going crazy about Dietspotlight Burn’s Special Trial Offer, which is just the cost of shipping and handling.

  • References
  • 1. Dehydration (2016). Mayo Clinic. December 20, 2016.
  • 2. SENNA (2009). WebMD. December 21, 2016.

Previous Smooth Move Tea Review (Updated June 18, 2014):

Smooth Move Tea - What You Should Know

Smooth Move Tea contains laxative ingredients to relieve occasional constipation. The official Smooth Move website sells tea by the single package or the ½ case. Information found online about Smooth Move Tea main ingredient, Senna, states that Senna should not be used for more than 10 days. Unless the dieter is planning on reselling the product, having a ½ case of laxatives on-hand could lead to laxative addiction and difficulty passing waste without the use of a laxative.

Smooth Move Tea also includes ingredients that are known to cause serious health problems, especially for people using prescription or over the counter diuretics. For $5.49 per package, he dieter could be taking a risk that could end in health problems and serious side effects. Smooth Move Tea comes in organic and chocolate.

List of Ingredients in Smooth Move Tea

Smooth Move Tea Organic: Organic Senna Leaf and Extract, Organic Licorice Root, Organic Bitter Fennel Fruit, Organic Sweet Orange Peel, Organic Cinnamon Bark, Organic Coriander Fruit, Organic Ginger Rhizome and Orange Peel.

Smooth Move Tea Chocolate: Organic Senna Leaf, Breadnut Seed, Organic Licorice Root, Cocoa Seed and Organic Carob Pod.

Product Features

Senna is an ingredient that works to increase bowel movements by gathering water from the body like a diuretic. One concern with using Smooth Move Tea is the inclusion of licorice root in the ingredient list. Licorice root, when taken with another ingredient with diuretic effects, can lead to seriously low potassium levels. The heart needs sufficient potassium to beat and control blood pressure. If potassium reaches risky levels, blood pressure could rise dramatically and death can occur. Both Smooth Move Tea varieties include licorice root as an ingredient. Despite the other ingredients, there is no reason to trust a supplement that can cause death.

Recently, more and more dieters are turning to laxatives to increase weight loss. Most will find the scale dropping dramatically for the first few days, but this weight loss is attributed to water loss and not fat loss.

Smooth Move Tea: The Advantages

  • Temporary weight loss.

Smooth Move Tea: The Disadvantages

  • Senna can work in the body as a diuretic.
  • Licorice root, when taken with a diuretic, can cause severely low potassium levels.
  • Laxatives are not a healthy weight loss choice.
  • Losing water weight does not last after laxatives are stopped.

Conclusion

Smooth Move Tea, and other Smooth Move products, contain a dangerous combination of ingredients. When Senna and Licorice Root are taken together, dieters and consumers can experience heart problems, increase blood pressure, impaired kidney function, impaired function of muscles and nerves. No weight loss or laxative supplement is worth taking if the combination of ingredients can lead to serious health risks. Senna is also linked to dependence, which is another reason to stay away from Smooth Move Tea.

Smooth Move Tea Scientific Abstracts:

Senna Leaf

An undisclosed number of male albino rats were administered 500 milligrams of two herbal supplements containing only Senna obtusifolia and Cassia sieberiana root to test its laxative effects. At this dosage, the rats were able to increase their bowel movements significantly, especially when supplemented senna leaf. Researchers concluded the herb could have the potential to act as a laxative, which might, in turn, lead to weight-loss. [1]

Licorice Root

40 patients suffering from peptic ulcers were administered 250 milligrams of licorice three times a day for a month after being administered bismuth sub nitrate at the same rate for the same amount of time. Doctors tested the healing rates compared to other methods of treatment and found that licorice root improved healing rates in a shorter amount of time. These conclusions suggest that the substance might be able to have a beneficial effect on the immune system. [2]

Bitter Fennel Fruit

Young pigs were fed a standardized diet supplemented with either 7.5 grams of formic acid, 100 milligrams of fennel oil, 100 milligrams of caraway oil, or a placebo product. This treatment started after weaning finished for a total of three weeks. After treatment, the animals ceased supplementation for four weeks. Researchers found that pigs supplemented with the fennel oil experienced appetite suppression at rates up to 50%. [3]

Cinnamon Bark

Male albino rats were fed either a controlled or a high-fat diet. Those fed a controlled diet were split into two groups, one supplemented with cinnamon bark extract at a high dose and one without. Rats fed a high-fat diet were fed no supplement, a high dose, or a little dose of the cinnamon bark extract. The treatment lasted for a total of 60 days. Results from this study found that the supplement was able to control glucose metabolism better, which might lead to weight loss if combined with diet and exercise. [4]

Learn More About Dietspotlight Burn »
Dietspotlight Author
About the Author:

Summer Banks, a content strategist at Dietspotlight, has researched over 5000 products in the past 10 years. She has years of nursing training, experience as a manager responsible for 15 supplement brands, and completed coursework on Food and Nutrition from Stanford University. full bio.

Rating: 3.7. From 157 votes.
Please wait...

How Does Smooth Move Tea Compare?

100 User Comments
Average Rating
 3.9
36 Verified Users
5 Star
47.368421052632%
47%
4 Star
13.513513513514%
14%
3 Star
30.769230769231%
31%
2 Star
9.0909090909091%
9%
1 Star
40%
40%

Leave a comment or review

Good job
Wendy Cicerelle (Verified User)

Works great for me!

  Risky
Carol (Verified User)

Caused bloating and blood in my stool. I will not use it again.

judie

I have had Smooth Move every night for about two years. worked well. But seemed to not work now. can you get immunned to it?

  Take This While Pregnant
shagufta

Can I take this while pregnant?

Maribel (Editor)

Hello Shagufta, because of possible interactions with pregnancy, please make sure to consult with your physician before taking this product.

Anonymous

No!! It can cause miscarriage because it causes your bowels to contract. Do not take while pregnant!!

   bags of tea
Tom Antoine

Am thinking if to buy some bags of tea
for my patients…

Sunny Your Name

I love it! It’s better than the harsh otc laxatives that’s on the market!!! I highly recommend it!!!!

Anonymous

Can you take this while pregnant?

Maribel (Editor)

Hello, because of possible interactions with pregnancy, please make sure to consult with your physician before taking this product.

Anonymous

No!! It can cause miscarriage because it causes your bowels to contract. Do not take while pregnant!!

Elaine S

I think a half cup would be sufficient for me.

  Willing to Deal with The Constipation
vonhock (Verified User)

About to try it & wanted a little info.I think I’m more scared of the tea & willing to deal w/the constipation…..,thanx!

Lorena Mendenhall

Works great . Just have to let it steep for about fifteen minutes and drink before bed . You’ll go the next morning . I have had constipation my whole life , and ive tried many different things this is the best for me by far .

Dee

I use this anytime I’m backed up, or if I want to guarantee that in the morning I’ll have a bm. The secret to this is to steep it for longer. I do it anywhere from 30 min to an hour and then drink it. It gives me bad cramps, but it works. I drink it before bed and I have to go in the am. works everytime!

Tammi

I totally give Smooth Move Tea five stars it have not failed me yet! the taste is great and it does just what it says it does Smooth Move. I have a bowel move with in 3 to 6 hour I totally recommend it.

De Griff

Smooth move works!!! After being constipated for days and enduring HORRIFIC CRAMPS from being impacted I decided to give Smooth Move a try.( Please note: This was not my first time ever using smooth move, I’ve used it in the past with just minumul results.) This time, however I double the dosage drinking 2 cups instead of 1 at bedtime. The next morning I drank 24 ounces of warm water and by 10 am things were MOVING on out!!!! And by 3 pm MORE things were moving on out!! Also around 6 pm my final load for the day MOVED right on out!!! Smooth Moves works!!!! Sometimes you gotta double the dosage to get better results!!

Angela L

Smooth Move tea works wonders. My OB-GYN told me to try it 7 years ago when i was pregnant with my 3rd child after i told him i was adding fiber supplements and it had the opposite effect on me. I have IBS with constipation, and no matter how much water i drink, or how much i exercise I do, or how much coffee i consume, i normally only have a BM once every week to week and a half, and if im lucky i go twice in a week. so i started smooth move 7 years ago, when it didnt work in 12 hours i drank another cup , bad idea, I was miserable that night, but everything came out, so after that, i drank it about every 1-2 weeks, only 1 cup, and for me it works in about 18 hours. i havent used it in awhile, but bought some 2 days ago because im tired of feeling and looking 4 months pregnant, when im actually quite fit, they now have peppermint, and it tastes much better than the others, i drank it at 6pm, and emptied out at 10am the next morning, so im going back to drinking it once every week or 2. I would suggest, NOT using it daily though.

Regine Michaels

During the 2016 holidays, I wound up in the emergency room with a lower bowel blockage, I had had the flu previously and not eaten much or well for about 2 to 3 weeks which may have led to my horrible bout with constipation…After a painful retrieve, of the cement like stool, that was blocking me from emptying, I was told to try Smooth Move by the nurses who worked on me! So as to not have another awful episode as the one I have just had, I am using it every evening for now, it works as they say, but it took a couple days to start but as soon as I feel regulated, i will try to use it only once or possibly twice a week only! I never relied much on laxatives before but I am trying to pay attention to eating well and now to also drinking a lot of water, which I never did much before and messed up my kidneys because of it So far, it has helped me greatly…

Karen wedt

Works
Was constipated, smooth moves worked great for me

Diane Walker Crowder

This tea is AWESOME!!!! If you dont have a bowel movement after taking this tea, then there may be something else wrong.

Jasmine

Works very well! I have been using for about 3 months . 1-2 times a week when needed ! I eat pretty healthy overall. But one weekend I had a horrible eating high calorie diet and that Monday morning after my normal night glass of smooth move I was cramping more then normal. so I will say , better “smoother” results with a good diet ! Lesson learned lol

Ernest

I am so happy with this product. I had relief after using the first day. My problems were very bad. It worked so well that I cancelled my appointment with the gastroenterologist that has been working with me for the past nine months. Great stuff.

Laura

Smooth Move, from my understanding is NOT supposed to be used frequently (every day or after every meal), but occasionally. I read that you should not use it for more than 3 days straight. And it’s not supposed to be used for weight loss. No laxative ever should. That leads to anorexia and malnutrition. I have needed to use Smooth Move once a month to help things move along when my digestive tract slows down and creates painful gas and constipation. I find when my water is not hot enough or I don’t steep it long enough (10-15minutes), then it won’t have the same effect. And there is some pain as things start moving, , but that’s due to it helping break down the fecal matter and the gas will also start moving. Some cramping can be expected when you are backed up and have severe, painful gas. But the cramping isn’t near as bad as long suffering, in my opinion.

Bottom line…. just like with any meds, do NOT abuse it and prepare and take it properly and it should work well. And NEVER take laxatives for weight loss. Healthy, natural foods (veggies and fruit and lean meats) is the way to go! If you have the ability to walk or exercise, find something you love and do it. Get out and enjoy even the littlest things in nature. Exercise doesn’t have to equal misery! ????

Feliciao

LOVE smooth move ! Been using it for about a yr. only do it once a week if that and it works amazing every time ! I tell
All my friends about it !!

Judith

I have Lynch Syndrome, which requires me to have annual, yes annual colonoscopies. I battle with chronic constipation, to the point where I was writhing in pain and could not zip my pants. I was instructed by my gastroenterologist to take Miralax twice a day; doing so, did not work. Laxatives resulted in cramping and all night bouts of diarrhea. I tried Smooth Move tea, thinking I would try just about anything. WOW. Thank GOD for this tea. I drink it once a day and you could set your clock to my schedule, now. I whole heartedly disagree with this review.

Renee

I don’t know how old this comment is, but I am happy to read it. I have IBS-C, nothing OTC seems to work and I have just started trying Smooth Move tea. I have had some cramping so far, but it’s nothing compared to what I have had in the past just on a regular basis (seriously, I have almost blacked out from the pain). The urgent care doc wanted me to try meds that were $300/month, because he said he couldn’t think of anything else to do. Here’s hoping the tea will work for me… so far no signs, but that’s pretty par for the course. I am hoping once things get going I can maintain it with the tea.

And I agree, not a good plan for dieters. A misuse of the item, in my opinion.

Marie

This tea really works!

Dsrlene

worked wonderfully for me!

JUDIE

BEEN DRINKING IT FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS AFTER DINNER. HAS ALWAYS WORKED WELL UNTIL NOW. STOPPED WORKING NOW

Kathy

I had surgery 7 weeks ago & the meds made me constipated. Smooth Move tea has worked like a charm. It takes about a week to kick in so I started drinking it a week before my surgery. It works fantastic!

ERICA, 30

Sometimes I have issues with contispation and have been using Smooth Move for a few years now. I’ve actually become pretty regular but when I begin to eat unhealthy I definitely need something for relief. I drink one cup at night and I’m ready to go in the AM. Sure there is some cramping but nothing too different from cramping when you have to go on your own. Works well for me, no complaints and love that it comes in a variety of flavors.

Anonymous

This stuff is amazing!! I agree that having a healthy diet helps. The more unhealthy you eat the more cramping you will get. Also you have to make sure to drink lots of Water if you are cramping but not actually having a bm:
I use this product every night and when I wake up I’m ready to go. I also eat pretty healthy so I’ve actually been able to loose weight.
This product is the best I always keep extras in my purse incase I travel or anything lol

Rebecca

I’ve been using Smooth Move every now and then for a few years, when feeling backed up or needing to flush my system to get rid of the additional bloat from backed up food in the intestines for work related reasons. There is definitely some discomfort right before it causes a bowel movement, but it has always been successful at producing a movement.
I would not say that it helps in losing weight caused by subcutaneous or visceral fat, but it does help rid the body of water weight and backed up food.

MM

This product works for me.
It does cause a little big of cramping in the stomach– but it’s not unbearable.
For those of you who are using it daily &/or for weight loss– you’re misusing the product! Your body will easily become dependent on it to rid itself of waste.
I have a cup probably twice a month just to give myself a little extra boost.
Anything more (unless for constipation) is over doing it.

Not sure why it wouldn’t work for those who are using it correctly.
I recommend the salt water flush 4 cups of water w/ 2-3 teaspoons of sea salt; you can use kosher too… as long as it doesn’t contain iodine. Good luck xo

Devon

21 year old here. My mom bought the stuff a little while ago. (By little while ago I mean a couple years) Was eating a lot of crappie recently so I wanted to flush out my system and start fresh. It works fine for me, sure the stomach getso upset anot hour before toilet time but it isn’t an issue. Started drinking it once a week actually lost a couple pounds. That’s just my experience.

Sandy

I agree with some people about having a healthy diet on top of using this product. Most people out there may not have great diets and expect this natural tea to help however, it may not. As a nutritionist, I have a healthy diet and probably eat more than the recommended fiber and water (1 gallon/day) but still struggle with constipation. This stuff works for me so far. Drink a cup at night and in the AM… “smooth Move”.

Laura

Smooth Move, from my understanding is NOT supposed to be used frequently (every day or after every meal), but occasionally. I read that you should not use it for more than 3 days straight. And it’s not supposed to be used for weight loss. No laxative ever should. That leads to anorexia and malnutrition. I have needed to use Smooth Move once a month to help things move along when my digestive tract slows down and creates painful gas and constipation. I find when my water is not hot enough or I don’t steep it long enough (10-15minutes), then it won’t have the same effect. And there is some pain as things start moving, , but that’s due to it helping break down the fecal matter and the gas will also start moving. Some cramping can be expected when you are backed up and have severe, painful gas. But the cramping isn’t near as bad as long suffering, in my opinion.

Bottom line…. just like with any meds, do NOT abuse it and prepare and take it properly and it should work well. And NEVER take laxatives for weight loss. Healthy, natural foods (veggies and fruit and lean meats) is the way to go! If you have the ability to walk or exercise, find something you love and do it. Get out and enjoy even the littlest things in nature. Exercise doesn’t have to equal misery! ????

Vevemundo

i am reading and doing research a about Smooth Move Tea. In Brazil, I drank a tea called TE PLAN 30 Dias., that helped me when I was feeling heavy, full or constipated. I did chemo time ago and now all is good, but to drink a tea here in USA now is kind of difficult and I think I cannot bring from Brazil the tea works for me. So, I will try this because from editor note and comments general it is 50/50. But the principal ingredients is Cassius/senna. The bad part I still felling nauseas when I drink tea, but I don’t know what to do while medicines as oils and some diet didn’t help me to relief the belly/ bath 🙂

Pauline

Smooth move is the best product i have ever used for my constipation, it works like a charm,one cup at nights, and yes a rush to the bathroom in the mornings, no cramping no problem, i love this product.

Anonymous

Yes I agree completely and I do have UBS and no side reflects other than some giggling ! I drink it at night and in the morning I can see and get the results

Bri Brewer

Are people seriously complaining about the pain ummm hello if you eat unhealthy then you better expect some pain its pushing toxins out of your body this product does exactly what is spposed to do I use it almost everyday I have also dropped several lbs!!!

Angelina

I love this tea. It flushes out my system whenever I feel bloated and slightly constipated or not having regular bowel movements. I’m overall a very healthy eater and have a low-carb diet with mostly proteins, fruits and vegetables. Believe I have stress & tension related to constipation and irritable bowel. For me this loosens everything up enough to get me back to regular again. I use it about once a week and recommend It to other people. Just like with any product out there, some all-natural products work for people and sometimes they don’t – especially true if they’re severely constipated and/or have an unhealthy diet overall. They might need a harsher processed laxative which contains chemicals in it – which is really unhealthy for your body but it will also force you go to the bathroom! People who tend to eat healthy foods and a diet full of fiber but still get constipated may just need to increase their water intake. Without enough water, fiber is like cement in your gut. FYI!

SharonYour Name

Two bags steeped for 15minutes at 9pm and 24hr. Later all i recieved was cramps and nausea all dayTell us your thoughts about Smooth Move Tea.

Victoria (Editor)

Hello Sharon. All users are different and can experience different results; please make sure to consult with your physician before continuing this product to make sure its safe and effective for you to use.

Your Name Ms. Carr

Just heard about Smooth Move a few weeks ago and tried the peppermint flavor. I’m not big on tea but decided I would try it with a touch of lemon and glad I did. It tastes great and worked wonders for me. Considering my struggle over the years, the slight cramping and outcome was well worth the try. I plan on drinking it once a week and have already recommended it to others. Good stuff!

Dee

So I took this tea before bed last night. I woke up with intense stomach cramping and off and on diarrhea all day long. I’ve been in bed all day due to it. Would not recommend…

Singer

I took it after being constipated for about 5 days I bought this tea. I let it steep and I drank it after my breakfast. I really like the taste. About 6 hours into it I had stomach cramps and then that night I actually went… then I never drank it again but I went the next morning and the one after and now it’s like I can go two times per day and I love that I don’t feel bloated anymore. It definitely works for me.

  It did not work !
Carol (Verified User)

I completely agree with this article. Smooth move did not work. I paid $4.78 for it so I’m not happy. I should have gone to the Asian store and bough their dieter’s henna tea for less than half the price because those work.

NiKKi our Name

It works for me..You have to eat healthy while taking it . Eat a nice serving of KIDNEY beans daily and drink lots of water and have two and a half cups of veggies daily. Recommended dose and that should help ..

wpDiscuz