Updated: 07/18/2017
By Summer Banks Jul 13, 2017
145comments

Diet products either work or they don’t. Period. Let’s find out which one GNC Lean Shakes is. We took the time to write a detailed review, examining the ingredients, side effects, customer service and clinical research. Moreover, we focused on dozens of dieter comments posted online. Finally, we condensed and refined to give you the bottom line.

GNC Lean Shakes Readers: Click here to find out why we're giving away samples of our product, Leptigen.

What are GNC Lean Shakes?

To start, GNC Lean Shakes are meal-replacement powders. The ingredients include milk protein concentrate, nonfat dry milk, creamer, natural and artificial flavors, sucralose, acesulfame potassium and a vitamin and mineral blend. This product supposedly encourages lean muscle mass and boosts metabolism. Simply add two scoops to eight ounces of cold water and drink twice per day. You can make it at home and take it with you anywhere. [1]

GNC Lean Shakes have been available since 2009 and are sold online, as well as in stores. These shakes provide a significant amount of fiber and are available in several different flavors, but read on…

Expensive – “Way to High?”

The first problem we encountered with GNC Lean Shakes ingredients were price. According to our Research Editor, “GNC Lean Shakes are a very pricey product when you consider the fact that a single container provides 16 servings, which is only enough for 8 days. The price tag is $34.99, which means you will spend almost $140 a month.”

“This tastes bad! And the jug only lasted me a week!,” said one customer. [2]

Another stated, “I can’t afford this. There are cheaper protein supplements that contain more protein.”

Sometimes the cost is not what matters most to the dieter, or they believe the product is worth it. One buyer said, “I know other meal replacements and shakes that are way cheaper than this but doesnt taste as good.”

We also found a buyer that claimed, “Tasty flavor, better than average price.”

Unpleasant Taste of GNC Lean Shakes – “Another Concern”

There are literally dozens of customer complaints regarding the taste of the GNC Lean Shakes. For instance, one user said, “Tastes too sweet with artificial sweeteners.” [3]

Another complained, “This is the worst tasting powdered meal replacement I’ve had.”

Yet another said, “Taste is very bad. Very Chalky. Not worth the price.”

The problem with protein products like GNC Lean Shakes is that one person may not like the flavor and another may love it. A happy customer said, “I like the taste. Good stuff.”

One buyer offered, “It tastes good mixed with milk.” [4]

According to our research, if there is one facet of a supplement or diet program that is very troublesome (unpleasant taste, serious side effects, high price) the probability of long-term weight-loss success is very low. If GNC Lean Shakes are difficult to swallow, this could be problematic.

The Science – “Clinical Support?”

According to the official website, GNC Lean Shakes are “clinically proven” to aid with weight-loss. However, we at DietSpotlight couldn’t find any documented research to support these claims as they apply expressly to this product. There are plenty of similar formulas on the market with scientific support, as long as the dieter maintains a low-calorie diet plan. We must see real evidence concerning the supplement and weight reduction in order to believe promises. [5]

The Bottom Line – Do GNC Lean Shakes Work?

Hmm, what should be say about this one that’ll sum it up for you? We appreciate that GNC Lean Shakes provide a significant amount of fiber to assist with regularity and appetite suppression. However, we have reservations about this supplement because it’s not backed by solid clinical research. Furthermore, the amount of protein in a serving of this is quite minimal (only 9 grams). Also, if you used this it as directed, twice a day, it would cost you nearly $140 a month. Not to mention, there are countless customer complaints about the taste.

If you want to slim down and rock your best body, we encourage you to choose a diet supplement that is both affordable and backed by real clinical results. It helps if you don’t have to worry about dealing with bad taste.

Among the best products we’ve seen this year is one called Dietspotlight Burn. This diet formula contains a unique blend of four ingredients, which have been shown in documented clinical studies to improve fat loss and increase metabolism. We are unable to find any discussion of harmful adverse effects and dieter reviews posted on the web indicate people are seeing wonderful results.

Also, the company behind of Dietspotlight Burn is confident enough in their product to offer a special trial offer, good sign.

Previous GNC Lean Shakes Review (Updated February 11, 2014):

What You Should Know about GNC Lean Shakes

A popular product distributed by GNC (General Nutrition Center) is the GNC Lean Shake. This is said to be one of the products of this well-known and trusted supplement industry designed to promote weight loss. Not surprisingly the company is in good BBB standing. The GNC Lean Shake is a healthy meal replacement proven effective for weight loss. The shake increases your muscle mass and promotes good metabolism. The meal and exercise plan is said to be scientifically-researched and designed.

List of GNC Lean Shakes Ingredients

One serving of a GNC Lean Shake is a rich source of sodium, potassium, phosphorous, Vitamin A, magnesium, calcium, folic acid, iodine, and biotin. Other ingredients include the following: saturated fat, soluble fiber, cholesterol, dietary fiber, sugars, protein, Vitamin E, Vitamin C, iron, thiamin, Vitamin B-6, riboflavin, niacin, Vitamin B-12, pantothenic acid, copper, zinc, selenium, manganese, chromium, and molybdenum. A comprehensive list of ingredients is available through the GNC website. The product contains milk, corn, and soybeans.

Product Features

GNC Lean Shakes come in a few different flavors. They include vanilla bean, Swiss chocolate, cookies and cream, and strawberries and cream. As a meal replacement shake, users are instructed on the label to take two scoops (48 grams) and mix it well with 8 ounces of cold water. This is done twice daily while following the included meal and exercise plan. GNC Lean Shakes are clinically proven. According to the official GNC website a randomized study of 98 healthy participants studied and compared the effects of those merely eating 1,500 calories per day versus those on the Lean Shake plan (1,500 daily caloric intake, regular exercise, and the two lean shakes daily). They conducted this study over twelve weeks. Results showed that participants on the Lean Shake plan lost nearly twice as much total weight (7 lbs versus 4 lbs) and had four times greater reduction in cholesterol. A 1.7 lb. bottle of Lean Shake costs $29.99 through the official GNC website. It is $23.99 when purchased with a Gold Card. It is also possible to purchase this product in twelve packets for $23.88 ($19.10 with Gold Card).

Advantages of GNC Lean Shakes

  • Recognizes the importance of healthy eating and regular exercise as part of weight loss.
  • Product is clinically-proven to increase weight loss.
  • Users report it is easy to use, effective, has a good smell, is lightweight, and is a good value.

Disadvantages of GNC Lean Shakes

  • Some users report that is tastes bad.
  • Some users are disappointed with how long the package lasts. The 1.7 lb bottle only provides sixteen shakes, enough for eight days. Continuous purchasing will burn a hole in the wallet.
  • Weight loss claims may be inaccurate.
  • Users report that it has poor texture.
  • Lack of before and after photos on official website.

Conclusion

GNC Lean Shakes are a popular way of bringing about weight loss in your life. Many users would recommend it to their friends and report that it is easy to use, effective, has a good smell, is lightweight, and a good value (more info on their wikipedia page). However, users also report disappointment with product longevity, thereby forcing them to spend more money to purchase a new package of the Lean Shakes. Like most meal replacement bars and shakes, it may leave the consumer hungry. Do not expect it to please your taste buds as a powder mixed with water.

GNC Lean Shakes offer 180 calories, 9g of protein, 30g of carbohydrates (4g of sugar), 8g of fiber and 2g of fat. Taking the ingredient list and nutritional facts into consideration, there looks to be too many carbohydrates and not enough protein.

GNC Lean Shakes Ingredients and Supplement Facts

Serving Size: 2 Scoops
Serving Per Container: 16
Amount per Serving% DV
Carbohydrate Blend**
- Maltodextrin**
- Oat Bran**
- Cellulose Powder**
- Gum Blend**
- Xanthan Gum**
- Carageenan**
- Resistant Starch**
- Fructooligosaccharides**
Milk Protein Concentrate**
Nonfat Dry Milk Creamer**
Vitamin and Mineral Blend**

Other Ingredients: Natural and artificial flavors, sucralose, acesulfame potassium

We dug deep into the GNC Lean Shakes ingredients to give you the details you need.

Fiber

Fiber is naturally found in a variety of foods, and is either soluble, meaning it dissolves in water, or insoluble, which means it does not. The body requires both types for optimal health, and both are included in this product.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Fiber helps regulate the digestive tract, and keeps you feeling fuller longer. It can also help remove cholesterol [1] from the body.

Clinical Research

According to a study published in Nutrition Reviews, “The observed changes in energy intake and body weight occur both when the fiber is from naturally high-fiber foods and when it is from a fiber supplement. In view of the fact that mean dietary fiber intake in the United States is currently only 15 g/day (i.e., approximately half the American Heart Association recommendation of 25–30 g/day), efforts to increase dietary fiber in individuals consuming 25 g/day may help to decrease the currently high national prevalence of obesity.”

Protein

Protein is a necessary macronutrient. It can be found in meat, dairy, and many fruits and vegetables.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Protein [2] plays a role in many bodily processes, but is the main building block of muscle. Without enough in your diet, you will struggle to lose weight.

Clinical Research

According to a study published in The New England Journal of Medicine, “Several trials showed that low-carbohydrate, high-protein diets resulted in more weight loss over the course of 3 to 6 months than conventional high-carbohydrate, low-fat diets.”

Vitamin A

Vitamin A refers to a group of fat-soluble retinoids and related chemicals. It can be found in carrots and other orange vegetables, as well as meat, fish, and dairy products.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Vitamin A is involved in several bodily functions, including immune function, vision, cellular communication, and reproduction. It supports cell growth and differentiation, and thus is important to the normal formation and maintenance of organs such as the heart, kidneys, and lungs.

Clinical Research

According to a study published in The Journal of Experimental Medicine, “The specific tissue changes which follow the deprivation of fat-soluble vitamin A in albino white rats and in the human concerns epithelial tissues. This effect is the substitution of stratified keratinizing epithelium for normal epithelium in various parts of the respiratory tract, alimentary tract, eyes, and paraocular glands and the genitourinary tract.”

B Vitamins

There are eight total B vitamins, which are necessary to optimal health.

What is it Supposed to Do?

B vitamins play a role in nearly all bodily processes, including energy production, normal nervous system function, metabolism, and more.

Minerals

Minerals are things like calcium, potassium, and magnesium that the body needs in trace amounts for optimal health and function.

What is it Supposed to Do?

Each mineral plays a key role in overall health, and when minerals become imbalanced, various health problems can result.

GNC Lean Shakes Side Effects:

GNC Lean Shakes are meal-replacement shakes that are supposed to help fill you up and you’re your appetite. Though it is not common, we went out to find proof that side effects can still happen.

 

“Just had my first shake this morning and 30 minutes later my stomach started making noises…[I] can feel the gas build up in me.”    Brianna

 

“[it] made me a little “gassy”.”    Lea

 

“It irritates my stomach. My stomach gas and discomfort problem are serious after every time I drink it.”    Yvonne

 

“It made me super bloated and irritated my stomach.”    Teresa

 

“[this] protein may leave you bloated/gassy as it does with me.”    Melissa

 

“[it] did not fill me up at all and left me feeling hungrier than I normally would.”    Eve

 

“I’m having a great migraine, pain in my lower abdomen, and feeling sleepy [because of the shake].”    Aouss

 

“I’ve been taking this for a week now and I am having diarrhea and gas pains…”    Chris

 

“Minutes after drinking one I get really werid chest pains…”    Brooke

 

“I noticed extreme bloating and bouts of severe diarrhea which is often without warning and hard to control.”    Dawn

 

Natural or herbal weight-loss supplements are often thought to be safer than other alternatives, but this simply is not true. Every formula comes with the potential for issues, even the ones with herbs. The side effects reported for GNC Lean Shakes do not affect all their consumers, but some individuals have had some problems with this product.

Upset Stomach

An upset stomach is the sensation of pain, burning, or general discomfort in the abdominal region. Some of the symptoms that can be associated with this symptom may include heartburn, nausea, gas, and belching.

What causes an upset stomach?

An upset stomach is usually caused by irritation in the stomach. This irritation can be caused by many other factors, like eating too much, allergies, or sicknesses like influenza.

Gas

Gas is gastrointestinal distress that causes air to be expelled through the anal cavity. Some things that can help treat this issue are diet changes, medications, and even reducing air swallowing.

What causes gas?

According to the International Foundation for Functional Gastrointestinal Disorders, “Gas in the digestive tract (the esophagus, stomach, small intestine, and large intestine) comes from two sources: swallowed air and the normal breakdown of certain undigested foods by harmless bacteria that are naturally present in the large intestine.” [1]

Bloating

Bloating can be characterized by gas buildup in the stomach that does not or cannot be released. Abdominal pain can be associated with bloating as well.

What causes bloating?

Fatty foods, smoking, stress, eating too quickly, intestinal bacteria and viruses, and eating gassy foods are the most common causes of bloating. Some diseases and infections can also contribute to it.

Diarrhea

Diarrhea is a symptom that involves watery, loose, and frequent bowel movements. The University of Maryland Medical Center mentioned that, “Acute diarrhea is uncomfortable, but usually is not serious and will go away in a few days on its own. You should see a doctor, however, if your stool contains blood, if the diarrhea is severe, or if it lasts more than a few days.” [2]

What causes diarrhea?

Causes of diarrhea may include reactions to medications, sweeteners, and dairy products, especially if the individual is lactose intolerant. The side effects of GNC Lean Shakes are not guaranteed, but there have been reports of upset stomachs, gas, bloating, and diarrhea, and more. To protect yourself from potential problems, it is always the best idea to consult with your physician before taking any supplement, especially if you’re taking prescription medications, are under 18, have a medical condition of any kind or are pregnant or nursing.

  • References
  • 1. Controlling Intestinal Gas (2015). International Foundation for Functional Gastrointestinal Disorders. November 6, 2016.
  • 2. Diarrhea (2016). University of Maryland medical Center. November 6, 2016.

GNC Lean Shakes Questions & Answers:

We narrowed down hundreds of user comments about GNC Lean Shakes into this helpful FAQ.

What are the side effects of Lean Shakes?

GNC Lean Shakes side effects may include headache, cramping, bloating, thirst, irregular bowel movement and nausea, as reported by some dieters.

What is in GNC Lean Shakes?

The ingredients in GNC Lean Shakes are carrageenan [1], fructooligosaccharides, maltodextrin, xanthan gum, cellulose gum, oat bran, resistant starch, milk protein concentrate, nonfat dry milk, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, maltodextrin [2], vitamins and minerals.

What is the active ingredient in GNC Lean Shakes?

The active ingredient in Lean Shakes is a carb blend of maltodextrin and oat bran.

Do GNC Lean Shakes work?

The company claims GNC Lean Shakes are clinically proven but there’s no links to research supporting this information. There are studies suggesting protein is beneficial to weight-loss, but nothing links to this particular formula.

How much does one bottle of GNC Lean Shakes cost?

One bottle of GNC Lean Shakes costs $34.99. Each bottle contains 16 servings or eight days worth.

How do I take GNC Lean Shakes?

You should take two scoops of GNC Lean Shakes, twice per day.

What do users like about Lean Shakes?

People liked that GNC Lean Shakes are readily available and that you can consume it on the go.

What do users NOT like about GNC Lean Shakes?

We found that some users of GNC Lean Shakes reported side effects and no weight-loss. There are also comments about cost compared to other protein powders.

Who makes GNC Lean Shakes?

The makers of GNC Lean Shakes is General Nutrition Centers.

 

Are GNC Lean Shakes gluten-free?

The ingredients in GNC Lean Shakes don’t specify gluten, but the product is not gluten-free.

How many calories are in GNC Lean Shakes?

GNC Lean Shakes contain 180 calories per serving.

How many grams of protein are in GNC Lean Shakes?

There are nine grams of protein per serving of Lean Shakes.

If you reach your goal weight, do you stop using GNC Lean Shakes?

No, you can continue to use GNC Lean Shakes as a meal-replacement or for nutritional support.

Are GNC Lean Shakes a muscle builder?

GNC Lean Shakes are designed to help you lose weight, not gain muscle.

Is there a guarantee on Lean Shakes?

Yes, there’s a guarantee on GNC Lean Shakes. If you aren’t satisfied, you can return the product for a full refund within 30 days.

Do you know of any special deals or discounts on GNC Lean Shakes?

You may find savings if you order online or sign up for the gold membership to receive special pricing.

GNC Lean Shakes Scientific Abstracts:

Oat Bran

The diet containing oat bran cereal significantly decreased serum total cholesterol and serum LDL-cholesterol when compared to corn flakes by 5.4% (p < 0.05) and 8.5% (p < 0.025). The body weights at the end of the study were similar. It was concluded that ready-to-eat oat bran cereal delivered a practical way to infuse soluble fiber into a diet and ultimately reduce serum cholesterol. [1]

Resistant Starch

Results from the study indicate that long-term consumption of raw potato starch elevated crude protein and mucin in pig colons (p < 0.05), as well as reducing total amino acids, tryptamine, ammonia-nitrogen, phenol, branched-chain fatty acid, indole, cresol, and skatole concentrations (p < 0.05) in comparison to the corn starch diet. It was shown that raw potato starch diet up-regulated mucin gene expression MUC12, MUC5AC and MUC4 within pig colons (p < 0.05). In conclusion, it was found that consumption of raw potato starch could enhance the hindgut health by raising mucin secretion and decreasing wild protein fermentation. [2]

Fructooligosaccharides

When a comparison in values before treatment and after the treatment occurred, substantial decreases were noticed for every parameter except for NEFA and glucose. When these decreased were compared to control and test groups, substantial differences were observed only for haptoglobin (T before versus T after 1545 versus 605 mg/l, P = 0.03; C before versus C after 1635 versus 1400 mg/l, P = NS). There were good correlations between total plasma cholesterol and haptoglobin and between TAG and haptoglobin before, however not following the weight-loss program. It was concluded that giving obese dogs an energy-restricted diet triggered substantial weight-loss and decrease of blood parameters. There was, however, lower serum haptoglobin as well as subclinical inflammatory conditions within the test group, but not control. [3]

Milk Protein

Dairy could very well improve metabolic health in an indirect manner as well as a direct manner. This could happen by helping weight-loss and fat mass via enhanced satiety while aiding skeletal muscle growth and function. This is due to the anabolic effects of dairy protein-derived BCAAs (branch chain amino acids. These BCAAs improve lean body mass, muscle protein synthesis, and skeletal muscle metabolic actions. The avenue which dairy protein is processed and composed has a direct impact on absorption, digestion, branch chain amino acid kinetics and function. Therefore the optimization of dairy protein composition via a combination of individual protein components in milk could deliver a way for increasing benefits of metabolic health. [4]

Get Your Sample Today »
Summer Banks Dietspotlight Author
About the Author:

Summer Banks, a content strategist at Dietspotlight, has researched over 5000 products in the past 10 years. She has years of nursing training, experience as a manager responsible for 15 supplement brands, and completed coursework on Food and Nutrition from Stanford University. full bio.

Rating: 3.3. From 284 votes.
Please wait...

GNC Lean Shakes Customers Also Bought:

Product Star Rating Patented Ingredients Less Than $5 Shipping Testimonials Money-Back Guarantee
Explanation of Chart
Dietspotlight Burn
(4.4)  
Garcinia Cambogia
(3.9)  
   
Raspberry Ketones
(3.4)  
   
Forskolin
(3.1)  
   
Apple Cider Vinegar
(2.9)  
   
Yohimbe
(2.6)  
   

Leave a comment or review

  
Anita Krulic (Verified User)

The GNC shake made me so sick that I couldn’t even think about the second shake of the day (this is day one). I had severe gas, bloating, stomach cramps, I became irritable and very hungry. I will not use it again.

Samantha Lafontise (Verified User)

For better results what is best to drink it with fat free milk or water ?? I can’t stand the taste w water ..

Montana (Editor)

Hi Samantha! For more information on how to make the GNC Lean Shakes for better results, you should consult their official website.

Verma

Do you have to be a certain age to take the Lean Shake 25?

Lee Evans

I lost my weight (45 lbs) and I started at 69 – I’m now 70 – feel great, and blood tests show great results!

Everly

Hi Verma! For detailed product and usage instructions, please refer to the GNC Lean Shake official website for more information on age limits.

  Can I drink this as regular protein shake?
Adrian

Hi. Can I drink this as a regular protein shake after weight lifting or will this still make me lose weight? :/

Devon (Editor)

Well, firstly this shake wouldn’t be what you’d want in a workout shake as it doesn’t contain essential proteins, nor performance enhancing ingredients in its formula. This supplement is claimed to aid in weight loss, not post-workout recovery.

  GNC Lean Shakes
april

Can I take the shake with plain yogurt?

Stephen (Editor)

There shouldn’t be a problem!

  
Aragsan (Verified User)

Do u guys take food stamp for lean shake.?

Your Name terry

I like this product it helped me with my weight lost especially the French vanilla

kisha

Can my 8 & 9 year old children drink this?

Stephen (Editor)

Hi, Kisha! Most dietary supplements are formulated for adult bodies. Please consult with you children’s pediatrician to see if this product will help them.

GNC Lean Shakes
Pam Shanfield

does lean shakes have probiotics in them?

Maribel (Editor)

Hi Pam! For more ingredient details, please refer to the GNC Lean shakes official website for more information.

  help me lose weight
Deb (Verified User)

Im trying gnc lean shake 25- I am using to substitute breakfast. will it help me lose weight?

Stephen (Editor)

Hi Deb. It’s fine to replace your breakfast. The program suggests replacing two meals with it. As far as weight loss we have a few concerns with the lack of clinically proven results and dieter’s claims of bad taste.

Weianne

Hi there. I just bought GNC Lean Shake ( Vanilla ) Can I take the shake with dutch lady milk or soy milk ?

Devon (Editor)

Either is fine for your needs.

Can i Drink this in Breastfeeding
Mona Alabdi

Can I drink thing if I’m breastfeeding

Anonymous

I know I’m nursing too and wonder if it’s safe but I haven’t found anything to say other wise hope they respond soon

  How to make shakes?
Anonymous (Verified User)

How do I make a shake, how much powder do I use and is it w water

Anonymous

I mix mine with skim milk. It tastes better. I do 2 scoops, and 10 oz skim milk in a Blender bottle.

Jasmine UFC

no hun you can NOT!!!

Anonymous

You “can NOT” what?

Renee

I dont buy the powder. I buy tge reafy to drink shakes. I put them in the freezer for about 30 minutes before drinking and it gives it a slushy consistancy. I’ve tried the swiss chocolate, strawberries and cream, and snickerdoodle and love them all! They are a little pricy, but worth it to me. The protien bars are also good.

Fatimah Hafer

Helpful article – I Appreciate the points

Sarah

I have been drinking the lean shakes for almost two years now. I only use one scoop, two is just way too much for my liking. I mix the breakfast scoop with my coffee and the second drink I have for lunch mixed with just water. I eat dinner sensibly (usually under 900 calories). I lost 140 pounds. It can work if you follow the plans. It’s hard work and yes I’m hungry all the time but I’m now a completely different person and I have gnc to thank for that

Shawn

Orange Cream is pretty good, I squeeze an orange into two servings and add water. Tastes good to me, I liked the French Vanilla too.

Dove

I love the banana flavor lean 25. My question is will using the shakes alone and drinking 2 for whichever meal chosen to replace..do I need to take anything else with this like a fat burner to lose weight or will the shakes work alone?

Victoria (Editor)

Hi Dove! For detailed product and usage instructions, please refer to the GNC official website for more information.

Javier

i was wondering if you drink the total lean shake burn prior to working out early morning and then drink the total lean meal replacement after for breakfast would that be good to lose weight? Or could the lean shake burn be also used for meal replacement? That’s what one of the employees said.

Victoria (Editor)

Hi Javier! For detailed product and usage instructions, please refer to the Probioslim official website for more information.

  
Aouss Fatima (Verified User)

I have a question. I bought this item in france and i didn’t really understand the instructions, so i drank the milk shake with water instead of milk, so now i’m having a great migraine, pain in my lower abdomen, and feeling sleepy. Please i need help, will this continue?? And whag does this effects means ??. I need a quick answer please!?

Devon (Editor)

Sometimes these symptoms arise as your body tries to accustom itself the whatever formula you’re taking. You’re not alone; other dieters sometimes report headache, cramping, bloating, thirst, irregular bowel movement and nausea. They say these can fade or lessen over time. If they do not however, please seek medical attention.

  Do we need to workout also ?
Lauren r Name

Do you need to workout with this shake ? Or do you just drink it as a meal replacement and the weight comes off

Stephen (Editor)

Your chances of weight loss greatly improve when combined with regular exercise, however GNC Lean Shakes doesn’t require a workout plan.

  Works well !
CKD (Verified User)

Tell us your thoughts about GNC Lean Shake.

OK I used Lean Shake 25 as a Meal Replacement since August. I recently stopped using it about a month ago as I am at a level I want to be at so I do not need meal replacement any more, I am eating food all day now.

Yes the Shakes must be blended in a blender to taste good, especially the vanilla. Use 3-6 ice cubes with water or milk in every shake.
The Chocolate is great.
The Cookies and Cream needs milk or Vanilla carbmaster milk.
The Vanilla is not for me but is ok if blended.
The Bery is good if you add additional frut to it, I did not like it on it’s own.
Banana is good!! Milk or Water
Chocolate is the way to go in my opinion, you can blend it super thick with ICE and Milk and eat it like a frosty. Or you can use Water and a few ice cubes for thickening and drink it like a milk shake (without milk).

Does it taste bad??? Nah… SOme Flavors I didn’t like but I didn’t find the taste Horrible.

I never got Diarrhea, or chest pains or dizziness. Tjere were days I ate 600 Calories of food and Drank 3 shakes a day.

EXPENSIVE?? YES – do not buy from GNC unless your a gold member or they are having a sale.
I ended up waiting for black friday where it was $21.00 a container and bought 20 of them.
WHen I needed refills I also bought from ebay, sellers (nutrition stores who buy and resell from GNC) sell for black friday prices all the time 21/23 shipped a container. This is also a good way to get different flavors.

Does it work?? WELL yes and NO.
If you have/eat a Diet regimen that is 500 Calories UNDER your Maintenance weight and use this 1 to 3 times a day you will loose weight and pretty quickly. I did 1300 calories a day for the first 3 months drinking 2-3 shakes a day. The rest of my diet was Chicken, (protein) Beef, ect… Broccoli, and Greens. Very little Fat and Carbs (one sandwich of chicken a day where the bread, rye, was my carbs) . Of Course your diet will differ. Yes you need to exercise too. All I did was walk for 1 hour a day (EVERYDAY) at 2.5-3.5 MPH as I started loosing weight I used a Treadmill and started to use the incline for more calories to burn. During the late summer and Early Fall I was also taking night walks where I would push the kids in a stroller (good resistance) for 1-2 miles and go at a pace that I did not break a sweat at all, just a calm relaxing walk. Yes that 1-2 miles extra a few nights a week helped too. When IT got cold I stuck with just Walking on a treadmill. YES, again I did it every day and I still do 8 months later.

Do you weight train…?
I do now, But not when I started. THe Lean Shake and Walking and 1300 Calories was all I did from June – September. I went from 212 to 178. Then I had a whole different Regine where I was still doing 1 maybe 2 lean shakes a day but a whole new routine for weights and such.

When I stopped using lean shake I just cracked the high 140’s in my weight.

I still have a shake Now and then (I keep one chocolate container in the closet and but again when I run out) But I only have one on days where I feel like I had too much food the day before and I want something to keep me full and be low calories (200 or less) but be filling.

Bee

That was good testimony, feel better after reading

  I am super happy !
ELIZABETH (Verified User)

Tell us your thoughts about GNC Burn and Lean Shake.
I bought this 4 days a go and has an ok taste….
I am losing pound per day
I am super happy

   I have lost 2.5 lbs in these 3 days.
Lindsay (Verified User)

Hello! I am on day 3 of the GNC Lean shake. I bought French Vanilla and Rich Choc. I use it twice a day and mix it with skim milk. I have lost 2.5 lbs in these 3 days and feel great! They taste awesome and keep me full for about 4 hours! I am very happy about this product! It curves my carb cravings through out the day and gives me energy. Nice to see results right away 🙂

  I lost 27lbs in 3 months !
KatieCT (Verified User)

I have been drinking the Total Lean 25 Shakes (the pre-bottled, premixed that come in a 4-pack) since Jan. 4, 2016. It is now March 5, 2016 and I have lost 27 lbs. in 3 months. I am a female, age 50, 5 Ft 7. I need to lose another 30-ish lbs. I started at size 18 and now in a size 14 (tightly). I hope to get down to a size 10. I am giving myself until September 2016. I drink one at lunch each day with nothing else. I drinks lots of water throughout the day at the office. I eat a low carb diet, usually a cheese omelet in the morning and for dinner either chicken, fish or beef with vegetables like broccoli, cauliflower or salad greens (I stay away from sugar, sweets, flour, pasta, bread, fruit, etc.). I have not exercised whatsoever, but will begin to do so as I start my 4th month (probably do 40 mins. on treadmill daily to start, then add in strength training). Like some have mentioned, I had 2 incidents with diarrhea upon my first few days of drinking Total Lean 25. I have not had any problems since. Sometimes when I drink the shake too quickly, I will feel bloated afterwards, but for the most part all is good. It keeps me full until about 6:00 p.m. at night. I started out drinking the Strawberry, Banana and Pumpkin Spice. I now drink the Swiss Chocolate. I like the pre-bottled shakes, because I can grab it in the morning as I am always in a rush to get to work and pack it in my handbag. Lunch time rolls around, I just shake up the bottle and put a straw in it and I am good to go. No mixing, no powder, no fuss. 170 calories, 25 grams of protein, can’t beat that. Tell us your thoughts about GNC Lean Shake.

Bathalomme

thank you KatieCT! You’ve inspired me ????

Dorothy

I purchased the total lean protein podwer…cookies and cream….and planning on tasting french vanilla…but I been doing great ..I have one for breakfast on the go and 1 during lunch time….it makes it easier for me to get my protein and still not be hunger….and for dinner I have a my dinner…I a salad plate of whatever I’m going to eat…nothing …different of my dinner had to change…but my portion size cause I change my plate size…which don’t give me room to put much food on my plate….so I’ve been on it for 2 weeks and I lost 5 lbs…..I drink plenty of water.throughout the day..and after shake..because of it thickness…for digesting…but I’m going to try the vegan vegetable and the French vanilla together with 1 scoop each….to get my vegetable in take when I’m not eating enough veggies…I would probably be on this product for long term….it’s easy…and satisfying…for on the go.

  Fantastic Product !!!
KathyCT (Verified User)

I have been drinking the Total Lean 25 Shakes (the pre-bottled, premixed that come in a 4-pack) since Jan. 4, 2016. It is now March 5, 2016 and I have lost 27 lbs. in 3 months. I am a female, age 50, 5 Ft 7. I need to lose another 30-ish lbs. I started at size 18 and now in a size 14 (tightly). I hope to get down to a size 10. I am giving myself until September 2016. I drink one at lunch each day with nothing else. I drinks lots of water throughout the day at the office. I eat a low carb diet, usually a cheese omelet in the morning and for dinner either chicken, fish or beef with vegetables like broccoli, cauliflower or salad greens (I stay away from sugar, sweets, flour, pasta, bread, fruit, etc.). I have not exercised whatsoever, but will begin to do so as I start my 4th month (probably do 40 mins. on treadmill daily to start, then add in strength training). Like some have mentioned, I had 2 incidents with diarrhea upon my first few days of drinking Total Lean 25. I have not had any problems since. Sometimes when I drink the shake too quickly, I will feel bloated afterwards, but for the most part all is good. It keeps me full until about 6:00 p.m. at night. I started out drinking the Strawberry, Banana and Pumpkin Spice. I now drink the Swiss Chocolate. I like the pre-bottled shakes, because I can grab it in the morning as I am always in a rush to get to work and pack it in my handbag. Lunch time rolls around, I just shake up the bottle and put a straw in it and I am good to go. No mixing, no powder, no fuss. 170 calories, 25 grams of protein, can’t beat that.

  Today was my first day !!
Fabi (Verified User)

today was my first day trying the shakes I did two and regular dinner, but I’m using the skim milk and I’m having a horrible diarrhea. I don’t know if using soy milk or almond milk will make a different because really want to try this shake .. Any advice please

Stephen (Editor)

Some dieters say these effects fade as your body acclimates to the formula, however this is an indeterminate amount of time. If these issues persist we recommend you stop them and consult your doctor, Fabi.

Heather

does the total lean vanilla bean contain caffeine or stimulants?

Victoria (Editor)

Hi! For detailed product and ingrediens information, please refer to the GNC Lean Shake official website for more information.

MarMar

Could just be from all the dairy in this shake.

  A little too sweet for my taste
Michele (Verified User)

I just started using the GNC Lean Shakes, in the Swiss Chocolate flavor. I noticed in some reviews that the pwder did not have a good texture. I bought the bottles. I thought it was a little too sweet though good chocolate flavor and nice creamy texture. Though I will use what I bought, I don’t think I will purchase more Swis Chocolate flavor as I don’t want SUCH a sweet shake. I may try a different flavor before I totally discontinue using it however. Good luck to all :o)

bee

Yes I do find it a bit sweet

  GNC Lean Shakes
munira (Verified User)

Hi there.I was using herbalife and noticed I was losing alot of weight so I stopped it.My main goal is to gain muscle and not to lose weight at all.i gym 5 days a week and need to build muscle.So I bought Gnc lean 25.Im hoping that it will help with muscle gain and not losing weight.Can you advise me on this product please

Stephen (Editor)

These lean shakes are meal replacements as well but are not designed to build muscle mass. Browse our Bodybuilding reviews

  suggestions to gain wait
jen (Verified User)

I got the cookies and cream flaver i think is a ok with milk or ice cream, i was looking for something to gain wait i was told to take it 2 time a day with a meal, does this really work because everyone says the use it to loose wait and i dont want to disappear… if it dont work any suggestions to gain wait?

Stephen (Editor)

Eat plenty of carbs but also some dieters try Ensure.

  GNC Lean Shakes
angela (Verified User)

my husband just had his first peanut butter chocolate one and has diarrhea at work is this normal for the first time

Stephen (Editor)

Diarrhea at any level is unideal. Does your husband usually experience these problems or only while taking this?

Chris

I’ve been taking this for a week now and I am having diarrhea and gas pains is this normal and will it go away as i get used to the product? I am taking the lean shake 25 and the CLA powder

Stephen (Editor)

After a full week of taking it you are still experiencing side effects you must consult with your doctor to ensure this formula is safe for you. The side effects are of major concern to us. Chris, It could also be that combining those particular products is disagreeable to your body. Have you tried taking one at a time?

elizabeth

I received by shake on Sunday and I am down 4 pounds
I am super happy

   it smells good
Megan h. (Verified User)

I just bought this yesturday although it smells good its really hard to swallow it leaves a aftertaste made me want to gag but I am going to keep drinking it hopefully it works out I mixed it with 10 oz almond milk one bananana and the two scoops of powder any suggestions so it could taste better please let me know

Anonymous

I mix mine with 8 oz of almond milk and then about 4-6 oz of water and then the 2 scoops. It dilutes it a little and gives me more to drink. I also put a scoop of PB2 in it. I have been using this for 2 months and I love it!

Anonymous

peanut butter

  GNC Lean Shakes
adrianna (Verified User)

I have 5 morths to loose 60 pound do you think it will work I hope so some body help me how do I it

Lauren Furicchia

I have been using the lean shake twice a day, I also take the CLA and L-carnitine complex suplement. I started at 193 pounds in august 2015 and I am now 153. It really does work, use the shakes twice a day, and then have a snack and dinner. just make sure you are within a good calorie range and you will see the weight come off. Usually the shakes keep me full for about 2.5 hours, then i start to get hungry.

Iriesweetz

Hi Lauren, do you know if the shake works to help you lose weight if you don’t take other supplements such as the CLA and L-carnitine complex?

Stephen (Editor)

Hi, Adriana. These can be used in place of meals and you are encouraged to drink it twice daily. Simply add two scoops of powder to eight ounces of cold water.

  Didn't like the taste
Anonymous (Verified User)

Does not taste good

Karen (Editor)

Hi, you might want to try a more proven fat burner without harsh taste. proven fat burner and check it out.

  GNC Lean Shakes
adrianna (Verified User)

I have 5 morths to loose 60 pound do you think I can do it some help m eb

Arnold (Editor)

Hi Adriana. 5 months is enough time to lose those few pounds. It will be hard but just balance proper diet and exercise with a healthy mind and you’re good to go. Don’t forget to check in with our regularly updating reviews!

Anonymous

I’ve lost 60 pounds in 4 months, based off a diet using GNC lean shake. They several flavors, you just have to find the ones you like the most.. Strawberries and cream, Orange cream, peanut butter + chocolate are my favorites

  35 lbs in 2-3 months is this possible
Anonymous

I have a friend that used this drink as a weight gainer. She gained 35 lbs in 2-3 months is this possible?

Arnold (Editor)

Hi, we understand it happens as a few dieters have reported similar occurrences.

  It is very unhealthy!
Anonymous

It is very unhealthy has all gmo in it you should not replace meals with these shakes that pump your body full of bad chemicals and empty your pockets do the research and be informed. Best way to lose weight is to eat real food and exercise its boot easy. And it is a lifestyle that you need to buy into in order to be healthy and fit. There is no short cut or quick fix. Keep it simple by going for walks and eating real food.

  Any correlation of gout to the shakes?
Sally (Verified User)

I love the gnc lean shakes..all flavors .I have been diagnosed with gout in my ankle any correlation us your thoughts about GNC Lean Shake.

  CAN'T STOP DRINKING
Brooke (Verified User)

I love the shakes! But for some reason minutes after drinking one I get really werid chest pains it’s not all the time but it’s most of the time Idk if i should be eating alittle with them or I’m chugging them down to fast idk but I love them and I don’t want to stop drinking them

Stephen (Editor)

you may have to take a break from them it this feeling persists.

  I love the product
Kayla (Verified User)

I have been using the shakes for 2 meals a day , I’m 17 years old and extremely active and a soccer player. I am also doing the 21 day fix with it as well. I use this more to get cut and lose inches instead of necessarily weight. I love the product tho and it really works

  I still lose weight
holly (Verified User)

I’m 17 and have had 5 surgeries on my foot here resent so I been homebound and haven’t been active in put on 14 pounds since November. I bought some of this today to start to help get back to my normal weight.
I still love can’t workout to much cause I’m in a cast. if I use this as a meal replacement with little workout will I still lose weight? ??

Stephen (Editor)

it is touted as supporting weight loss when take daily.

  Quero consumi esse produto
Ginara

Quero consumi esse produto

  GNC Lean Shakes
Your Name Barbara Montgomery

Can you take lean shake if you’re on Xarelto

Candace (Editor)

Only your doctor can accurately assess these product’s synthesis in your body.

  8 -10 year Old Use Or Not
Tracey Barr-Griggs

Can my 8 and 10 year Old drink this shake

Anonymous

As their doctor.

  Love this!
Waltraud Haine (Verified User)

Some ok Commits on here, Love it.

  Lean Shake Burn tonight
Nicole

I just bought Lean Shake Burn tonight, plan on starting tomorrow. Can I supplement 2 meals a day with this?

Cameron (Editor)

If you like; the shakes are supposed to replace any meals of your choosing.

   they safe to use as my daughter
Barb

Are they safe to use as my daughter bought them today

   we use this
ahmad shah

How can we use this

Cameron (Editor)

You add two scoops of powder to eight ounces of cold water. Each provides 180 calories, eight grams of fiber and nine grams of protein.

  mix it
Jamie

What else can you mix it with other than water?

Anonymous

milks of almost all kinds

  Lean shakes
Terry Hicks (Verified User)

Lean shakes 25 I have used it for 3 days and in those 3 days I loss a total of 3.2lbs. I also , only use 1 scoop of lean shake 25 and 1/2 cup of orange juice, 6 ounces of water, 3 ice cubes . 3 meals include 2 shakes and 1 solid meal.

Terry

I use orange cream lean shake 25. I also Garcina Cambogia 1 pill 30 minutes prior to each meal. This is a great product if you use it in conjunction with one low calorie meal.

  Replace breakfast
Tiffany (Verified User)

Can I drink Lean Shake while breastfeeding? I am not a big breakfast person and find it hard to eat that early in morning so I would like to use it to replace breakfast and a snack in afternoon. Thanks.

Anonymous

I am also wondering the same

Anonymous

I have been

  It works but with side effects.
margo (Verified User)

I gained weight, was horribly bloated & extremely gassy. I ate a 1200 calorie diet. Low fat, carbs, sugar & dairy. Loved the taste. After 8 weeks stopped the shakes & lost the weight, bloat & gas went away.

Dawn

I have been using GNC Total Lean natural for about 2 weeks. First of all, it is delicious! I make it into a smoothie by adding ice, banana and water. At first, all was well but now I notice extreme bloating and bouts of severe diarrhea which is often without warning and hard to control. Unfortunately, I will not continue with this as the side effects are unpleasant.

jenny

I am having this same problem right now. I think it tastes great, but I’m feeling kind of crummy!

  Can i eat lean shake three months after expiration?
Jesús meza

I can eat lean shake three months after expiration?

Garnetta Belcher

I have used GNC meal replacement & have 2 containers (never) opened dated expiration 2012. Can I still use these 2 containers of GNC lean replacement Meals

agelika

I’ve been wondering the same thing!

Anonymous

I was wondering if you workout when is the best time to drink the shake to lose weight

Devon (Editor)

You should take two scoops of GNC Lean Shake twice per day whenever you would normally eat.

   I couldn't tell the calories
Jane

I have been exercising and following a high protein diet but with inaccurate measurement. I couldn’t tell the calories until I switched to GNC lean shake 25. My tummy is flat and the scale has started moving downwards within just 1 month.

  I've been using the Lean 25 shake since Friday and I love it.
Harleygurl (Verified User)

I’ve been using the Lean 25 shake since Friday and I love it, especially the French Vanilla. I bought the Rich Choc as well, but it leaves an after taste! It’s kept me full and I do 2 scoops with 1% milk adding ice and mixing in my Nutribullet. Gives an excellent consistency and I am full. I do a shake for breakfast and lunch with snacks in between and I’ll eat a meal for dinner!

  I wanted to know if you can mix with soy milk?
Pat

I wanted to know if you can mix with soy milk

Anonymous

I use silk almond milk

Anonymous

How much almond milk

  Will this help in weight loss?
cap-rice

Cab anyone tell me something about Gnc Total Lean- Lean shake Burn, I’m wondering if it also helps with weight loss?

Cameron (Editor)

Cap, we like that the product uses all natural ingredients and the company provides studies on the ingredients.

  Can you mix lean shake only with water or milk?
Sal

Can you mix lean shake only with water? Can you mix it with skim or 1 percent milk?

Anonymous

I use silk almond milk
You can also use coconut milk since coconut oil is so expensive.

Harleygurl

I’ve mixed mine with water and 1% milk. Using 1% milk and a little ice then mixing in my Nutribullet! Great consistency! I love the French Vanilla, Choc is ok leaves an after taste!

Michell

What is Nutribullet?

Anonymous

It is a mixer

  Can anybody tell me about this product?
Lisa

Hi just been reading ur reveiw on lean shake just wondering how ur getting on with it tried all kinds of diets & was told about this what flavours have u tried. Thanks.

alondra

I just bout my very first one today since it was recommended by my boyfriend who works at GNC and I loved it. I bought the bottle just to try it and bought two small packages for tomorrow morning. I have not tried it with water yet but the flavor that I got was Chocolate and it was great!

  Loved the product.
Susie (Verified User)

I’ve started using the Lean Shake about three weeks ago regularly and have lost about four inches. I am very happy and will continue, however, I eat my one meal at lunch instead of dinner.

Angelica

Cool!

  Hated the product.
Unknown (Verified User)

I tried four flavors of the shakes and ended up returning all of them. I couldn’t get past the smell or texture of the shake. It was quite disappointing.

  Best food to eat while taking this
bill (Verified User)

what food could i eat tha would not interfere with the lean shake

Cameron (Editor)

Keeping a low calorie and low carb diet is best for any diet shake or supplement. Avoid foods high in fat. Program actually wants you to use the shake in place of food, Bill.

  Love the product because it works
Charlotte (Verified User)

I have been using this shake for a few months and love it! I am prior military and my husband is Active Army and we workout a lot and use this as a meal replacement once a day, instead of the recommended 2. I have lost the10 pounds weight i’ve wanted to and continue to use the shakes to maintain. I use the Lean Shake 25, which is 25 grams of protein and it works better than the regular LS because of the added protein. Good luck on the weight loss!

daniela retamal

hi I would like to know in grams how to take the lean shake, because it comes with a scoop but I dont know if It should be full or a half of scoop… thanks!

jesse

I would like to know if the scoop that the shake bring is two full of those with water or up to the middle line the scoop has making it one whole scoop I’m confused help

  Need more information about the product
jayme (Verified User)

i just started the lean shake and i like the taste but i dont want to drink it for lunch but for supper instead. one cuz i cant make all that gourme food and half of it sounds yucky and i aint got time to cook that on the week days. me and my husband are both in the army and we work out for a hour after work so i was wondering if anyone is doing this and how it works for them. i only need to lose about 10lbs. please email me if anyone has any info

  Is this gluten free?
Cheryl ryan

Is there gluten in this product?

Stephen (Editor)

Nope 🙂

  Is this safe for breastfeeding mothers?
jennifer

im a breastfeeding mother looking to lose weight so i not sure if the lean shake is safe for me.. ive asked the gnc sales person , and they say its safe because its all natural.. i was hopeing that there some one that is doing the lean shake a breastfeeding so you can give me your advise…

Jasmine UFC

its not. not natural at all,

Valeria

Jasmine ufc , it is all natural , please do your research

Anonymous

Just keep breastfeeding and the weight will fall off. Eat healthy, you don’t need the shakes.

  Is it safe for a breastfeeding mother?
Heather (Verified User)

I love the lean shake, im currently a breastfeeding mother of a 2 month old and I been looking up if its safe to drink well breastfeeding. I workout 4-6 days a week. so my question is is it safe?

Cameron (Editor)

Some meal replacement programs are not safe for nursing mothers however we haven’t come across nursing dieters experiencing issues. Above ask your doctor, Heather.

  Don't like the taste
Carol Woodward (Verified User)

I dislike the taste and after looking at all of ingredients, there is creamer, and many additives I cannot pronounce.

  how long the normal person stays on this product
Teresa

I am wondering how long the normal person stays on this product and is it a way of life for them now or did it jump start you and then you could regulate your intake?

Maxine

I started using GNC Lean Shake a year ago and usually have 1-2 shakes most days for breakfast and lunch along with some fruit or greek yogurt. I lost 45 lb in 9 months and maintained it through the holidays. I find the vanilla and cookies and cream the most tastey. If I creep up on the weight, I just fill in with this again to get back on track.

Anonymous

Did u work out to using the shakes

wpDiscuz